We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Seaside Guest House

06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Seaside Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of Seaside Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

This place is infested with disgusting bed bugs and the owners know it but do not care. It is old filthy house and by no means an acceptable form of paid accommodation. DO NOT stay here even as a last resort - you will regret it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle G
Austin, Texas
Reviewed January 22, 2017

Unless you want an infestation of bed bugs biting you at night and coming home in your luggage, please save yourself and go somewhere else. We found bed bugs in the mattress in room 5. When we told the owner. Her answer was, "yes I know, that's why we put another mattress on top of it." For everyone reading this,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank db0wer
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

We booked this simply because we wanted to book something for one evening before we went on to the islands. So dirty and dark and hot and I'm pretty sure my sheets weren't washed and got bitten my bugs. The lady who checked us in was pretty cool but the whole place didn't have a nice vibe and was way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katiesarahd
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed July 3, 2016

This was the first place I visited in Belize, I arrived very early off a bus from Cancun and didn't feel very safe when I arrived. I wish I had taken a photo as the photos on here make it seem clean and like it has been freshly painted. The floors and walls are wooden but the felt dirty, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abbie C
Oakland, California
Reviewed June 6, 2016

My friend booked our stay at the Seaside, so I arrived without any prior information or internet research. The guesthouse is easily accessible, right across the swinging bridge with a great view of the water. True to other reviews, the house is an older glory, but it still has charm and character. I loved the upstairs porch with hammocks and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Treegrapes
Reviewed May 1, 2016

Upon arrival, the main host, Mitch, was drunk as a skunk. He had no record of our reservations that we had made, and insisted that we pay cash because he owed money to some other people and needed the cash. He then kept pressuring us to buy some leftover ceviche they had made the night before. He bickered with some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
Driehuis, The Netherlands
Reviewed April 27, 2016

The guesthouse is within walking distance of most points of interest in Belize, particularly the San Pedro Boat Terminal to Caye Caulker, Sand Pedro and beyond. It's a two-story house that has all the facilities you need: a shared kitchen, fridge with utensils that you can use. My room had 3 beds of only one was in use during my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timnij
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 30, 2016

The staff here are very friendly and made me feel right at home. Going out of their way to take me to places to buy food and provide important information for travel throughout Belize. The house itself is a traditional old fashioned Caribbean style wood frame house, which has seen better days but I found it charming whilst a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AblazeRich
Carlsbad, California
Reviewed January 27, 2016 via mobile

Although everyone who worked here was friendly the guesthouse itself is pretty disgusting and overpriced. Bed bugs, broken window, holes in the bathroom so you can see the floor below, dirty sheets, and to top it off..$50US a night!! I can deal with a dirty hostel/guesthouse if that's what I'm paying for but for $50 a night I do have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grecia A
hurricane4mitch, Owner at Seaside Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Friend, As the owner of Seaside I am saddened and disappointed that you did not have the best experience here at our family run guesthouse in the historic colonial district of our quaint Belizean City. I am sorry that you did not find the conditions up to par but we strive every day to improve on our standards with...

Reviewed September 8, 2015

I booked this hotel on my first night to Belize from the glowing reports in the Lonely Planet Guide. Not the best arrival. Extremely intimidating. There was a big dispute with another guest and the front garden was full of trash. Arguments continued threw out the night. Though the manager/owner "A" tries to coast over the obvious problems with the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.1 mi away
Coningsby Inn
Coningsby Inn
#18 of 26 in Belize City
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belcove Hotel
Belcove Hotel
#9 of 26 in Belize City
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Sombra Guest House
Bella Sombra Guest House
#7 of 26 in Belize City
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
La Milpa Lodge
#4 of 16 in Belize City
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#10 of 26 in Belize City
38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We accommodate backpack travelers from all over the world..... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Seaside Guest House

Address: 3 Prince Street, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Seaside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Guest House Hotel Belize City
Seaside Guest House Belize/Belize City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seaside Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“flirt with owner”
AblazeRich, Mar 30, 2016 | Read review
“There are none”
waferb, May 3, 2015 | Read review
“Go for the dorms if you are on a budget...”
Z1839RXjohnt, Feb 9, 2014 | Read review
“No tips. Just don't go.”
vancitybabe22, Jan 22, 2014 | Read review
“Just don't choose a room here. Go to the Cayes!!!”
wanderingfeet24, Jan 13, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates