We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock Farm Guest House

Save
Share
Roaring River Drive, Belmopan POB219 Belize
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (146)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (6)

About

#3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Rock Farm offers spacious, clean, modern, air conditioned accommodation in a rural setting on the outskirts of Belmopan. Large peaceful grounds and a spectacular crystal clear river. Free pick up and drop off from the capital city. Free parking, free internet. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner available at extra cost. Rock Farm is the home of Belize Bird Rescue, avian rehabilitation centre and bird sanctuary. There are wild parrots flying free around the property and Rock Farm has an ever-expanding ebird listing of 142 birds, many of which can be seen from the spacious verandah. We are 10 minutes drive from the ATM Cave junction, 20 minutes drive to the Belize Zoo and Cave Tubing, the Blue Hole and St Herman's Caves, and less than an hour from spectacular waterfalls, Maya ruins and the beach at Hopkins, All in all, Rock Farm is the perfect location from which to explore the fascinating Cayo District and beyond.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Lazy river
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Photo copier / fax In business center
Valet parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Waterslide
Shuttle bus service
Rooftop terrace
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
114Reviews1Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mike l wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom62 contributions58 helpful votes
We had a great 6 nights at Rock Farm, Nikki and Jerry are wonderful hosts, we felt at home immediately. They arranged 3 trips out with lovely guide Jonathan, varied days birding, Mayan sites and natural areas. We stayed in one of the cabins in the garden, I do not believe the last review. Our cabin was clean and a large comfortable space. Something more was going on with that review. Nikki is dedicated to the bird rescue part and Jerry is just wonderful company. If you stay here you will have a unique and excellent trip. Could not recommend it more. All your money goes to support the bird rescue.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Kai’s wrote a review Dec 2019
Texas14 contributions9 helpful votes
First question I asked, “could you help us to visit some places in the area?”, and the reply was “that’ll be in your book in the room”. Okay...that’s a different way to start the trip. Unfortunately, I did a lot of research and this place did not live up to anywhere near the reviews that were on hotels.com or on trip advisor. I stayed in the “chalet” not the house so I can’t comment on that part. The folks living there seemed to be good people and the birds were an interesting part (but gross during breakfast). Anyway, the reason I’m writing this review is to put your expectations on the lower end and also for the mere fact the first night we slept in sheets that were obviously not cleaned, bugs were everywhere in the “chalet”, and then we were nickel and dimed to death
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RockFarmGH, Owner at Rock Farm Guest House
Responded Dec 8, 2019
I guess this is the sort of review that we can expect when guests try to leave without paying. You tried to go without paying for your room as well as your food and drink. Firstly, the first question that you asked was not about trips and tours, it was about where you could get something to eat. You had been delayed on the road for several hours due to a horrific accident and you were 'starving'. Your answer was that dinner had just been served at the hotel and you were welcome to eat that. You were also told of several other restaurants nearby. You were not coerced in any way to eat at the hotel. You ate this dinner, and went back for seconds. It was also not spaghetti and Cambell's soup, it was Linguine with a chicken and mushroom sauce. The chicken was freshly cooked along with broccoli, bell peppers, onion and and fresh mushrooms. Cambell's mushroom soup was used as a thickener. (as is done in many restaurants) You also helped yourself to the fresh salad. After this you also had dessert which was a freshly baked Spice Cake with cream and Caramel Sauce. During this evening, we went out of our way to make a after hours personal call to the NICH authorities to obtain government permission for you to enter the ATM caves the next morning. We did not charge you anything for doing this for you. Your comment about us telling you to read the hotel guide is a best a gross distortion of the facts. We do have an extensive hotel guide that we encourage ALL guests to read. It lists everything about the hotel, its surroundings, nearby restaurants, and all the tours which we know of in the surrounding area. (There are lots of tours available) We do not and have never charged for arranging tours for guests. As for your second point about unclean sheets, you went to bed inebriated, I very much doubt that you would have inspected the sheets in the intoxicated state that you were in. Your room was cleaned the morning before you checked in, and clean sheets were on your bed. Your sheets were also changed whilst you stayed with us. I also dispute your point about nickel and diming. There are signs everywhere in the hotel that list our prices. I am amazed that you thought that you can just eat for free in a restaurant and drink for free in a licenced premises. There is a sign on the fridge where you helped yourself to soft drinks that says that we operate on an honesty bar basis. There was a pad where the guests write down what they have to drink. There is a price list right there by the pad. There is a price list in your room. You were also told by myself that you had to write down