We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bella's Backpackers

Show Prices
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bella\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bella's is a great base to work out of for your San Ignacio adventures. The common areas are vast and welcome conversation, with a large kitchen, great dining table and couches, and an upstairs loft with 4-5 hammocks. The physical structure itself helps create and shape a really great community, one day 14 of us rented a van to Caracol...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AviAviAvi
Natasha S, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Avi! It's great to hear back from you, thanks for your review! We had such a good time with you and Yo! I really appreciated the energy you brought with you here. The communal dinners and social games were memorable! I hope you guys are still having a great time wherever you are. I wish you a bunch of...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you're a solo traveler looking for a cheap place to stay and socialize, Bella's might be for you. We were looking for a private, clean, comfortable and quiet place where we could rest after a long activity-filled day. This did not fit the bill. We stayed at Bella's for 5 nights in a 'private room' with private bath. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Natasha S, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry that your stay at Bella's Backpackers Cayo didn't fulfill your expectations. You are right on multiple points - for instance, the fact that the owner, Natasha, has been struggling with the aspects of online communication. She has been juggling an entire pile of spinning plates over the last few months - managing Bella's Backpackers, Bella's Farm while...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel owner and her daughters are very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. The atmosphere at the hostel is great, with guests spending a lot of time in the common area and getting to know each other. The place is clean, quiet and, at the same time, pretty close to the town center. The staff can help you figure out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wojciech K
San Diego, California
Reviewed December 10, 2016

I had seen some bad reviews about the owner of this place, but had a GREAT stay. the owner was not around that I know of, but the staff, Linda and Frank were AMAZING!!! Linda did our laundry and cooked for us and answered all of our questions about the busses and places to go. Frank even wheeled my friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joyfulsusan
Natasha S, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Susan, It's great that you loved our staff! We keep making improvements and are considering electric shower heads for the private bathrooms. Visit again sometime! Natasha

Reviewed December 4, 2016

My husband and I stayed in the private room for 3 nights. Apparently we got lucky and got the biggest room in the hostel. it was a 2 floor with private B.R and about 4 beds to choose from also with a private entry and a guard dog :) friendly with the guest though. Linda was very helpful , she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mildred G
Bella's B, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you for your review. Natasha

Reviewed November 17, 2016

I've spent 4 lovely days at this hostel during Christmas 2015. Robert was such a lovely host, very helpful and with lot of local knowledge. The staff prepared a christmas dinner for all backpackers in the hostel, which was very sweet of them. Needless to say we all had a great christmas evening even though we were all miles away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina F
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed November 16, 2016

We came from Caye Caulker (CC) to San Ignacio. On CC we stayed in another Bella's and over there things are very basic. We decided to give the Bella's franchise another try and were not disappointed at all. Dorms are top shelf and the whole place needs an award for design integrating naturals aspects. Then there's the rooftop balconies on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bas W
Natasha S, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry that the CC Bella's didn't fulfill all your expectations. It is currently under third-party management and we are trying to work with them to improve their services. I'm glad that you loved our own family-run hostel here in San Ignacio! Natasha

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed November 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the private rooms for three nights. Friendly staff and great location. I highly recommend it to anyone staying in the San Ignacio area. Linda is always willing to help you find tours and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ma_Carola22
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic time, Lenny and Emma were fantastic! I had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone passing through san Ignacio. Linda checked us in and she was very helpful with recommending tours and the ATM tour was amazing, do it with bling

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Kent
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

We were really disappointed with our stay at Bellas after reading all the great reviews. Upon arrival we were told that the lady checking us in didn't have the password to access the booking sheet so she'd already told the couple staying in the room we'd booked that they could stay an extra night. Our only option for the night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola M
Bella's B, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes unfortunately this happen as I left we had problems with the computer, however you where given your booked room the ever next day. As far as your stay goes I'm sorry you had such a bad experience and the missing pane of glass was replaced. The disturbance with the police was a personal matter...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
97 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lower Dover Field Station & Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 30 in San Ignacio
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#5 of 30 in San Ignacio
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bella's Backpackers hostel has both private w/private bath and semi private with shared bath. The dorms are a mix of semi-private connecting rooms with three to five beds per room. We have a centralized kitchen and social areas with comfy chill-out couch, hammocks, chairs, and a BBQ grill for your use. High speed wifi, nice people, communal dinners sometimes, hostel outings sometimes are offered. We have tour recommendations and courtesy bookings are possible. We are your base for your adventures while in San Ignacio with information about the rest of Belize. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Address: 4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Price Range: $24 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Bella's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella's Backpackers Belize/San Ignacio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bella's Backpackers staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bella's Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“try to land one of the upstairs lofts in the dorms, it offers a bit more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles AviAviAvi, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The upper level was really cool place to hang out on the hammocks”
 of 5 bubbles joyfulsusan, Dec 10, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the bottom floor were a bit more quiet, rooms upstairs were more outgoing.”
 of 5 bubbles 461hilaryh, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“I found all rooms I saw really charming.”
 of 5 bubbles th0mas28, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
“Sunlight poors into the windows in the early morning. The dormitory room with the windows gets bright around 6:00 am.”
 of 5 bubbles JennyTracy, Jun 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay