Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort

Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort

Bathroom
Traveler (835)
Ridge Suite Interior
Room & Suite (170)
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$345
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Punta Gorda
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Agritourism-chic in Punta Gorda: a Jungle Lodge, organic farm and a 12,000-acre nature reserve. Set in the verdant hills above the Caribbean coast of southern Belize in the town of Punta Gorda. From our dock you can embark on our tranquil cruises on the jungle reaches of the Rio Grande, or our guided snorkeling and fishing adventures on the Caribbean Sea. Nim Li Punit and many other attractions are located nearby. At the heart of Copal Tree Belize is the Main Lodge with the Garden Table Restaurant, the Rum Bar, the Jungle Spa, lounge areas, a swimming pool, and observation decks that open to stunning vistas of the coast, the Maya Mountains and a seemingly endless pristine rainforest. Our 16 individual, spacious suites are well appointed with plush beds, screened fresh-air verandas, and spa-style bathrooms with floor to ceiling tropical rainforest view.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Fishing
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Last Minute Vacation

Location

Wilson Road, Punta Gorda Belize
493Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 444
  • 33
  • 12
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joan C wrote a review Dec 2022
Punta Gorda, Belize5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The incredible jungle setting and amazing, helpful staff stood out for my brief getaway at this location near where I live. Howler monkeys delighted with an afternoon performance while I lounged in my outdoor hottub, and hummingbird feeders in the dining room added to the ambience. I was disappointed that the food itself was mediocre, overcooked vegetables accompanied a small slab of fish, grilled pork belly was tough, the crust on a sliver of pie for dessert even tougher. The masseuse for my pricy spa experience was highly proficient, but it was raining, making the uninsulated room uncomfortable. Dimmer switches on the lighting were inoperable, so it was bright light or none. The outdoor area in the location of the Signature Canopy Suites where I stayed needed attention, as chairs were mildewed, and the infinity pool wanted a coat of paint. My room was clean, spacious and comfortable, with outstanding views.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenine Burns, Sales at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Dec 20, 2022
Greetings from Copal Tree Lodge, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Copal Tree Lodge during your recent visit to Belize. We know that as you settle back into your day-to-day routine, it can become a bit hectic, and as such we thank you for taking the time out to leave us your review. We are elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that our facilities and staff did NOT disappoint. Here at Copal Tree Lodge, we aim at offering the best possible guest experience, and I feel that in this instance, we were able to accomplish this. We would love to host you and your loved ones again, soon. If you need to reach us for whatever reason, a future booking, please feel free to do so by calling our toll free number: 1-877-418-2561.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew B wrote a review Oct 2022
16 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I had an amazing stay at Copal Tree Lodge and we plan on going back at our first opportunity. This was our first trip to Belize that was not a day stop from a cruise to one of the Cayes. The lodge is just north of Punta Gorda which is about as far south as anyone is going to go in Belize (otherwise you'll be in Guatemala.) Because of the location, things are pretty laid back with more locals than tourists. To be honest, we only drove through town to/from the airport and in retrospect we wished we had arranged to go in and explore for a bit. That being said, we had a pretty full itinerary arranged through the lodge and there isn't anything we would have wanted to give up to do that.

The flight into Belize Philip S.W. Goldson International Airport was uneventful. This being our first time in by air, we arranged for a VIP reception through the resort. The airport is not large, but having local knowledge to usher us through the various lines was awesome. Once we cleared Customs, the first thing he did was to immediately get us onto an earlier Tropic Air flight which saved us 2 hours of airport wait time. I know arrival assistance won't be for everyone, but for us and being our first time in, it was absolutely worth the $75 to navigate the chaos (and it also paid off later*.)

Once we got onto the Tropic Air flight (in May of 2022, Maya was not flying to Punta Gorda) it was a few ups and downs to let passengers off at some other locations until it was just my wife and I left at the last stop. We were met there by our driver Desmond from Copal who took us on the short 15 min drive to get to the lodge. He was super friendly and we had a good chat about the local area as he pointed of various things of interest.

Once at the lodge, we were welcomed by the front desk staff, sat down on the veranda tree top porch, were served a delicious welcome cocktail and confirmed our itinerary and got a rundown on the resort amenities and what not. We opted for a Canopy which was amazing. There are only 4 of these, they are very private and have excellent views and their own shared private pool. Keep in mind, there are only 16 rooms and 1 villa total at the lodge. So when I say private, I mean private/quiet/secluded. To get to them, you can either take the steps up or take a short ride on the funicular that goes up to them which is pretty cool.

