We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avon Old Farms Hotel

Save
Share
279 Avon Mountain Rd, Avon, CT 06001-3942
Lowest prices for your stay
$143
$107
View Deal
SAVE $36
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
$143
$106
View Deal
SAVE $37
Free cancellation until 06/16/21
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Official Hotel$143
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (85)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (10)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Avon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Table tennis
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
442Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 146
  • 146
  • 74
  • 39
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
T.S. wrote a review Jan 3
New London, Connecticut9 contributions2 helpful votes
We had our dream wedding here in September of 2018. Gale made it happen and all come together so beautifully! Her staff was wonderful, kind, and helpful. They went out of their way to make it such a special, smooth weekend. We are forever grateful for everything they did! Also, their Sunday brunch buffet is the BEST!!! THANK YOU!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Bernard wrote a review Oct 2020
Brooklyn, New York9 contributions2 helpful votes
The customer service I received at this hotel exceeded every expectation I had. From the moment we arrived the staff did everything they could to accommodate us. When Patricia found out what we wanted to see, she had printed out directions, with tips, to help us plan our weekend. The receptionist actually moved our room (at my request) to a building where we were the only guests. That was wonderful. Seriously, they could not have been nicer. Also, they are following every COVID guideline and they're wipes and hand sanitizer everywhere. It's hard to be critical when the staff is so nice but it was not the most comfortable hotel. While the backyard was very peaceful and the shared spaces nice and sometimes even charming, the rooms themselves are small. I wish I had a desk! Also, the WIF is poor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
411evanh wrote a review Aug 2020
Forest Hills, New York80 contributions76 helpful votes
My son and I spent 1 night on our way to NH in early July and liked it so much we spent 2 nights here in late August on our way back from Boston. The hotel is pretty quaint and has a very nice outdoor pool, which was one of the reasons we originally chose the Avon Old Farms. Pool area is clean and there are abundant chairs/lounges and no social distancing issues. We didn't ever try the hotel restaurant because there are a number of nice restaurants within a 5-10 minute car ride. (Plus the restaurant was not open for breakfast during the weekdays.) The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable.. Its not a 5-star property, so don't expect that and you'll enjoy your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
John P wrote a review Aug 2020
10 contributions2 helpful votes
i booked a room yesterday (thursday) am for last night. When arrived the front desk woman told me there was no reservation and no rooms available, although she held in her hand a reservation with my name on it. she incredulously asked “who did you speak with?” as if i would know the woman’s name who took the reservation. she then insisted that my reservation was for 2 days ago, until i showed her my cell phone proving i had called that morning. she then called her manager who suggested she offer us two small rooms that are usually offered to guests, and then had the nerve to try and charge us more than the cost of our original reservation. when we got to these two rooms they were disgusting. first neither window AC unit worked (that’s right window units), the chairs were stained and filthy, the pillow cases and sheets were ripped, the room stunk of god knows what, but the worst was candy and wrapper, chewed by a mouse or some other animal, all over the sheets. gross! after seeing the rooms we immediately checked out. it was about 10 pm and we had no where to stay. the front desk did nothing in the way of finding us a alternative accommodations nearby. no apologies. nothing. we weren’t the only guests with issues. as we were standing at the desk waiting for the woman to figure out how to resolve their mistake, two other guests told the desk that the fuse had blown in their rooms, they had no AC, and hoping the hotel could provide them a fan. the exterior grounds are clean but as you walk to the rooms the place is worn and not well maintained. old window AC units. horrible customer service. most disgusting hotel room ever been in. do yourself a favor and avoid this place, it’s an outdated dump with rude staff suggesting you made reservations for a date that already passed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky LaCapria, Guest Services / Front Office at Avon Old Farms Hotel
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Hello John, I can see your experience with us was not favorable. I appreciate you speaking with me on the phone so I could understand just how this happened. When tropical storm Isaias came through our area our hotel lost power as so many of our neighbors did. We were fortunate that power was restored in less than 2 days as many people remained without power for several days beyond. With our systems down we were working to catch up on two days worth of night audits and paperwork so that our operating system would finally be caught up to the current day. Simultaneously we were fielding calls from hundreds of local residents desperately seeking somewhere to stay while their power remained out. As you noted you were one of the many that call us first thing in the morning to make a reservation. An error was made where our system was still showing the 4th when your intended date for the reservation was the 6th. Although the question came off incredulous, that was not our intent. The front desk agent was only hoping to call the person who made the reservation, looking for some clarification. As your arrival was late into the evening we had been in contact with all the local hotels through out the day and we knew their occupancy was full. Certainly it would have been beneficial to relay this information to you. It put us in a tough situation as we knew there were no other rooms in the local area. As you stated we did offer you two of our economy rooms, which are typically not rented. At the time of this offer we did not know the error that had been made earlier in the day and we made the reservation at a discounted rate but more than your original booking. That being said, as I did many times on the phone with you, I apologize on the issues you experienced in these rooms and with the error that was made in booking your reservation. Although the power was restored to the hotel much of the area remained without power and the power lines seemed to experience surges as we did have fuses blowing and intermittent internet for several days. Unfortunately these issues were beyond our control.
Read more
Stephen G wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
Looks great and wonderful but don't be fooled. The front entry is very nice. If you are placed in the annex be prepared for your worst hotel experience of your life! Room literally stinks of mold, our toilet was not functioning properly, ac unit is 40-50 years old, old beds with thick mattress toppers, minimal pillows...the list goes on and on! Staff was not helpful besides from the person who tried to help with our toilet issues...said we just had to “jiggle the handle”! How does a hotel without a properly functioning toilet receive a 4.4 rating? The front desk agent told us “nothing” was open despite a sprawling (open) strip on rt.10 and the charming Avon Village. I cant get the smell of this place out of my nose...you've been warned!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky LaCapria, Guest Services / Front Office at Avon Old Farms Hotel
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Hi Stephen, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It looks like you stayed with us when the power was out from the recent storm. Our hotel had power restored much sooner than many of the other businesses around us, so I apologize that when the day began there was almost no other restaurants or shops with power- I'm glad you ventured out and discovered that power had come back to areas around us. I can see that there were issues with your stay and for that I apologize. We value all guests comments both positive and negative and I will certainly address the issues with your room with ownership.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
avon ct hotel avon old farms
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutAvon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Avon Old Farms Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Avon Old Farms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Avon Old Farms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Avon Old Farms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avon Old Farms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Max a Mia, Seasons Restaurant & Tap Room, and The Elephant Trail.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Avon Old Farms Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Avon Old Farms Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Avon.
Are any cleaning services offered at Avon Old Farms Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Avon Old Farms Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Avon Old Farms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Avon Old Farms Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Drake Hill Flower Bridge (4.6 miles).
Is Avon Old Farms Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.