We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Save
Share
Ap 710, La Ceiba AT1100 Honduras
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/08/22
Official Site
$157
View deal
Travelocity$209
Orbitz.com$209
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (536)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (70)

About

#2 of 27 hotels in La Ceiba
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.2
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga room
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
Indoor play area for children
Secured parking
Internet
Lazy river
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Radio
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
437Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 344
  • 68
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Valentin Flores wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Even though the place is nestled in a beautiful region of the rainforest and the accommodations are ok and the food service is ok. We will not be returning due to the fact that my wife's wedding and engagement ring were stolen from our room. The general manager did not attend to the matter properly and furthermore took a defensive/sarcastic attitude towards the matter. Definitely not the experience, treatment, or service that we were expecting.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you do not leave any items of value in the room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Aug 8, 2022
As we have assured you repeatedly, the issue has been taken absolutely seriously as these types of situations should. An ongoing investigation has been started and has yet to be closed to find your belongings as this has never been an issue in the 21 years of operating as Honduras premier nature destination. Our employees have returned many items left or misplaced before as has been hotel policy since we opened. Nonetheless your case has been carefully analized to make sure this never happens again. Again we are so sorry for the loss of your wifes rings and we truly hope they return to her hands.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathyinmontana wrote a review Apr 2022
Missoula, Montana37 contributions14 helpful votes
I had the pleasure of staying at the Lodge at Pico Bonito about 20 years ago after it first opened, and I've been dreaming about getting back ever since. I was delighted to discover it is every bit as wonderful now as it was then: beautiful, well-tended grounds, gorgeous cabins, delicious food, and above all, a fabulous staff that go to great lengths to make your stay enjoyable. Don't miss the early bird-watching excursion--it costs extra but is totally worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Jul 7, 2022
Thank you so much for your review!! It was a pleasure having you and we do hope you can visit us again soon!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bvandereyk wrote a review Mar 2022
Oak Park, Illinois2 contributions
+1
Awesome adventure. Brought our 10 and 12 yo here and we loved it. Staff was friendly, tour guides were great, the lodge is beautiful. Loved the birds, pool and excursions. We went to Cayp Cochinos and rode on a burra to the ature reserve Cuero Y Salado. Highly recommemd the excursions. We saw capuchin and howler monkeys, agoutis, bats and an anteater! The resort has a snake house which my kids loved and butterfly house (not open being repaired). We did hikes right off the property with our guides. We loved seeing two different types of toucans! The cabins are comfortable but basic. Bugs were not bad just a few mosquitos. The spa was nice with a hot tub. The wifi worked well for the most part. There is foosball and a pool table for the kids. Water pressure isnt the best kn the shower but we did not mind. In room coffee was not very tasty either but the beautiful nature of this resort outweighed the downsides. We felt very safe as the resort is gated and they picked us up at the airport. Great trip as we got to see some local towns and villages including people who live on the small islands in Cayo Cochinos. The hikes into the national park are connected right off the property. There is a yoga deck and 2 bord eatching towers. There were some beautiful waterfalls.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring ponchos as there is a lot of rain since you are in the mountains. Bring warm clothes as it...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Jul 7, 2022
Thank you so much for your review!! Its been tough coming back from the pandemic but we are slowly but surely returning to how things were prior to COVID. Thanks again and do visit us again where we will gladly provide you with the same 5 star service you deserve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kkleinrn wrote a review Feb 2022
Pleasant Grove, Utah356 contributions81 helpful votes
+1
A beautiful lodge a few minutes off the main highway outside of La Ceiba. Just minutes from the airport in La Ceiba. The property is gated, surrounded by tropical rain forest, river run alongside both sides of the property. Very spacious, lots of trails and hiking, swimming in river. The cabins are lovely and somewhat rustic, but with luxury beds and linens, ceiling fans, louvered windows. They also have a refreshing pool. Their onsite restaurant is worthy of its own visit, reservations required so you can get through their security. This is one of our favorite stops in Honduras! Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world organization. Also available through Hyatt using their membership rewards points. One note - I understand they are under new management - we missed the bird feeding stations that have been located throughout the property, the wildlife and birds were noticeably decreased, fewer reptiles . . . Which is to bad since they have previously attracted groups of bird watchers from all over the world - I hope they go back to this tradition. Also I really missed the fresh flower bouquets in the lobby. The make such a wonderful first impression. They also no longer serve the fresh fruit iced punch upon arrival. Not enough to discourage me from returning, but for the quality of the property they could step it up a little bit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring bug spray, enjoy!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Hello!! And thank you so much for your review, we will not take these comments lightly and personally I will make sure the bird feeders are back to how they were before. The Flower arrangements were removed due to COVID and the Biosafety protocols. Once we have received authorization to reinstate the flowers all over our common areas, we will be glad to put them back up!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cynthia B wrote a review Feb 2022
69 contributions46 helpful votes
Great place to stay. I only gave it 4 stars, however, because NONE OF THE BIRD FEEDErS WERE BEING FILLED!! (except the hummingbird feeders). this was once one of the premier birding lodges in Honduras! great staff, wonderful service, excellent rooms. i guess the only other complaint i had was that the menu doesn't change very often (well we were there for a week and i'm not sure it changed at all). we started ordering stuff off the menu, which worked fine.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Hi Cynthia!! Thank you for your wonderful words!! I will personally look into refilling the bird feeders as they were before! Warm regards from Honduras
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edge W wrote a review Dec 2021
Columbia, Missouri1082 contributions520 helpful votes
I stayed here in 2016. Ownership has changed, and Covid is affecting all travel, but the Lodge at Pico Bonito continues to deliver superb accommodations, food, service and, for birders, a very special opportunity to enjoy the many species on site, with a guide or on one's own. The menu is a bit limited if the stay is for a few days, but there are options and with a little advance notice, items not on the menu may come to the table. The rooms are spotless. I enjoyed a king-size bed with plenty of room. In December, the two ceiling fans were sufficient to keep it cool, so the available air conditioning wasn't needed. WiFi and coffeemaker, and bottled water are ready to use. I just didn't have enough "down time" to get good use of the big hammock on the porch.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Hello!! It was a great pleasure to have you!! Please do visit once again!! You will be glad to know that the owners are still the same, and management has the same Vision as when the Lodge opened. See you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Giselle from SPS, Honduras wrote a review Mar 2021
San Pedro Sula, Honduras8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
It was an amazing experience, we knew it was a beautiful retreat, however our expectations were exceeded! The cabin was divine, the best sleep in the longest time, and the food was exquisite! Loved it all!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Thank you so much Gisselle!! We were delighted to have you! Please return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SandFlogger wrote a review Dec 2020
Santa Clara, Utah342 contributions135 helpful votes
+1
A beautiful jungle type setting away from civilization with individual cabins. Due to COVID we happened to be the only ones at the lodge. It was wonderful. The accommodations were terrific, the Restaurant served outstanding meals and the Spa offered a full range of services that we indulged in. A great relaxing experience. Trails and a rushing river enhanced the experience. More of a destination location as other activities such as river rafting and horseback riding were over an hour away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you are using the spa, you may want to request a cabin near the spa.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Hello!! We were happy to have you!! Things are slowly returning to normal and you will be glad to know all our staff has been completely vaccinated and we still practice Biosafety measure for your peace of mind. Warm regards from our little piece of paradise.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jonna242 wrote a review Dec 2020
Roatan, Honduras68 contributions16 helpful votes
As always....I had a wonderful time! This was my third or possibly 4th time visiting The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito and each time I bring new friends so they get to experience the beautiful hotel cabins, the beautiful grounds, the wonderful food and above all, the great people that work there to make it a wonderful experience. It truly is a little piece of heaven on earth with beautiful grounds, nature, walks, hikes, rivers, excursions, etc. The pool and spa amenities are wonderful. This can easily be a romantic place for a couple, great place for a family reunion, wedding, birthday celebration and a great place for children as there is the butterfly exhibit, the snake exhibit etc. It truly is an escape from any town and so easily accessible as it is 15 minutes from the LaCeiba airport. Definitely a place not to miss!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are great...they are beautiful cabins! Not rustic
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Hi Jonna!! Alway a great pleasure having you! Please do return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Douglas Apperson wrote a review Mar 2020
53 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We were staying for a week of birdwatching and were not disappointed. The accommodations were nice and the meals were always very good. Our local bird guides Older and Alex were top notch and the location of the lodge allowed for excellent birding in varied habitats. The dining and bar staff are friendly and very attentive, never left you waiting for anything
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Graugnard, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Responded Feb 15, 2022
We are so happy you were able to have a ondrful time pre-Covid. Please do return as now all our staff is vaccinated, and tested weekly or biweekly. We´ll be more than glad to have you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$201 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lodge at pico bonito hotel la ceiba, hotel at pico bonito, at pico bonito hotel
LOCATION
HondurasAtlantida DepartmentLa Ceiba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LODGE AND SPA AT PICO BONITO $157 ($̶2̶1̶0̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Honduras/La Ceiba

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
What are some of the property amenities at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and a yoga room during their stay.
Does The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito have airport transportation?
Yes, The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.