The Canopy rooms themselves are pretty large with an entry area and armoire. Off of this is the separate bathroom with a shower that has a view over the trees as well as a bathtub out on the balcony with a private door from the bathroom that leads to it. The main room is large with high ceilings, a king bed and very large seating area. There are then two doors that lead out to different ends of the wraparound balcony. The best way I could describe the decor would be British Colonial Campaign Chic with a slight modern/Zen handmade twist. Personally for me, that gave a great vibe to the room as well as the whole lodge. In the back of my mind, it just felt like a special place because of that. That being said, there is also a rustic quality about it and that translated into doors with gaps on them. This wasn't a big deal, but it lends itself to a unique experience I am going to relay in a bit. For now, I just want to reiterate that the room exceeded our expectations.

We went in May of 2022 which is at the end of the dry season. Up until our arrival, there had been very little rain for weeks. That changed on our first night as the sky opened up around midnight and we were treated to the kind of rainstorm sound that you can only get as an 8 hour YouTube "relaxing rainstorm with distant thunder" video. The Canopy suites have tin roofs which simply enhanced it. I zoned out at some point and slept like a log after that. The next morning was beautiful with the storm cleared out and the jungle looking fresh from a much needed watering. The wildlife is amazing at the lodge with parrots, toucans and countless other local and migratory birds all around. The highlight though were the Howler Monkeys. We were anxious to see them and we were not let down with multiple sightings from that first day and on every single day after. Our first day was just left open by us to relax and explore the property a bit. We had breakfast and our first taste of Belizean fry jacks which is just a simple fried bread, but oh so much more than just that as well. Dining is an outdoor affair with views over the tree tops and hummingbird feeders spaced around that bring in an army of the tiny little guys who are constantly protecting their favorites spots and have no fears of flying over your table when chasing each other. They are just another amazing part of nature that the lodge pulls in and makes a part of the overall experience.

Our first day, we did a short hike by the river, soaking in the forest and eventually soaking in the rain again when it opened up for a little while. Fortunately we came prepared with some light rain gear. After that it was lunch and cocktail. We did the inclusive meal plan. In the end, we probably could have saved a little money (read tens of dollars) doing straight a la carte, but this also meant we never thought twice about anything we ordered including cocktails (as long as you order from the menu of drinks based on Copal rum and local beer and select wine. This was never a problem for us. I like Mojitos which were on menu and my wife discovered their Watermelon Smashes. When we go again, we'll most likely do inclusive again.

After our hike, cocktails and some lunch, we decided to go back to the room to relax for a bit. This is where the part I mentioned above about the rainy season starting becomes interesting. I want to preface this by saying we still would not have changed anything because in the end, it was a funny story for us and just added to the experience. Water is life. There are a lot of instances in nature where water begins a cycle. In Belize and much of Central and South America, this holds true and for us it meant "Flood Flies" on our second day. In America, we would just call it a termite hatch. Anyway... I was in the hammock on our balcony slowly blinking out for a nap when I noticed the flutter. It looked as familiar as any other termite hatch I had seen. A hundred or so slowly fluttering winged bugs rising up to the sky to make a new start. They weren't bothering me and it was just more nature to watch. About 10 minutes later it was 300 but still not bothering me. Another 10 minutes and it was 500 and one or two of them had made their way to my general area. Still not a big deal, but now I was keeping my eye on them. Another 10 minutes and there is probably 1500 to 3000 of them erupting to the sky and they are now landing on me enough that I am ready to move. At this point my wife who was inside reading comes out because she's seen the oddity. She decides to go back in and I make the same call. By this point there are probably 5000 of them in the air. The sun is behind them shining into our room and it's almost like it is reflecting off of water with the shimmer. Keep in mind, these are termites. They don't bite and they aren't dangerous, it's just that there are now probably over ten thousand of them right outside our balcony door and they are starting to land EVERYWHERE. We closed the screen doors and the inner glass door, but this is where the part I mentioned earlier about the handmade rustic doors that don't quite completely seal comes into play. Maybe it's all the Zombie movies I watched over the years, but this is where my survival instinct kicked in. I didn't need it to happen to see what was going to happen. They were coming in. We had to seal the doors. But how? Toilet paper! Lots and lots of toilet paper!! Yard after soft white yard, I spooled it out, frantically pressing it into the cracks and seals of the balcony door using a laminated card of lodge info left on the desk to get it all the way in. Next it was onto the other two doors. We had a reasonable level of success, but even at that, we ended up with about 200 of them getting into the room.