what you took yourself to drink. Everyone else did so, but I noticed you did not and so wrote down what I saw you drink. (I went to bed leaving you still drinking, so you were only charged for the drinks I wrote down, I know that you had several more that you were not charged for.) Oh, and we do not charge $3 per rum drink, we charge $2.50. You were also not charged for all the mixers that you put in your rum. And then there was your other untrue statement about other guests staying away from evening meals. They didn't. You ate dinner with several of them. I can easily get them to write and confirm this as some of them are still here. The next morning you had difficulty rising, and wanted to pull out of going on your trip. This was despite us pulling strings to get you after hours permission to go and a tour guide being hired to take you. You were also not charged for the transportation to the tour site meeting point. And as for you calling the birds gross. You say that you did a lot of research before you came here. And yet the simple fact that you were going to a bird sanctuary as well as an Avian rescue and rehab centre somehow escaped you? And I am also astounded that you find bees gross. They were a black bee that is stingless and harmless. I am sure that if I had sprayed your food with insecticide it would have been more gross. We have to live with nature as we are in the tropics and the jungle. (And there were not any flies). The bees like fresh cut fruit, which you ordered for breakfast. And how many of them were there? Six? Eight? There is also the simple fact that you liked to keep your verandah lights on throughout the night despite it saying in the hotel brochure that bright lights attract insects. It was left on every night you stayed. The room you stayed in is also 100% screened and the only way you would get bugs in your room is by leaving the the lights on at night and kept the door open. Then, I agree, you will get bugs fly in, we can't help it, it is what happens in the bush. But the questions that remain are. If it was so disgusting, why did you stay four nights when you had paid nothing in advance? Why did you not make a single complaint to the management whist you were here?
Read more
Lovintheworld17 wrote a review Nov 2019
Boston, MA448 contributions105 helpful votes
I have been traveling to Belmopan for work for over 2 years now. I previously had to stay where I was told, but this trip I was able to book independently. I picked Rock Farm and I have to say, it was far and away better than anything I could have expected. This is a family style place - You'll interact with Nikki and Jerry (and everyone else) - You will have the opportunity to learn about Belize, the bird rescue, and be surrounded by pure beauty. The room was absolutely perfect - Large, (hilariously large, in fact) clean, fresh, cool... Totally comfortable after a day of work. The amenities are as basic or as comprehensive as you'd like. For us, we really appreciated being able to order home cooked dinners and breakfasts each day we didn't feel like going out (which
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RockFarmGH, Owner at Rock Farm Guest House
Responded Nov 20, 2019
This has to be one of the most comprehensive reviews that we have ever received on Tripadvisor. And we have to say that it made us feel very happy that we were able to get things right for your stay with us. I have printed it out and put it on the noticeboard downstairs so everyone can read it and feel good about what they did to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it, the reviews we get do help us more than you could imagine. Best regards Jerry
Read more
JenniferGreencat wrote a review Oct 2019
Spring Hill, Florida9 contributions1 helpful vote
If you are into seeing toucans fly around while you sip your morning coffee on a veranda... you will most likely love this place. Hosts are quite congenial ad the cause to help birds survive is a worthy one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RockFarmGH, Owner at Rock Farm Guest House
Responded Nov 20, 2019
Thank you so much for your review. I know it is sometimes hard to find the time to write them, but they really do help us as well as future guests. It was also a nice change to be called congenial rather than a grumpy old ****, so thank you very much for that! The Toucans are all still alive and well and visiting us daily. Best regards Jerry
Read more
MaayanLior wrote a review Oct 2019
Tel Aviv, Israel605 contributions98 helpful votes
+1
You must stay at Rock Farm, don’t hesitate. We booked at the beginning just 1 night however we had so much fun therefore we decided to stay another night. The owners are so friendly and kind people. They did everything they can in order to arrange our tours. They gave us a ride to the pickup point, and made sure the tour guide will drop us at the hotel when we finish. They prepared delicious food a lot of food for breakfast and dinner and it can include alcoholic beverages if you like. We had lovely conversations with them and with the rest if the guests during breakfast and dinner, it was fun to met new people. They established rescue-center for birds on site. Therefore you might get the chance to watch some unique beautiful birds they treat before they release them
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RockFarmGH, Owner at Rock Farm Guest House
Responded Oct 15, 2019
This is such a lovely review and I have shared it with all the staff. Not only do these reviews help future travellers, but they also help our staff in a very positive manner. So there are smiles all around at Rock Farm this morning. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for coming to Belize in the low season where we all need some travellers to help out! Safe travels.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BelizeCayoBelmopan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing