Ka'ana Resort

Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio Belize
Traveler (870)
Room & Suite (241)
Dining (112)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#9 of 21 hotels in San Ignacio
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Babysitting
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1267Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,084
  • 117
  • 38
  • 13
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brice H wrote a review Jun 2021
Reno, Nevada67 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my girlfriend’s 50th birthday, and we were looking for a resort in western Belize to be able to explore Mayan ruins and artifacts, enjoy the jungle, and celebrate her birthday. Ka’ana resort checked all of the boxes and more. We booked a Master Suite as part of the “Romance Package”. Our particular suite (#10) had a plunge pool with outdoor shower, and was located on the very end of the property, giving us great privacy but still close to the pool, restaurant, and bar. The management refreshed and updated the entire property during COVID, so everything felt and look brand new. The resort restaurant, La Ceiba, has a limited and pricy menu, but the food is fantastic with generous portions. The couples massage, part of our package, performed on-site at the resort spa by local massage therapist, was one of the best we’ve had. The resort offers private tours with professional, licensed guides to all the local attractions and even out to the beach. At this time, visitors cannot easily cross the Guatemalan border, so Tikal was off the list. The staff was very responsive and professional, catering to our every need. They even decorated their wine cellar for our special 50th birthday celebration dinner. Don’t miss the Maya Cooking Class held in the “Fugon” the traditional Maya cooking site built on the property. One final note, if you want to travel to and from in-style, Ka’ana even has their own heliport. Special thanks to all of the management and staff but especially: Wolfgang, Joelie, Miguel, Josh, Victor, and Venessa for making our stay phenomenal.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Jun 12, 2021
Dear valued Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review here. But not just any review! We are reading your feedback with delight & happiness. A lot is going on behind the scenes and we are always excited to know when our hard & passionate efforts pay back. We look forward to welcoming you again at Ka'ana. Until then... Wolfgang & Team Ka'ana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ALJ wrote a review Mar 2020
Tucson, Arizona191 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with my partner for four nights. The accommodations are extremely comfortable and thoughtfully designed. Rooms are cool and thoughtfully decorated, surrounded by an expansive garden, which makes you feel far further from Western Highway and San Ignacio than you actually are.

The location is great - close to many of the temples around San Ignacio and close to the border so a day trip to Tikal is very easy. This is one of the main reasons to stay here: comfort, class, and proximity to these temples.

The food is excellent. Although it can be complicated to leave the hotel in the evening for dinner, it doesn't seem necessary, because the food (though more expensive) is far better at the resort. I wish there were a few more vegetarian options - but I was happy to eat the same meal several times as I expect we stayed here longer than many others do.

It is a bit pricey, particularly for the area, but it is nice for a relaxing and luxurious visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Mar 14, 2020
Dear Guest We thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is appreciated. Best regards Wolfgang Brandl, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sleen_M wrote a review Oct 2021
San Antonio, Texas90 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ka'ana is an exceptional property tucked away in central Belize away from the hustle and bustle of big towns. We were here a week and loved it.

We decided to get the transportation from Ka'ana, very clean comfortable cars with great companions to drive us that are highly informed about the area. (The transportation was bit more expensive than other transportation companies, but you get what you pay for, would highly recommend their transportation service) We were picked up by Ben who helped us make a pit stop at the Belize Zoo and also understand more about the area, and dropped off by Eddie who is an avid bird lover and the trip back to the airport was full of bird viewing, really wished I would have had taken a bird viewing tour with him.

From the get go, everyone was really accommodating and friendly. The room was amazing and housekeeping was excellent! The night manager who helped us to our room upon check in was amazing along with the rest of the front staff and helped us beyond their means throughout the trip! (So sorry slipped his name)
The grounds are beautiful and very well kept.
The food is excellent with nightly specials and the drinks by Miguel were something to look forward in your day, and made a good day better. They have their own garden and the fresh herbs and salad leaves from there are just beyond comparison. The servers made it really special. Lily and the other gentleman whose name I can't recall all under the watchful eyes of Fiona, who was excellent!

We took a cave tubing tour with Brandon (sorry if I get the name wrong) through the front desk and were so happy about it. Best guide ever! Made the experience stand out! Very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun! We saw other people from other companies who were rushed through the whole thing and we just took our own time exploring, discovering and having a ton of fun!

They provide drop off services to the town which is really helpful and one of the days were dropped off and picked up by Carl who was kind enough to show us the border upon request and told us about the town and it's history.

One unique thing about the place was the convenience of live chat/request/ assistance through WhatsApp which was amazing and very thoughtful! You can set up a tour, request room/pool service/schedule a ride etc via WhatsApp chat, which was very convenient.

We requested a COVID-19 test for departure and the medical professionals came to our room and helped us out and was done in less than 20 minutes.

I'm sorry if I forget any names but everyone of the people at Ka'ana made it a very special, relaxing and memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Using the private tours offered by the property are well worth it. Happy hours are not to be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Dear Sleen_M Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed and positive review. We truly appreciate to know that you’ve enjoyed our take of hospitality and we will recognize the staff members you have mentioned. We thank you for staying with us and hope to be able to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards from Ka’ana Wolfgang & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
melinda m wrote a review Aug 2021
San Francisco, California51 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have nothing but amazing things to say about my stay at Ka'ana and all of the staff. The resort is quaint and on a well maintained property with lush foliage and fauna. The hotel has an organic garden and farm with hens (as well as some goats and lambs as pets). You're far away enough from the center of the city to make it feel private but also close enough to sites and restaurants. The food was absolutely delicious, fresh and flavorful...we loved the pork entree, fry jack and papaya protein shake! The alcoholic drinks served by Miguel were fantastic; he's friendly and easy to talk to. We booked a tour through the hotel and had Brandon as our guide. He told us about his time growing up Belize and was very knowledgeable about the ruins and market .
The staff really made us feel like family - they remembered our names and were very attentive.

My husband and I stayed in the Balam room (#11) and a Casita Suite (#2) in August 2021. The Balam room overlooks the pool (so it can be noisy at times but wasn't a problem for us), is close to the spa, and has a nice view of the property. You enter an enclosed sun room with a hammock, table and chairs, followed by a separate entrance for the Aircon room with queen bed. The bed and bathrooms are a good size for 2 people to move around freely and decorated with Mayan accents. The Casita Suite is more modern with a hammock on the porch and spacious bedroom with a seating area to have a meal. The outdoor patio is the highlight: a deck to enjoy the jungle and stars, as well as an outdoor tub and shower.

Both rooms are equipped with bottled and filtered water, a safe to store your valuables, shampoo, conditioner, soap, general toiletries, hair dryer, comfy towels and robes. Also there are umbrellas provided to use during the rainy season...you'll need them!

Our stay at Ka'ana allowed us to rest and relax . I'd definitely recommend staying here I'd your budget allows for it. You won't be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Sep 28, 2021
Dear valued Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write & post this detailed review. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and support. We are striving to impress you further upon your next visit! Until then - keep us in sweet memory! Best regards Wolfgang & Team Ka'ana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina M wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly and accommodating staff. Although we planned some excursions on our own, the staff provided packing tips and provided towels. Great food and drinks. Beautiful resort and area. Everyone was very helpful! The hotel provided transport that seemed slightly expensive but after being there and finding our own transport, we found it wasn’t much more expensive for a nearly 2 hour car transport to the resort from Belize international airport.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, Owner at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear Guest We appreciate your positive feedback about your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share it here with us. Best regards Wolfgang Brandl, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Passport_Memories wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada140 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ka’ana's name translates to “heavenly place” and we can see why! Located deep in the jungle in Cayo District in Western Belize, this 5-star resort is close to the Guatemalan border. Each luxurious room is a secluded retreat with modern amenities, perfect for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Booking adventure packages, cooking classes and community outreach programs with local schools were easy. From the moment we booked, the team at Ka’ana was attentive to our needs and helped organize our trip to the Cayo District and pick up at the airport. On arrival, we were greeted with towels and welcome drinks and it just got better from there. The food was awesome and make sure you start your day with a green juice! Our getaway was a perfect mix of Maya culture, history, adventure and relaxation. Treat yourself and visit Ka'ana.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, Owner at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Dear Guest Whilst I was off the property during your stay I am very pleased to learn that the team did a great job exceeding your expectations. Great to know that you enjoyed all details of your stay Thank you for the time posting this review and especially for staying with us. Come back for some green juice soon! Best regards from Ka'ana Wolfgang Brandl, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
789tracy wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I visited Belize this February and we couldn't have been happier that we chose to stay at Ka'ana. Firstly, the resort is beautiful. The grounds are gorgeous and incredibly well maintained and the organic garden which we had a tour of is impressive. They grow a lot of their own fruit and vegetables there that they use in their kitchen. The staff are also so lovely and kind. There is nothing they won't do to make your stay perfect. Just ask and it's done. From booking dinner reservations to providing bug spray on a trip to the Mayan ruins.They also arranged some private tours for us that were amazing and the guides extremely knowledgeable and professional. The food at the resort was great too. We enjoyed a barbeque night there and a Mayan evening that included instruction on how to make your own tortilla's. It was so much fun and incredibly delicious.I can't recommend this resort enough and would definitely go back there. 5 stars all the way.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, Owner at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear Guest Thank you very much for posting this wonderful review about your recent stay with us. Your kind & positive feedback is very motivational for us. Best regards from Ka'ana Wolfgang Brandl, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zack G wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I honestly don't even know where to start. Let's start with the basics. The grounds are perfectly kept, the design is gorgeous, rooms are beautiful, food is great, drinks with Miguel at the bar are phenominal, the organic garden is very cool, the location is amazing.