I know for some people, this could be a deal breaker. My wife is a legit trooper though and this didn't really impact us in the end. The staff was amazing and came up to do an after dinner clean out which got out most everything. The beds also have hanging bug nets which we originally thought were decorative, but evidently not. That took care of things enough that we could sleep that second night. As far as the flood flies, that was pretty much it. Nature is weird that way. One big show and they were done. Had we booked our stay a little earlier or later, we would have had no idea "flood flies" were even a thing.

The next few days we had full itineraries. We did a private fishing charter, a bean to bar chocolate making class, a distillery tour, the snorkel with the chef tour and wrapped it all up with a leisurely canoe paddle on our last evening there. We really wanted to get in some massages, but we just ran out of time.

The food is all local sourced with most of the proteins and vegetables coming directly from the farms on the property. The menus have a good range of choices with some variation day by day.

The staff was all extraordinarily nice and helpful. I really can't say enough about all of them. The waitstaff, bartenders, front desk, tour guides, housekeeping, grounds-keeping and management all added to an exceptional guest experience. That being said, calling someone out specifically is not meant to diminish anybody else on the Copal team, but I need to give a shout out to George, one of their main guides. He took us fishing, captained our snorkel with the Chef tour and on our last day, guided us on a canoe paddle where he foraged some local delicacies to taste. George is extremely personable with a wealth of local knowledge and simply pushed the tours we were on over the top.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenine Burns, Sales at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Oct 20, 2022
Greetings from Copal Tree Lodge, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Copal Tree Lodge during your recent visit to Belize. We know that as you settle back into your day-to-day routine, it can become a bit hectic, and as such we thank you for taking the time out to leave us your review. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our facilities and most especially our staff did NOT disappoint too greatly, given the insect incident. Here at Copal Tree Lodge, we aim at offering the best possible guest experience, and we appreciate your understanding so we can continue to work at accomplishing this. We would love to host you and your loved ones again, soon. If you need to reach us for whatever reason, a future booking, please feel free to do so by calling our toll free number: 1-877-418-2561.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maureen G wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Copal Tree was a dream come true for my siblings and brother-in-law and I. We were fully delighted with our stay and wished it could have gone on and on. Not only is it a spectacular location, where you feel as if you are in the rain forest canopy, but the staff was so friendly, attentive and wonderful; the organic food fresh from the farm below, was fantastic; the daily activities were so fun and enlightening. The organic farm is amazing all by itself. We loved tasting sugar cane, allspice, turmeric, cilantro, cacao and more direct from the earth, with Joseph as our guide; we loved the chocolate process and making; the trip to Mayan ruins and waterfall with super knowledgeable Desmond; the kayak trip with George, who found us howler monkeys way up in the trees. I will recommend Copal Tree to friends, with no reservations.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Quiet except for howler monkeys and rain on the roof - but those are also a plus!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paradise656797, Manager at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Maureen, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share this wonderful experience with us. The team here at Copal is truly happy that you had a chance to enjoy bot our amenities and activities. It was indeed a pleasure hosting and please feel free to contact us at 1-877-417-9487 to plan your next stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aidanandmorgan wrote a review Apr 2021
Old Greenwich, CT15 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You can't ask for a friendlier, more responsive staff than the one you'll find here. The Canopy Suites are really worth it and taking the tram up the hill is a breeze. The dinner menu changes daily and nearly everything is locally sourced on site. Everyone (ourselves included) seemed to having a wonderful time: families, newlyweds, retirees, etc. Certainly worth the trip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ludrick Goff, Owner at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Apr 15, 2021
Good day, Once again Thank You for choosing Copal Tree Lodge. We are happy to learn that your stay with us was well enjoyed. Our top priority is granting each guest the most exceptional experience while staying with us. We look forward to assisting you in planning your next visit to our little slice of paradise. Feel free to call us toll free at 1 877 417 9478 for our best available offers. We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, The Copal Tree Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grace wrote a review Aug 2021
United States13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a wonderful few days at the Copal Tree Lodge. From the very beginning, all travel arrangements were taken care of and getting to Copal Tree from BZE was smooth sailing (well, flying via prop plane and then van picked us up from Punta Gorda). We were welcomed with fragrant cleansing towel and rum (distilled on-site) drink, prepared by Tim the excellent bartender. All of the staff were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. All checked in with you to see how things were going and if I ever needed anything. The lodge itself, the room, grounds, pool were breathtaking. The food - amazing!! The rainforest surroundings are beautiful and are what make the experience so special. There is quite a lot to do on the grounds. I went for a walk and also kayaked everyday in the river. I was able to see tarpan fish, howler monkeys, toucans and many more birds. There are daily excursions for a fee. I went to the Blue River Cave and Mayan ruins with tour guide Vincent, who is excellent. He and his wife prepared a delicious meal for us in their lovely home and he gave us a great tour of the ruins. I had plans next to go to another Muy’Ono resort, Thatch Caye, to get a mix of rainforest and beach. The transportation from Copal to Thatch was also prearranged and a seamless transition!

