We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6 Miles North PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye Belize
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1116)
Room & Suite (588)
Pool & Beach (267)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#12 of 62 hotels in San Pedro
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
We are Gold Standard certified for Health and Safety. Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Free airport transportation
Facial treatments
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Fishing
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
919Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 675
  • 145
  • 62
  • 25
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
FlannerySafran wrote a review Nov 2022
Toronto, Canada17 contributions27 helpful votes
Some of the staff here were really nice, but this place is old and has seen better days. The front desk messed up the time for our tour and they left with out us. There were holes in our bathroom towels. We were left with no toilet paper. The a/c died in the middle of the night. The WiFi never worked. I’m shocked that most of the reviews are so high. For us overall it was a sub par experience. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: I would avoid this spot
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Julie S wrote a review Nov 2022
7 contributions
You are forced to relax here and leave your troubles behind. The bed was amazingly comfortable. Being able to walk out of our cabana and be steps from the pool, a massage, the Caribbean Sea or the restaurant and bar was perfect! Plus, any excursions from a trip to town by golf cart or diving/fishing/snorkeling can be done right from the resort. Th entire staff was phenomenal! So professional and ready to assist you in any way. It was a true vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: It will feel like your personal little resort if you let it. You will be forced to relax and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Justin F wrote a review Nov 2022
Pocatello, Idaho1083 contributions168 helpful votes
+1
This property is small but so amazing! The rooms were clean and comfortable and excellence service from the staff. It does take a while to get here from Belize City, the boat transfer from San Pedro is about 30 mins.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lawmomx4 wrote a review Oct 2022
texas31 contributions67 helpful votes
Once again, Portofino staff made everything so very special and super easy. One of us kept having scheduling conflicts and they were so very kind in arranging and rearranging for us. As always Roberto and the dive shop helped us make lifetime memories. This was a graduation trip for my grandson and when offered anywhere he wanted to go he wanted to return to Portofino! Can't wait for the next trip!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bruce S wrote a review Sep 2022
Clovis, California97 contributions18 helpful votes
We were staying at a beautiful private property just down the road a couple of miles and this place was our go to eatery when we weren’t in town. One of the few open restaurants during the slow season this far out north. Excellent food and James our waiter was great, he served us a number of times. Beautiful property, we would definitely stay there if we weren’t at our current property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nicole K wrote a review Sep 2022
The Colony, Texas1 contribution
If you’re into personalized service and amazing food, this is the place for you! The superb staff learned our names when we arrived and never forgot them all week. I normally get tired of the “resort food” by day 3, but not here. We ate most of our meals here and enjoyed the fresh food and amazing flavors in every single one. Rent a golf cart and you’re a 30 min ride to town with a plethora of dining and shopping options. On-site dive shop made it easy to book our excursions when we got there. “No” was never an answer; when I inquired about a same day massage, Mark called the massage therapist who was already gone for the day to see if she would return for me that afternoon. And she did! Flowers, Mark, Gianni, Alfred, James, Roberto and Chocolate made our trip impeccable and we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Portofino Management, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2022
Hi Nicole, Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at Portofino Beach Resort. Our staff are always more motivated when they read reviews like these. Thanks and have safe travels further. Sincerely, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jodi T wrote a review Sep 2022
Simpsonville, South Carolina11 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
This was our 4th trip to AC and first time staying at this resort. We had been there for a dinner on a previous trip and looked like a great place to stay. All of the staff was amazing ! Flowers picked us up at the airport by golf cart & brought us to the resort. 😊 We were greeted by Mark who does a fantastic job we were picked up by Flowers by golf cart & greeted by Mark Plus a complimentary drink to enjoy 😊 We stayed in the treetop room called Sunflower. Great view and large room ! The AC worked Very well and enjoyed coming back to a cool room after an outing in the sun. The resort is well kept up, the grounds are beautiful, they work very hard to keep the Sargassum cleaned up but is a continual problem on the entire island. The dive shop has what you need and will set up any tours that you want to go on. Dilson was fun to talk to and Roberto was doing several dive certifications with several couple while we were there and everyone said they were great ! We rented fins & took the kayak out to the reef a couple times & snorkeled around & were able to see a barracuda & lots of fish. The food was amazing. I do not eat seafood so unfortunately was limited on the menu but my husband enjoyed so much snapper & other great seafood pretty much every day. The continental breakfast was nice & you can upgrade to other breakfast meals for $8. It was NOT mostly Italian food on the menu like was stayed in another review. We also enjoyed using the bicycle that they provide and rode into town one day & stopped at the truck stop for some really good ice cream ! We also rode the other direction one day & explored different resorts & bars If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, chill stay with a great restaurant and out of town a good ways….. this is for you ! We really had NO regrets or complains. We had a massage on the beach one day that was amazing ! We met some great people & enjoyed having others around but yet still very quiet & not crowded. We enjoyed walking 2 min to the Moon bar twice for pizza and beer. 😊. Great pizza a cute place. My husband went spear fishing with a great tour guy & brought back some fish & the chef cooked them for us for dinner. Was awesome. The only thing I was kinda creeped out about is the Sunflower room has a large thatched room and a large awesome balcony to sit with a perfect view over the pool & water BUT there is also a family of fruit bats that live in the top of that area (outside over the porch, not inside the room) & I really do not like bats & after a few days we discovered them & sitting out there had a different feeling or walking in & out as they were flying around 😳😳. Also would find small fruit & droppings in the floor right in front of the door in the mornings. So maybe try to get the other treehouse room Jasmine because I could not see any on that roof. Overall a GREAT experience and would definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Portofino Management, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2022
Hi Jodi, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you had a great experience with us at Portofino Beach Resort. It is reviews like this that keep us motivated and determined in delivering exceptional service for all of our guests. Thanks and we wish you safe travels further. Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
taliward wrote a review Jul 2022
Warwick, United Kingdom1528 contributions447 helpful votes
+1
Portofino We arrived early with Maya Air. It's like a bus service here and so if there's space on the next flight you're on it! As we were a surprise early arrival, we were really lucky Moh from Portofino was already there and could organise a taxi for us to the hotel. San Pedro looked really busy and it was jammed with golf carts and it was nice to get out. It was a 20 minute trip to the hotel. Those who'd travelled by golf cart said it was bumpy! When we left there were 6 couples leaving and we were lucky enough to get the boat back which was a great experience. We had a warm welcome from Mark on reception who helped us with everything from an issue we had with our safe to booking our covid tests for our return trip. ROOM We were allocated cabana no.8 which was just 8 steps from the pool via the sandy path. The room was a decent size with a large bathroom and AC plus fans. The room was a little dark and it felt like we were back in the jungle decor wise but we loved it. The outside deck has two chairs and a hammock with little table. It's a little tight and not very private and so a better room choice would be one of the named rooms like seahorse which has its own deck. There was also a bit of noise between the rooms too and so not the best for light sleepers. The bed came with a mosquito net and was very comfortable. There was a safe in the bathroom, two bottles of water (once empty, these can be refilled at the bar), a hairdryer, plenty of hangers and drawer space and toiletries (locally made soap, body wash, shampoo and conditioner all in small pots in the shower). The shower cubicle could do with re-grouting and our chairs in the living area were a little old and where buttons has come off, there were a few rough pieces LLP of what felt like metal. I think other rooms may have had some newer chairs. LOCATION We spotted lots of beautiful birds and some people spotted crocs on site. We didn't spot anything we didn't want to and loved the setting. Location wise you need a golf cart or alternative to get around independently but as we were there for just 3 nights, we had one full day relaxing and the other was spent on a full day boat trip and so we had no reason to leave. You can hire a golf cart at the hotel and so no need to worry about this at the airport. We did take a walk along the beach both ways which was nice. There isn't much going on in the evening and so after dinner it's back to the room. We never usually watch TV on holiday but did here as they had Netflix we could log in to. There was a very tiny souvenir section in the hotel reception but otherwise there is nothing else. So it was nice to see a lady on the beach first thing selling reasonably priced souvenirs. FOOD The food was good and we dined here all three evenings. The house wine was not good and so we stuck to cocktails and rum! We saw people buying bottles on consecutive nights and so we assumed that was good. I am vegetarian and they had a special vegan menu which was amazing.....we'd not had this on our travels and so a big plus. It's not only for dinner but for breakfast and lunch too. The staff here were lovely. The entire experience felt like we were at a private resort as we got to know people well and the staff. It is such a happy and relaxing place to be. Everyone was so warm, welcoming and really friendly, we were sad to leave this place as it did feel a bit like home. The neighbouring property is owned by Anna and Thomas who were also welcoming and so nice to talk to. Thanks to Joel, Michelle, Georgia, Jason, Joel, James, Louis and Alex for looking after us and making us feel as feel so welcome. Thing to do We took the day trip out to Hol Chan, Shark Ray Alley and Caye Caulker with Russell. What an incredible day! We left in the morning around 9:30am and got back around 4pm and had the most memorable time. Partly because the journey back was incredibly bumpy! But the highlight was Shark Ray Alley which was just a wonderful experience swimming with about 20 or so nurse sharks. The restaurant at Caye Caulker was really reasonable, had a nice vibe and tasty food overlooking the sea. We then walked back up the high street to the boat, via the shops and ice-cream parlour. It was nice being able to go from the hotel jetty and I could recommend the experience. We also enjoyed a nice massage by the sea with Sedora (I'm so sorry I'm 99.9% certain I have spelt your name wrong) and found it to be great value. Sea When we visited mid May they were suffering from sargassum. Every day the workers cleared the beach but it wasn't swimmable. It did leave a slight smell and levels of sargassum didn't seem to be lessening but it does clear eventually. We loved it despite this and the water further out was just beautiful. We absolutely loved our time here and look back with very happy memories. I would recommend this place to family and friends without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a room with your own deck - one of the named rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Portofino Management, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2022
Hi taliward, Thank you for such a detail review. We appreciate your feedback very much and will share with our team who is always excited to read guests reviews. We are thrilled that you had a great experience with us at Portofino. Thanks Safe Travels, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alyosha666 wrote a review Jul 2022
Chicago, Illinois448 contributions130 helpful votes
This was my first trip to Ambergris and indeed my first trip to Belize. So despite copious amounts of research to find hotels and activities that fit my personality and budget, I expected to get some things wrong. My stay at Portofino occurred on the heels of 10 days in the jungle in Belize where everything was wonderful. But Portofino, and pretty much Ambergris Caye, was a total miss! While everything was neat and clean and most of the staff was friendly, Portofino was just kinda meh. The room: I booked the honeymoon suite. It had a great view with a wonderful balcony and I got it at a discount, which was the clincher in booking. The furniture was awkward, and the room was also so large that it had loads of empty space with nothing in it. This made using the air probably that much more expensive for the hotel when their bills come due. The room had fans but they were obstructed by the mosquito net on the bed. When shown the room, they seemed pretty impressed to show us it had a nice tv. We hadn’t seen a tv in ten days and had assumed hotels just didn’t have them. Even if you wanted to watch it, it was awkwardly placed and would make viewing impossible from the couch or uncomfortable from the bed. The tv isn’t important here—but it seemed a mark of an underlying “whatever...” vibe the hotel had. Bathroom: was clean and offered shampoo and bath products in little wooden bowls—which I liked. But the bathroom had no doors and was huge. If they put a door on the bathroom, it might help to keep the room cool. Meals: this was where the hotel, despite having a chef that can clearly cook, fell short. Why oh WHY are they serving loads of Italian dishes???? Nearly everything on the dinner menu was Italian. Who comes to Belize to eat Italian food??? They also had steak specials on Friday. On an island that has no livestock, who would even order a steak??? It seemed to be an attempt to appeal to the most common denominator American tourist. Thankfully lobster season arrived and we had that for two nights with…you guessed it: pasta. Pool: was seemingly salt water. It had a lovely deep 7 foot end which was nice because the beach was unswimmable due to sargassum. The seating around the pool was nice and offered both sun and shade and although people brought drinks poolside, no one seemed to be in charge of picking up the used drink glasses. I watched them pile up one day. Each chair had about 2-4 glasses next to it. Location: I really made some big assumptions here when booking. Like that we could easily get a cart and get to town regularly. We did rent a cart for a day, but it took so long to get to town that going back and forth just seemed exhausting. And going to dinner elsewhere was off the table because returning on the potholed road in the dark just seemed like a recipe for disaster. Dive shop: this was the most unpleasant part of the trip. The shop seemed to be headed by a man who had little regard for actually booking excursions. If we were a group of 6, I guess they would have fallen all over themselves to help us; but we were a group of two. I had intended to dive one day and then we also wanted to snorkel to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley another day. The lackadaisical boathouse dude needs some pointers on how to organize the boathouse with regular trips. We were there and willing to pay money to do stuff. I didn’t expect anyone to bend over backwards, but hey—at least pretend to do your job. If they regularly had on offer trips (Monday Mexico Rocks, Tuesday Shark ray, etc), people would sign up for them. Instead, they wait for people to ask; it’s unlikely that all the couples at the hotel will arrive together to ask about a trip. Our only other option was to rent a cart, drive into town, find a new diveshop, organize a trip, and return the next day for said trip. Given that we were only on Ambergris for 4 days, this was not what I had planned. So we ended up nixing the dive, and paying $300US to the crappy onsite dive shop for a boat and guide to take just the two of us to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley (our guide was great and we had a good time). But chances are at least one other couple would have gone with if they had known. Either offer dive/snorkel trips in an easy-to-book way that makes sense FOR THE GUESTS, or just close up the dive shop. On the dive shop experience alone, I would not recommend this hotel. This place looks like it COULD be a really great place—if they revamped their menu and trusted their talented chefs to cook Belizean dishes; if they revamped their diveshop experience; if they did some refreshing of tired room décor and furniture. Overall, this hotel wasn’t awful, but I would not book this hotel again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Portofino Management, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2022
Alyosha66, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us; we really appreciate your feedback. We strive to ensure that all our rooms are kept neat and clean as per our highest standard. We have one of the friendless staff here in San Pedro, and yes, we do have a talented chef in our kitchen. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us; did not meet your expectations in areas such as furniture expectations, spacious room, no door in the bathroom, and menu expectation. Rest assure we are continuously improving our rooms and developing our service and will definitely take your suggestions into consideration. As a matter of fact, we have completed so much renovation on structures in the past 3 months. In regards to our dinner menu we are constantly upgrading and trying more innovative ideas. As you may have seen we also have a wide selection of fresh seafood options. Our Food and Beverage Manager has reviewed your restaurant feed back and will take into consideration with her planning and development. As for, the dive shop, the resort does not have immediate management control, as the dive shop is separately owned; however, we have inform the management of the dive shop and they have taken your comments into consideration. Once again, thank you for your feedback; and we would love the opportunity to exceed your expectation next time Safe Travels, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guide552868 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Loved our stay at Portifino. Staff was great and the guided snorkel tours were amazing. Also liked being a bit removed from town. We rented a golf cart (seems like a must) and had fun riding in to town when we wanted. The sea grass issue is a bit of a bummer all over San Pedro, as you don't often just get into the water. But I wouldn't let that stop you. We stayed in Colonial Suites, which was perfect for a family of 3 (or 4).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Portofino Management, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2022
Hi Guide552868, We are very happy you enjoyed your much needed family vacation. Thank you for sharing your experience and we wish you safe travels further.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$214 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
portofino hotel san pedro, portofino san pedro
LOCATION
BelizeBelize CayesAmbergris CayeSan Pedro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PORTOFINO BEACH RESORT - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews (Belize/Ambergris Caye)

Frequently Asked Questions about Portofino Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Portofino Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Secret Beach (3.9 miles), Belizean Melody Art Gallery (4.2 miles), and Feliz Bar & Grill (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Portofino Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Portofino Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Portofino Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Portofino Beach Resort?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Portofino Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Garage Seafood & Steakhouse, Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant, and Marbucks Coffee House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Portofino Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Portofino Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Portofino Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Portofino Beach Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Ambergris Caye.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Portofino Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Portofino Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.