We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Courtyard Athens Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Athens Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 155: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard Athens Downtown
 Click to rate
Louisville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great time at the Swim meet. Needed a place to stay. We love Carlson motels, so we decided to check the availability. Only a few rooms left, but we got to stay! Room is clean, fresh, and staff was very courteous!! Just another reason we like this chain of motels when we travel!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gage113
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Im a hotel snob, Trip Advisor Reviewer, restaurant critic blogger and Marriott member. So probably not a good thing for Marriott. The staff is nice, the hotel is clean but very very outdated. I was born in the 70s and so was this furniture. The neighborhood looks shady and unsafe and definitely overpriced for what you get. Small hotel, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kena T
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

This does not cut it. Maybe I expect more with all my stays in Marriott properties or I'm spoiled. In the midst of 4 different properties in 4 nights - all Marriott. This is just not up too their standards. Not dirty but dated. Gal at the front desk was wonderful as most Marriott employees are. But the hotel just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevo131
Caleb T, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor survey in regards to your recent stay at the Courtyard Athens Downtown. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction with your accommodations. I...

Roswell, Georgia
Reviewed January 11, 2017

Lobby looks like newer lobbies now common for Courtyard brand. Rooms seems a little dated... I have stayed at Courtyards in the past year where the rooms seems fresher, brighter, and certainly newer. Location is great for proximity to part of UGA campus which I needed to be near. Breakfast bar, ala carte breakfast, was great. Egg whites with turkey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank radarcessna
Donnie M, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review f our hotel. We appreciate you being our guest and we look forward to your return in the future.

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed December 6, 2016

We had outstanding service from Allie, who was delightful, well-informed, and very helpful with Athens restaurant information. She was absolutely great. We also had an interaction with housekeeping due to some confusion about our checkout and I must also say that DeLisa was super gracious and kind. The staff in general were most pleasant. This is an unusual Courtyard. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasonGoes
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jason At the Courtyard by Marriott Athens, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us I do apologize for about electrical outs being loose, the area of the hotel is completely safe. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed December 3, 2016

from the minute we walked into the door, we were treated like guests! Maranda was our personal host and did everything to make us feel special. She gave us coffee, a charger for our phone, suggestions for lunch, and provided amazing service.Everyone at the hotel went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shiragoldberg18
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Athens. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. Maranda is great, I will personal let her know how awesome she was in helping you.

Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewed November 11, 2016

Several positives and negatives of our one night stay here. First of all, this is not your typical Courtyard property, as mentioned in previous posts. It is very dated, some rooms have access from the outside parking lot, others from inside, I feel like this was once another hotel that was bought by Marriott and refurbished but I don't know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kim At the Courtyard by Marriott Athens, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us I want to apologize for the issue you had at the hotel and to let you know the area is completely safe. As far as the odor Please rest assured that we are...

Marietta, Ga
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We spent the night on Friday, November 4, 2016, and was appalled at the mustiness of the room and the overall hotel. The bathroom electrical fixtures were absolutely filthy, and had not been cleaned in months/years. The light switch was almost black at the bottom as well as the electrical outlet fixture. All of our electrical chargers fell out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjh321
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Dear jjh321 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Athens. I am so sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Courtyard by Marriott Athens, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed October 25, 2016

I have stayed twice at this location, and it may be my last. Of any Marriott property, this one is the least representative of the brand. It is musty, dusty, dirty smelling. I attributed this during my first stay to it being winter and just after football season. Now it is fall (and still in football season). I don't know...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ATLtraveler766
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Dear MITCHELL, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Courtyard Athens Downtown with us. I am very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Went for a teacher meeting for 2 days. The staff there was great. I would highly recommend this hotel for leisure or business. A big shout out to Jerreca. My room card did not work when I told her about it she apologized and gave us a complimentary breakfast .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missrx7
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Courtyard by Marriott Athens for your recent stay. I do apologize about your room card not working, Glad to know my staff took good care of you, How was the breakfast?

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.6 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Courtyard Athens Downtown

Address: 166 North Finley Street, Athens, GA 30601 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown)
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $126 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Athens Courtyard
Athens Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Athens Downtown staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Arnoldsville, Georgia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Athens Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We like the 3rd floor rooms better, but the elevator is oddly situated.”
 of 5 bubbles JasonGoes, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for inside access”
 of 5 bubbles KimT165, Nov 11, 2016 | Read review
“Any room is a great good. Just depend if you want a ground floor or upper room”
 of 5 bubbles Missrx7, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one bu the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Tomasi1949, Jul 27, 2016 | Read review
“could not tell if any rooms would be better than others.”
 of 5 bubbles gaylordm, Jun 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question