I would definitely return to Copal in the future and recommend to anyone interested!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ludrick Goff, Owner at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Greetings from Your Luxury Rainforest Escape, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Copal Tree Lodge during your recent visit to Belize. Hosting you was a true pleasure. We know that as you settle back into your day-to-day routine, it can become a bit hectic, and as such we thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review and share with others, your experience with us. We are elated to note that your stay with us provided an awe-mazing experience. Thank you very much for taking the time out to highlight the efforts of our staff, in particular, Tim at the Bar, who all worked together to assure the success of your stay. Here at Copal Tree Lodge, we aim at offering the best possible guest experience, and I am confident to say that in this instance, we were able to accomplish this. We would love to host you and your loved ones again, soon. If you need to reach us for whatever reason, whether it be to arrange a future visit or if you have a query that needs a response, please feel free to do so by calling our toll-free number; 1-877-417-9478.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Desi F wrote a review Aug 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia111 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first international trip since COVID and we felt so safe at Copal Tree Lodge. Their staff all take it seriously, even though it hasn't affected any of them. The room was stunning and exactly as advertised. We had a King Jungle Suite and it was palatial! The shower is a dream! We saw monkeys from our window. Each jungle suite is its own cabin and they're all spaced apart so you have privacy. Just perfect!

The restaurant and bar and front lobby are all housed in the main building which is centrally located. The food was always super delicious. I enjoyed the Belizean breakfast each morning. I couldn't get enough of those fry jacks! Their jam was so delicious and not super sweet and the refried beans were a dream! Lunch and dinner was always super delicious too. The dinner menu changed nightly, so we were always pleasantly surprised with the offerings.

We spent a lot of time at the pool. The only event we signed up for was the horseback riding, which was an experience! They only have two horses for guests, so our 1-hr ride was a private, guided ride through the jungle. The horses aren't trail horses but they are patient and calm (for the most part) and the ride was just lovely.