But what really sets this place in a category all to its own is their unbelievable attention to their guests. The customer service is behind words. Every single person that works their from management to groundskeepers, farmers, servers, etc.. is completely dedicated to you. You can not pass by one person who works there without at the very least a smile and a greeting. But it's usually more like.. your going somewhere do you need a towel? Can I offer you coffee? Can we help with excursions? Would you like a tour of the garden.

As a business owner I am honestly envious of what they have done. It will be very difficult to ever give a five star rating again to any hotel because they just would not touch this place.

Thank you Wolfgang and crew for making our stay beyond words. I will keep these memories close to my heart forever..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear Guest We truly appreciate your positive feedback and kind words. It is with delight and certainly motivating to know that we managed to impress and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future - then you maybe do a combination tour/vacation with our sister property on the Caribbean beach side of Belize - Ka'ana AND Itz'ana Resort & Residences. Best regards Wolfgang & Team Ka'ana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne B wrote a review Mar 2020
Ashburn, Virginia33 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 3 nights here in March 2020 prior to going to the coast. Had a private cottage adjacent to the main building. Private driver guides each day, Took a cave tubing tour (NOT to be missed) the first day, toured the ruins of Xunantonich the second day, and visited the inland blue hole (a cenote on the Hummingbird Hwy) on our way to Placencia. Visited a couple local restaurants in San Ignacio. Manager very attentive and guides all very knowledgeable and helpful. Bartender was excellent at the hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Mar 29, 2020
Dear Guest We appreciate your positive feedback about your recent stay with us and hope to be able to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Wolfgang Brandl, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jillie D wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom70 contributions68 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Villa 1, the most expensive on the property with its own plunge pool. Sounds nice BUT the room was very tired, the doors, which were supposed to open fully to it’s own garden were stuck closed on our arrival and took two days to repair, cups and towels were not replaced, the tiny pool was faulty and not usable, but worst was the constant vehicle noise from the main road in which it sits. Did I say worst, actually it wasn’t. The operations manager, Mr Wynand, was the worst representative of a hotel we’ve ever experienced. He showed total indifference to our problems.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnoushkaDBrandl, Manager at Ka'ana Resort
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear Mrs Drucker, We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. Ka'ana Resort takes reviews very seriously as it is our priority to ensure all guests receive an outstanding experience, while in a welcoming environment. Due to a misunderstanding you had a sad experience. I hope that you will revisit so we can make amends in some way for your disappointment. Best regards, Anoushka & Ka'ana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from James W
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I don’t remember exactly when breakfastopens, but if you check with the front desk the day before I believe they can make sure you have something to eat before you leave for your tour. They do go out of their wsy to acvommodate theur guests.
Answer from Nicole C
Brooklyn, New York36 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi, we actually booked a shuttle through William’s Belize Shuttle … they were excellent
Show all answers
Answer from Anoushka B
San Ignacio, Belize17 contributions3 helpful votes
Greetings, I will recommend to book the transfer and tours with the resort. The resort is a Gold Standard establishment and will ensure all protocols are followed at all time. Please reach out to our team for the transfer and adventures. The atlernative will be to provide your contact details so we can reach out to you.
adamdlasky wrote a tip Feb 2024
Snohomish, Washington31 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat at the restaurant and drink at the bar!"
Read full review
Joshua S wrote a tip Oct 2023
North Liberty, Iowa7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The welcome ginger cocktail was devine!"
Read full review
Carla M wrote a tip Apr 2023
11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool area only had 7 lounge chairs when we were there. It was rare they were all filled, but during busier times that may not be the case."
Read full review
john wrote a tip Apr 2023
Richmond, Virginia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book transfers & tours with the hotel"
Read full review
Todd C wrote a tip Mar 2023
Phoenix, Arizona3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Their guide Andee is wonderful."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Ignacio area.
PRICE RANGE
$225 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ka`ana boutique hotel san ignacio, hotel ka ana boutique
LOCATION
BelizeCayoSan Ignacio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KA'ANA RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Belize/San Ignacio)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ka'ana Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ka'ana Resort?
Nearby attractions include Xunantunich (3.6 miles), Green Iguana Conservation Project (3.0 miles), and Cahal Pech (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ka'ana Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ka'ana Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ka'ana Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ka'ana Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ka'ana Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cenaida's Belizean Food, Ko-Ox Han nah, and Guava Limb Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ka'ana Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Ka'ana Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Ka'ana Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ka'ana Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ka'ana Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ka'ana Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.