We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa On Dunbar Rock

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (211)
Pool & Beach (49)
Videos (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Guanaja
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.8
Value
4.8
The All-Inclusive Villa on Dunbar Rock, winner of a 2020 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, is a dream dive vacation resort. The villa is perched on a solid rock cay with 360° views of Sandy Bay, Guanaja & surrounding cays. The 15,000 ft2 property is spread across 4 floors. Accommodations for up to 26 guests include 9 Ocean Front Rooms and 2 Suites, all with private waterfront balconies. Enjoy gourmet meals, multiple lounging areas, infinity pool, pool bar, cardio/massage room, pool table, great room, white sand beach and free Wi-Fi throughout. Guests can also enjoy unlimited shore diving in the shallows that surround the Villa. Seven-night Saturday – Saturday packages including accommodation, meals, diving and more are available. PADI Five Star Dive Dunbar Rock provides guests with concierge dive services on each of the 3 daily boat dives. With few dive operations on the island, guests always get their pick dive sites featuring pinnacles, walls, and the wreck of the Jado Trader.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Free airport transportation
Massage
Wifi
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Adults only
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
260Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 233
  • 19
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
robin586 wrote a review Mar 2024
Charlottetown, Canada6 contributions10 helpful votes
This is a completely unique experience - a first class hotel in the middle of the ocean. Extraordinary . What makes it special is the personal attention of the staff - everyone could not have been more welcoming and kind. The rooms are immaculate and the view from our balcony astounding - we watched the moon through our open balcony door every evening. The diving is exceptional - especially Black Rock - like a cathedral underwater.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure to arrange your resort dates before you book your flight as arrivals depend on the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you, Robin, for the post. We're glad the moon was out and visible for you! Timing is everything as they say.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Johnson75230 wrote a review Jun 2022
Dallas, Texas4 contributions
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Fabulous Week of Diving in Honduras! We had a wonderful experience at the Villa! Service, food, views, accommodations, and Dive Master were great! Rooms are lovely with super comfy beds! Can’t wait to return! Jennifer and team are the best!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All the rooms have great views but we preferred the east facing rooms. Coral reef is alive with...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Jul 5, 2022
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Jennifer and team hope to see you again. Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sherry M wrote a review Feb 2024
Wilmore, Kentucky28 contributions13 helpful votes
Such an amazing treasure! Loved this place and the folks who make all the magic happen! Our dive team Jesse and Randy feel like brothers now. They were challenged with the weather but made each dive safe and memorable. Lots of nice coral and critters including seahorses, black coral, friendly nurse sharks, a toadfish, rays, whips, fans, sponges, tiny anemone, eels, lobsters, crabs, lionfish, and the list goes on. Under water terrain is very enjoyable and beautiful. All the staff on the rock made our experience fun and comfortable. They waited on us hand and foot! Special shout out to Zatina and Reba but every single person is amazing. Room was large and impeccably clean. The menu was varied and delicious. They even made scrumptious lionfish fingers from our catch! I gained 5 lbs in 1 week! We can not wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There’s no need to pack heavily because your laundry will be done for you a couple of times over...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Thanks Sherry! All of the staff - those named and those not (we know they can't all be!!) will be really happy to read this post. Sorry about the 5 lbs though - we thought that food eaten in "the cloud" was without calories...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shannon P wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
We couldn't have asked for a better vacation experience. We felt very welcomed and spoiled. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. There were a plethora of selections for meals and all of the food was incredible. The diving was amazing. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Making guests feel welcomed and spoiled is what most motivates our staff. They will be so happy to read your post, and will look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
96Hawk wrote a review Jan 2024
North Liberty, Iowa109 contributions22 helpful votes
A unbelievable destination. The facilities are so unique and make you want to go. The service, cleanliness, food and people make you want to return. The diving is spectacular. i went into several of the rooms, all of them are unique and excellent. If you can arrive to Guanaja by air, I would recommend this. I have been twice, a third time will happen again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Mar 6, 2024
So nice to read that you still appreciate the uniqueness of a Dunbar Rock vacation after your second visit, and looking forward to welcoming you back for the third!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John B wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Villa on Dunbar Rock is a little difficult to get to however, somethings are just worth it. The pampering begins even before you reach the island. They have a person greet you at the airport in Roatan and you don't touch your bags again until you are either unpacking for your stay or packing for the trip home. You don't have to worry about where you are going to go for any of your meals as they are all included and very tasty. When you finish a meal they give you a menu to choose what your next meal will consist of and when you would like to eat it (don't be afraid to ask for something special, one member of our group had lobster nearly everyday). All the staff have wonderful smiles on their faces all the time and are more than happy to get you a drink or snack whenever you wish. But, there isn't any room service (I don't use room service anyway). We had a moderate amount of rain but we were there during the rainy season and there to dive so we were wet anyway. The rooms are very nice and the house keeping staff is fantastic they straighten your shoes, fold your pajamas and do your laundry which is returned to you nicely folded three times a week. I think the bath towels are the nicest I have ever used. The dive boat experience was just as great as the rest of the staff with three guides in the water with you pointing out interesting things on the reef. We had 16 boat dives including a night dive during the week and we dove the house reef a couple of times. The best thing about the diving besides being in the water was we didn't have to touch our gear except to unpack and pack it. You left it outside your room door the first morning and they setup your kit and changed tanks between the dives, no possibility of injuring yourself or someone else changing heavy gear and tanks on a rocking boat. After the dives they rinsed the gear and set it up for the next day. After the final dive they cleaned and dried your gear and brought it up to the main room for you to pack in the evening. What a great service!! They had a final delicious dinner for us and a surprise that evening which I won't ruin here. The whole experience was fantastic, I highly recommend taking a dive trip there and will be going back. Thanks to all the staff for making our time at Dunbar so enjoyable!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Thank you for this very complimentary post. The Staff all look forward to reading the feedback, so when someone takes as much time as you did to write such a thorough review, they are extra thankful! And thanks also for not mentioning the surprise at the end of the week :) - It can't always happen some weeks, so we would hate for others to be disappointed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Escape15014764626 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
The resort diving and food were outstanding. Loved the menu, food quality ,presentation and variety. Dive staff were helpful and carefully logged each dive and prepared divers logs for all. Equipment was checked and fresh nitrox tanks placed on successive dives.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Our Food & Beverage manager and cook staff, as was the dive staff, were thrilled to read your post. All are hoping you'll return in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brenda Y wrote a review Nov 2023
Madison Heights, United States7 contributions
What a great experience this trip was. This was my first time staying at a resort that is actually on it own rock with a beach. The diving was so good and the service was great. The resort has it own dive boat and the dive master and employee were so nice and helpful. We seen Sea horse, turtles, toad fish etc. etc. This is a place you should check out for a week.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Enjoy and relax and have fun!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Nov 20, 2023
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, but we aren't surprised to hear it was your first time staying at a resort built on a Rock :) - We're not sure there are any others out there! Did you know our super staff made that beach? Bucket by bucket of sand, brought over from the mainland in an area that was in need of dredging. They are very proud of their work as they should be! Thanks again for posting and for being our guest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sherry M wrote a review Oct 2023
Wilmore, Kentucky28 contributions13 helpful votes
Such an amazing treasure! Loved this place and the folks who make all the magic happen! Our dive team Jesse and Randy feel like brothers now. They were challenged with the weather but made each dive safe and memorable. Lots of nice coral and critters including seahorses, black coral, friendly nurse sharks, a toadfish, rays, whips, fans, sponges, tiny anemone, eels, lobsters, crabs, lionfish, and the list goes on. Under water terrain is very enjoyable and beautiful. All the staff on the rock made our experience fun and comfortable. They waited on us hand and foot! Special shout out to Zatina and Reba but every single person is amazing. Room was large and impeccably clean. The menu was varied and delicious. They even made scrumptious lionfish fingers from our catch! I gained 5 lbs in 1 week! We can not wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Wifi is spotty because of the remote location but who has time for that when there’s diving
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Oct 30, 2023
We loved the "felt like a cloud" imagery! Cloud great for the Rock/Cay that is - not so for your weather :-( but we're glad you didn't let it get in the way of your enjoying your vacation. Thanks for being our guest a.k.a. new family member and for posting.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ma_NYC98 wrote a review Sep 2023
San Francisco, California17 contributions25 helpful votes
Service and staff were incredible and went above and beyond to make our stay special. Zatina even got us fresh peppers from her husband’s stash because they were sold out at the market! The dive valet is also amazing and all our gear was very well cared for. The staff is the main reason for the 4 star rating. The rock is beautiful and quite a feat of engineering, but the lack of infrastructure means we could have been offered more dives per day (two in the afternoon, for example) so that we wouldn’t all be doing nothing for so many hours. The quality of the dive sites is also very inconsistent, but that’s a bit beyond the scope of this review. My main issue is that there’s a LOT of trash at the bottom of the house reef. We did a “dive against debris” dive and came back with a mesh bag full of trash that could only have come from the hotel. This is unacceptable. If you put a hotel in the middle of the ocean, it’s your responsibility to ensure that you’re not damaging the environment (some of those bottles had been there for a while). Food quality was also hit or miss. And please get those poor parrots a bigger cage if you can’t set them free.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring a book and a mesh bag?
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bradovchak, Marketing at Villa On Dunbar Rock
Responded Sep 25, 2023
We appreciate your posting this review and conducting your impromptu dive against debris. We can't agree more that it is unacceptable if in fact our staff are responsible for the trash - but we do not believe this is the case. Debris does float from the mainland with the current and gets trapped when hitting obstacles such as the "rock" - but it is most definitely our responsibility to keep it clean and make sure no one on on staff is adding to the issue. We'll be speaking with the staff about this ASAP. In terms of bottles that have been there for a long time - if they are glass (unbroken) we tend to leave them as most have become inhabited or encrusted and so are best left as they are now part of the reef system.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Guanaja area.
LOCATION
HondurasBay IslandsGuanaja
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA ON DUNBAR ROCK - Updated 2024 Hotel Reviews (Guanaja, Honduras)

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa On Dunbar Rock
Which popular attractions are close to Villa On Dunbar Rock?
Nearby attractions include La Cascada Waterfall Hike (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa On Dunbar Rock?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa On Dunbar Rock?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Villa On Dunbar Rock?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Villa On Dunbar Rock?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mi Casa Too, Manati Bar & Restaurant, and Barnacles Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa On Dunbar Rock?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Villa On Dunbar Rock have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Villa On Dunbar Rock offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Villa On Dunbar Rock have airport transportation?
Yes, Villa On Dunbar Rock offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Villa On Dunbar Rock located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Guanaja.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa On Dunbar Rock?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Villa On Dunbar Rock have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.