The only caution I have is the mosquitoes. Of course, you're in the jungle so they are to be expected. The lodge has repellent available for your use at the restaurant and bar and you can buy some from the gift shop too. They're not out of control but they are a nuisance.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ludrick Goff, Owner at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Greetings from Copal Tree Resort, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here during your recent visit to Belize. We are extremely happy to have been chosen to host your first post-Covid vacation. We know that as you settle back into your day-to-day routine, it can become a bit hectic, and as such we thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review and share with others, your experience with us. We cannot express how grateful we are, for your kind words. We are extremely pleased that your stay with us provide for an Awe-mazing and restful stay in the jungle. Here at Copal Tree Lodge, we aim at offering the best possible guest experience, and I feel that in this instance, we were able to accomplish this. We are elated to note that every aspect of our property, not only met but surpassed all your expectations We would love to host you and your loved ones again, soon. If you need to reach us for whatever reason, whether it be to arrange a future visit or if you have a query that needs a response, please feel free to do so by calling our toll-free number; 1-877-417-9478.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karin D wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is surrounded by beautiful jungle with great hiking trails that I used pretty much every day! You truly are in the middle of a lush green surrounding, with monkeys in the trees and birds all around you! The kindness, positive attitude and helpfulness of the staff made all the difference! Everyone was extremely helpful, always smiling and paid attention to details! Our cabin (#11) was beautiful and due to it being a little elevated it felt very private! The excursion they had were a little pricey but the massages are reasonable (definitely recommended)! We did a half day fishing with a fantastic guide (Jose) who was so passionate and knowledgeable about fishing, it was a great day and the chef even prepared our fish for us that evening! Food was a bit pricey but delicious, we several times went into town to try local restaurants as well! We thankfully came a car to be able to explore the area (San Antonio Waterfalls, Rio Blanco Park, Punta Gorda) which otherwise we would have only been able to do with their tours which are pricey. What I really liked as well was that it's somewhat fancy, but not too fancy... casual fancy! I wore shirt and shorts all day even for the meals and did not feel out of place, shirts and shorts or dresses...everyone is treated special!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenine Burns, Sales at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Greetings from Copal Tree Lodge, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Copal Tree Lodge during your recent visit to Belize. We know that as you settle back into your day-to-day routine, it can become a bit hectic, and as such we thank you for taking the time out to leave us your review. We are elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that our facilities and staff did NOT disappoint. Here at Copal Tree Lodge, we aim at offering the best possible guest experience, and I feel that in this instance, we were able to accomplish this. We would love to host you and your loved ones again, soon. If you need to reach us for whatever reason, a future booking, please feel free to do so by calling our toll free number: 1-877-418-2561.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandra A wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is remote, with little to no competition, and I felt like the managers/owners are taking advantage of this, knowing you have nowhere else to go once you are here, to set some astronomical prices. I made the mistake of not researching in depth the prices of the activities and food at this lodge (thinking it was Belize), and I was in shock. With all the fresh food they produce on the farm, I did not have one memorable meal, well not in a good way, because I did have bad meals, which at 35 USD a plate is very upsetting. The meat was overcooked every single night. The choices of meat were mostly pork and chicken and lot of options were fried, not enough vegetarian or seafood options. The menu was just dull, I was ready to eat somewhere else by day 3. When you drop New York City prices on food in Belize, you expect to have a spectacular meal. That was absolutely not the case. I hope they put some of their profits to hiring a good chef.
Their activities were just ridiculously priced, to the point where we didn't do much because we didn't want to drop 1k a day for a group of 4 people..
Probably the thing that bothers me the most was that it didn't look like the staff was paid decently, everybody is looking for a tip, which is not what I want to deal with , and feel bad when I don't have cash. We are paying some crazy money at this property, PLESE PAY YOUR STAFF!! It really felt like they are living off of tips, not that tips were just appreciated on occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MuyOnoTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We value your feedback and are disappointed that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the cost of your stay. We work very hard to stay competitive with similar jungle resorts across the country and encourage guests to book directly with us to take advantage of direct booking specials available at the time. We are also very sorry that you were underwhelmed with your meals and menu offerings at the lodge. We are saddened to hear this as we typically receive stellar reviews regarding our fresh farm-to-table dining experience. We strongly encourage guests to provide us with direct and immediate feedback if they are unsatisfied so that we rectify the situation as soon as possible. We always try our best to accommodate all special requests. Many guests choose to take advantage of the all-inclusive option, which includes drinks and three meals a day at a discount. All ingredients we use are organic and locally sourced, with over 75% grown on property. Additionally, we only work with fully licensed tour guides and price in accordance with similar tour providers. Guest safety is our top priority and working with fully-trained and certified tour guides that have a reputation for safety, quality, and reliability is important to us. As the largest employer in Toledo, we pride ourselves on paying all employees well above the average wage for similar positions across the country. While the food service team is committed to providing exceptional service and appreciate tips, they do not work exclusively for gratuity. Thanks again for your feedback. If you have any other concerns, please give us a call at 1-844-238-0216.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Ludlow wrote a review Feb 2020
Cook, Minnesota44 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well appointed spacious deluxe units spaced for privacy and fabulous jungle views. Small intimate resort with a farm to table restaurant using 70% of menu grown on property. Rooms with floor to ceiling glass walled showers facing the jungle or outdoor showers.

Swimming pools. Great opening dining. All inclusive package worthwhile. Great for couples.

Take a farm tour and spend time with an expert guide. Gardens, farm animal and a chocolate making experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we preferred the main level rooms with a screened porch and giant glass walled shower looking...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ludrick Goff, Owner at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Thank you for writing us such a marvelous description of our property! It was truly an honor to host your stay. We do hope to see you again or at any of our Muy-Ono properties.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam H wrote a review Feb 2022
Chicago, Illinois242 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an awesome trip, Enjoyed the property, enjoyed the staff, but some things to note before booking this resort.

Was there in December '21, handled Covid well, since most everything was outside.

We went on a trip with teenagers, parents and grand parents and stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath house with 2 porches. Great AC, no bugs inside, smaller bedrooms were a bit cramped, plenty of shared space which was nice. Lounging on porch, on coaches, no TVs which was nice. Thing to note, lots of stairs (see pics) which worked out ok, but could be an issue for some people.

#1, It's a journey to get there. Fly to Belize city then local small plane to get to Punta Gorda, then a drive. It's a day from the US, but the journey itself can be fun.

#2, Great staff, great food, great service,

#3, Everything is laid back and slow, but you're on vacation, so enjoy.

#4, It's remote, you aren't walking into town or taking a quick bike ride anyplace.

#5, They have a ton of activities to do for an extra fee, They should include some of their tours for free in my opinion, the farm, chocolate, and coffee tours should just be free for guests. They have daily tours/activities they can connect people with, some 1/2 day, some full-day. Most people will want to plan for excursions off property, as what's on property is somewhat limited to short hikes and kayaking, or farm/chocolate, distillery tour.

#6, The rum is great, an so was the distillery tour. The coffee is great and so was the coffee tour/cuppping.

#7, Internet was fantastic, AC was super great, the room/building was great, outlets could be better placed, no TV (nice), not a lot to do at night except eat and drink and hang with family.

#8, I'm not sure I would go back but I'm happy I got to go once.

#9, bring bug spray, expect bugs, expect some rain.

#10, the food was really good, better than I expected, Dinner had variety every night even for picky eaters in our group.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenine Burns, Sales at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Responded Mar 18, 2022
Greetings from Copal Tree Lodge, We are pleased to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us; and that the adventure was a memorable one. expectations. We know that as you settle back into your day-to-day routine, it can become a bit hectic, and as such we thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review and share with others, your experience with us. Thank you for highlighting our efforts at remaining one if Belize's top Eco Jungle Lodge. Here at Copal Tree Lodge, we aim at offering the best possible guest experience, and we are glad we were able to accomplish this. We would love to host you and your loved ones again, soon. If you need to reach us for whatever reason, whether it be to arrange a future visit or if you have a query that needs a response, please feel free to do so by calling our toll-free number; 1-877-417-9478.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Michelle B
New York City, New York36 contributions5 helpful votes
the price varies depending on the Low [raining season] vs. high [dry] time of year in Belize
Answer from Paradise656797
Good afternoon Tanya, My apologies that we were not able to get to you earlier. Are you still looking for a response?
gretchenhurt asked a question Jul 2019
Birmingham, Alabama
Are the mosquitoes bad?
Answer from RealFly77
Grenada, Mississippi61 contributions31 helpful votes
not bad for us at all , I’m sure it depends on the rain fall and seasonal temps but no issues here. There are big bed nets and we slept with the screen porch door open and no issues. Your in the jungle not the ocean reef club so I would bring spray just in case. :)
Deanna D asked a question Apr 2019
Chicago, Illinois, United States1 contribution
Can you bring drinks to the pool and your room? Is there any drink service at either pools?
Answer from RealFly77
Grenada, Mississippi61 contributions31 helpful votes
yes , no issues at all. 5 Star service so they can make it happen !
Anni M wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take some extra cash to tip the staff as they bend over backwards to satisfy your every need!!"
Read full review
tripd0c wrote a tip Feb 2024
Richland, Washington20 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely worth the money!"
Read full review
Tina L wrote a tip Feb 2024
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use bug spray!"
Read full review
Charles B wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go into town for the local experience. "
Read full review
Teresa S wrote a tip Jan 2024
Noblesville, Indiana4 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try every excursion. Choose a Canopy Suite (we stayed in #15). Soak up every little detail - you won't regret it!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Punta Gorda area.
PRICE RANGE
$370 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
belcampo hotel punta gorda
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Belcampo Lodge
LOCATION
BelizeToledo DistrictPunta Gorda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COPAL TREE LODGE, A MUY'ONO RESORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cotton Tree Chocolate (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asha's Culture Kitchen, Gomier's Vegan Vegetarian And Seafood, and Grace's Resturant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Punta Gorda HotelsPunta Gorda Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Punta GordaHotels near Copal Tree Lodge, A Muy'Ono Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars