We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN Athens

#13 of 22 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Athens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
Jacksonville, IL
Level Contributor
199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I were traveling through coming home from FL and spent a rainy night here. It was quick, cost-efficient and close to the highway. The beds were acceptable. They did not offer much for breakfast- no fruit.

Helpful?
Thank moodymolly
Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place was fine for a quick overnight for my friend and I. Might not have felt comfortable there on my own if I had had to access the parking lot at night. It looks like the updates they are doing will be great and my friend enjoyed the breakfast. Hopefully they will be done updating by first of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank waxwing3
Bell, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Be aware that this hotel is under construction and maybe due to that it brings in the shady people at night. The upside is the price was very reasonable and the room was nice and the staff kept it very clean. The only complaint I had is at night it gets questionable with the people around the hotel. The location... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lisaanddrue
Tucker, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If non- smoking rooms that reek of cigarettes are your thing you'll love this fly infested palace of pain. And if you like to see garbage cans filled to overflowing and limes on the ground from unsavory tequila shooting guests, you'll be right at home. Perhaps broken TVs and hairdryers excite you. No? Then try to enjoy the infestation of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall W
Manor TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the room through Trip Advisor but I guess Trip Advisor booked it through Booking.com (even though I clicked the trip advisor price; they were the same). Got to the hotel and clerk gave us the keys and wifi password. Went to room and there was laundry hanging up surrounding our room, presumably from other guest. Room did not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Beardmastergeneral
TrippMoore170, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

Beardmastergeneral, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. First and foremost, I want to apologize for the fact that you were checked into a dirty room. I also want to apologize for the internet issues you had. As far as I know, we did not have internet most of the weekend because a cable was severed and Charter could... More 

Mt Dora, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

The check in check out staff appeared to have difficulty handling travel cards. This really made me feel a little uncomfortable. Although the room was clean it appeared as if no one had vacuumed after last guest as there was 2 coins on the floor We had no internet service the entire stay. really a bummer on that. But we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William R
TrippMoore170, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, William R! I'm sorry to hear you encountered so many issues while staying at our property. We do hope you'll give us another chance! Ask for Ernesto or myself next time you're in town and we can set you up with a special rate! More 

Huntersville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

We stay often at this Hotel and once again all when well with our stay, The Internet was down but it was down in the whole area of the Hotel so there was not a lot the hotel could do. They are still building the Extension and we look forward staying there when the building is finished don't let this... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
TrippMoore170, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

I appreciate your glowing review of our property, Kevin H! Yes, we did have internet issues that weekend that Charter could not resolve until the weekday. As you know, this isn't the norm for us. Thank you for understanding. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very well managed. The rooms and staff are awesome. The breakfast was good with a lot of hot items to choose from, not just continental. The only downside is the hotel is under construction. The front desk is a drive down the street from the rooms. There are a lot of construction workers loitering at night, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deanne1234
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Elizabeth Moore, CEO of Best Western Athens, surrounds herself with the best of staff. All are most friendly and accommodating. When my wife and I are guests there it is as if we are at home! We already are looking forward to our next stay with them! The Revs. Steve and Mary Ruth Davidson

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank stevedK9748LW
various
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

It's been a while since I've stayed in a motel. This was just as expected. The good thing about motels is that they usually have everything you need: free wi-fi & parking, coffee maker, fridge and micro. The kingsize bed and bedding were all very adequate. While the location is very close to the 'stuff'...only about a half mile...Athens is... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlobalGypsy00
TrippMoore170, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

We appreciate your contribution to our TripAdvisor page, GlobalGypsy00! I'm glad we we're able to meet your expectations....and slightly saddened that we weren't able to exceed them. Our business model is clean, quality, and affordable, without all of the fancy bells and whistles. Next time you're in town, I hope you'll give our new building a chance. Hope, It will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
0.9 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus and is a proud member of Coach Mark Richt's UGA Football Dawg family. The hotel is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as boutique shops, as well as UGA sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located less than a mile away, you will find the Athens Downtown shopping area which includes musical night life, and award winning restaurants. For passing travelers, the Best Western motel is conveniently located located near 441 North and South, with a staff ready to assist with any traveling questions. Make sure to stop by the world-famous Varsity Restaurant located right across the street! Best Western Athens is pleased to announce that we are now under construction on our new tower that will sit just off of historic Milledge Avenue. With this project, we will become a Best Western Plus upon completion. In the tower, we will be adding 55 guest rooms that will be interior corridor and 100% smoke free. All guests will have access to a hot complimentary breakfast every morning- next to this breakfast area will be meeting space that can host all kinds of events from wedding parties to business meetings. Guests will also have access to a 600 square foot workout facility as well as a spa to relax in during their free time. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi of course, and access to a business center that can be utilized to print documents if necessary. The future looks bright for us here at Best Western Athens! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Athens

Address: 170 North Milledge Ave., Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $71 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Best Western + Iniative, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay