We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Athens

Show Prices
#13 of 22 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Athens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 302: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I checked in to my room and noticed two full size beds rather than the King size I booked. The front desk advised me this happens often when booking through Trip Advisor and that they could not give me a discounted rate. On top of that the AC stopped working as well as the wifi. I would not have paid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
TrippMoore170, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

Michael H, I would like to extend my apologies for the troubles you experienced during your stay. I know how frustrating sleeping without A/C can be. I promise you this is not the norm for us We hope you'll give us another shot. Give us a call next time you're in town and we can set you up with a... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the BW. Staff were all helpful and pleasant. Building was well kept, but showed its wear in the bath tub and sink faucet. Clean comfortable room with lots of plugs for technology. Internet worked better than some other hotels. New building under construction made getting to the breakfast area difficult. Good location for getting around... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pamelak594
TrippMoore170, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property, Pamelak594! We're glad to hear we were able to accommodate you. I am sorry, though, about the inconvenience caused by the location of the breakfast. Thank you for dealing with us while we progress! More 

Yulee, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel provided a quality experience for us during our son's recent property moves within the Athens community. We were able to come in for showers, rest and even a little extra storage space during the transition days. This was also an accommodating experience as they were indeed a pet friendly option which appears to be a rarity in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
TrippMoore170, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

Jan B, thank you for your glowing review! As a pet owner myself, I completely get why there should be more pet friendly hotels in Athens. I want to also thank you for dealing with the construction as we upgrade our property. We hope you'll give us another shot next time you're in town to visit your son! More 

Huntersville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yet again they did their job of making my stay feel like it's my second home I do stay here a lot and they have always made me welcome, keep up the good work, yes they are extending the hotel don't let it put you off from staying here "i'll be back"

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
TrippMoore170, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

We're always glad to see your face around here, Kevin H! Thank you for your great review. I'll make sure to pass it along to the other staff members. Give us a ring next time you need a place to stay and we'll get you set up! More 

Jacksonville, IL
Level Contributor
199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were traveling through coming home from FL and spent a rainy night here. It was quick, cost-efficient and close to the highway. The beds were acceptable. They did not offer much for breakfast- no fruit.

Helpful?
Thank moodymolly
TrippMoore170, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

I'm pleased to hear we were able to provide you with a good night's stay, moodymolly! I'm sorry our breakfast wasn't up to par. I do hope that you at least enjoyed the sausage, eggs, gravy, biscuits, muffins, bagels, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal and made-to-order pancakes that we offer! I hope you'll give us another shot in the future! More 

Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was fine for a quick overnight for my friend and I. Might not have felt comfortable there on my own if I had had to access the parking lot at night. It looks like the updates they are doing will be great and my friend enjoyed the breakfast. Hopefully they will be done updating by first of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank waxwing3
Bell, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Be aware that this hotel is under construction and maybe due to that it brings in the shady people at night. The upside is the price was very reasonable and the room was nice and the staff kept it very clean. The only complaint I had is at night it gets questionable with the people around the hotel. The location... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lisaanddrue
Tucker, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

If non- smoking rooms that reek of cigarettes are your thing you'll love this fly infested palace of pain. And if you like to see garbage cans filled to overflowing and limes on the ground from unsavory tequila shooting guests, you'll be right at home. Perhaps broken TVs and hairdryers excite you. No? Then try to enjoy the infestation of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall W
Manor TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

We booked the room through Trip Advisor but I guess Trip Advisor booked it through Booking.com (even though I clicked the trip advisor price; they were the same). Got to the hotel and clerk gave us the keys and wifi password. Went to room and there was laundry hanging up surrounding our room, presumably from other guest. Room did not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Beardmastergeneral
TrippMoore170, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

Beardmastergeneral, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. First and foremost, I want to apologize for the fact that you were checked into a dirty room. I also want to apologize for the internet issues you had. As far as I know, we did not have internet most of the weekend because a cable was severed and Charter could... More 

Mt Dora, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

The check in check out staff appeared to have difficulty handling travel cards. This really made me feel a little uncomfortable. Although the room was clean it appeared as if no one had vacuumed after last guest as there was 2 coins on the floor We had no internet service the entire stay. really a bummer on that. But we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William R
TrippMoore170, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, William R! I'm sorry to hear you encountered so many issues while staying at our property. We do hope you'll give us another chance! Ask for Ernesto or myself next time you're in town and we can set you up with a special rate! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.9 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus and is a proud member of Coach Mark Richt's UGA Football Dawg family. The hotel is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as boutique shops, as well as UGA sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located less than a mile away, you will find the Athens Downtown shopping area which includes musical night life, and award winning restaurants. For passing travelers, the Best Western motel is conveniently located located near 441 North and South, with a staff ready to assist with any traveling questions. Make sure to stop by the world-famous Varsity Restaurant located right across the street! Best Western Athens is pleased to announce that we are now under construction on our new tower that will sit just off of historic Milledge Avenue. With this project, we will become a Best Western Plus upon completion. In the tower, we will be adding 55 guest rooms that will be interior corridor and 100% smoke free. All guests will have access to a hot complimentary breakfast every morning- next to this breakfast area will be meeting space that can host all kinds of events from wedding parties to business meetings. Guests will also have access to a 600 square foot workout facility as well as a spa to relax in during their free time. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi of course, and access to a business center that can be utilized to print documents if necessary. The future looks bright for us here at Best Western Athens! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Athens

Address: 170 N Milledge Ave, Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $70 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay