We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Carmel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Casa Carmel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 7: English reviews
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely, restored home; it was comfortable and very clean; the owners were nice; breakfast was decent. The negatives: though its walkable to a central street where you can eat and shop, its not in the best area - we felt safe enough, but I wouldn't walk around there at night. No one stays overnight there with you;... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ufruth
Sophie P, Gerente at Casa Carmel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your comment, we appreciate your feedback and will tak in consideration your comments to provide our guests with shampoo and conditioner. Also just to let you know there is always someone there during our guests stay, overnight and during the Day. :) Rosa will be there to attend your every needs and so will I!!... More 

Kansas City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

Unfortunately we ran very late in arriving into Guatemala City. We had made arrangements to arrive at 9pm but it was after midnight when we finally made it into the city. When we called, we were advised that they would not allow us to come. Very upsetting and left us without a place to stay for the night after an... More 

Helpful?
Thank GuateMall
Management response:

Hello we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience, so that you know we did not charge you the night since you did not arrive with us. Unfortunatedly we do not live at the property and I had no access to open the Hotel for you at the hour you called. If you do visit Guatemala again I invite you to... More 

Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Although I was hoping to have shuttle service from the airport, the yellow taxi picked me up quickly after I called them.The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The market was within walking distance. The service was friendly and helpful. I had breakfast waiting for me although I left very early for my flight out of the city. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ksodermark
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed one night at the end of our trip. This is a gracious old home that has been lovingly restored. It's bland facade, which is consistent with the colonial style, belies the beauty that awaits upon stepping through the doorway. The home is truly lovely, peaceful, and comfortable. The owners and staff are welcoming. We stayed in room 1... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlust2travlers
Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed in Casa Carmel for one night, in a quiant victorian room. The owner were welcoming, and comfortable as native english speakers. A very spacious house, with a 'grand enterance!' I would visit here again!

Helpful?
2 Thank maryestherkoehler
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed one night after several days in Peten and before moving on to San Salvador, but would like to have stayed much longer, and would gladly stay here again. The house is a truly handsome old home, and the proprietors are welcoming and pleasant. (Also, their English is that of native speakers). Breakfast, also, was delicious and beautifully served.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ryan61562
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

As you approach the Casa Carmel, it looks pretty plain with the typical conservative facade of many homes in Guatemala City. But once you are inside, all that changes. It is an old home, beautifully restored and you are greeted by a gracious entry hall, a beautifully furnished and comfortable living room, a soaring ceiling and gorgeous wood everywhere. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 9-04-2015kp
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.0 mi away
Novohostal
Novohostal
#9 of 49 in Guatemala City
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantabria Hotel
Cantabria Hotel
#27 of 49 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Quetzali
Hotel Quetzali
#22 of 49 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eco Suites Uxlabil
Eco Suites Uxlabil
#13 of 40 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencia del Sol
Residencia del Sol
#24 of 49 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariana's Petit Hotel
Mariana's Petit Hotel
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Casa Carmel

Address: 14 Calle 3-38 Zone 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Price Range: $66 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carmel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Carmel Guatemala/Guatemala City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay