We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Atwater

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (116)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Originally opened in 1920, Hotel Atwater was the first hotel built by the Catalina Island Company under the ownership of William Wrigley Jr., who named the hotel after Helen Atwater Wrigley, wife of his son Philip Knight Wrigley. Today, the newly-renovated Hotel Atwater features a clean, elegant design that blends ocean-inspired finishes with hints of exotic Art Deco to create a relaxed ambiance that stays true to the hotel’s historic beginnings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles151 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Hotel Atwater has received mixed feedback from its guests. While its central location near piers and Main Street is highly praised, some visitors feel that the rooms don't justify the cost, describing them as cramped and sometimes lacking in cleanliness. The staff's friendliness and helpfulness stand out, although there have been occasional comments about inconsistent service. The hotel's atmosphere strikes a balance between elegance and casual comfort, and while the amenities are generally appreciated, especially the complimentary offerings and convenience of on-site bookings, guests have pointed out some discrepancies.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Helpful
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
151Reviews21Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 109
  • 23
  • 11
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Bryan S wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I will never go back to this hotel. The rooms are overpriced and incredibly cramped. The noise outside is constantly an issue and they have no coffee maker in the rooms?! The lobby looks nice but is definitely a cover up for the terrible rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalina Island Company, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded 3 weeks ago
We're disappointed to see this review. If you would like to discuss your experience with the management team, feel free to reach out at social@scico.com. We appreciate the opportunity to improve the guest experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Darrell Eisman wrote a review Aug 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5-Stars for Hotel Atwater. August 2022 was the second year in a row here at the hotel, and just can't say enough about how warm, guest friendly and accommodating is the staff. We can hardly wait to return next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalina Island Company, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded Aug 28, 2022
Blackfeather1, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Sherry P wrote a review Mar 2024
West Linn, Oregon1100 contributions301 helpful votes
Perfect hotel to explore all that the charming village of Avalon has to offer! This hotel exceeded all expectations in every way. Well-maintained, exceptionally clean, lovely public spaces, large rooms with comfy beds & pillows. Our room was very quiet and the shower was fabulous. We appreciated the complimentary toiletries (shampoo, body wash, conditioner, body lotion, make-up removal pads & Q-tips) as well as the bottles of water. Coffee was offered every morning until 7am. I was disappointed to find no offerings for tea drinkers. We found the staff very friendly & helpful. The only exception was the lack of knowledge about the 15% discount offered to Hotel Atwater guests for kayak rentals at the Descanso Beach Club. Fortunately, the staff at Descanso Beach Club were aware of the discount and graciously applied the discount for our kayak rental. The hotel is within walking distance of the Ferry dock and was easy to access with our luggage. To acknowledge our wedding anniversary, the staff placed chocolates and a bottle of champagne for our enjoyment. We loved our 4 night stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stacey R wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
From my family and I step foot into the Atwater Hotel the welcome was professional. The hotel lobby area was clean including the rooms. The front desk staffs were helpful with booking tours and explained everything in a professional manner. Marissa H at the front desk is an amazing person she goes above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Catalina island. Simple the best….. thank you Hotel Atwater for an amazing stay on the island for the first time I will be back (in Arnold voice).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mattie Gibbons, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that Marissa and our front desk staff went above and beyond expectations. We can't wait to welcome you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ashley S wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
I will never return to this money hungry hotel. My family thought it would be nice to try this place out but they are very deceptive and way overpriced. There are better hotels for the value. The resort fees are a complete joke and the rooms are incredibly stuffy and cramped. Definitely regret staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bedsheets had blood stains
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mattie Gibbons, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded Mar 6, 2024
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. If you're willing, please email social@scico.com so that a manager may reach out to learn more about your visit and we have a chance to improve the guest experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jessica W wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
While the hotel itself is nice, they have deceptive customer service practices. We purchased three nights during the offseason, as we do every year. We had a family emergency come up and had to cut our trip short. The front desk feigned to be accommodating and offered to not charge us for the third night. Turns out the price we received for our room included a “free third night” which we can’t take advantage of because of the emergency. The cost for two night in the off season was 900 which is far too much for two nights in February on the island. It would cost the hotel nothing to credit us a third night and ensure a return visit. Instead, they kept our money in a vulnerable situation and ensured that next year we will not return to their location. They have poor and short sighted business practices. 100% do not recommend. Go with the Zane Gray, or truly any other hotel. We will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mattie Gibbons, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded Feb 23, 2024
We regret to see that you were unhappy with your recent check out experience and are sorry you were unable to take advantage of our third night complimentary promotion. Because the third night was not paid for we are unable to credit you for another stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jim B wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I highly recommend this upscale property due to location and outstanding accommodations. This was our first trip to Catalina Island. As we disembarked the ferry boat, we were greeted by a hotel representative who relieved us of our luggage and pointed us in the direction for a short stroll to the hotel. All the staff were personable, knowledgeable and friendly. Honorable mention goes to Aysh Alouck and Kamryn Luis-Karch who's outstanding service warrants mention.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mattie Gibbons, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded Feb 9, 2024
Jim B, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Hotel Atwater!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Freedom631105 wrote a review Feb 2024
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel is in the middle of Avalon. No views and the rooms are small but the finishes are beautiful. Very clean. No carnations in our room like it advertises but there was complimentary sparkling wine. Staff friendly and walking distance to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Come over on the earliest Catamaran as everything closes early in the off season.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mattie Gibbons, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded Feb 6, 2024
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate it!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
donna s wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Loved our stay at your beautiful hotel. It’s a step back in time when service was premium. Your staff greeted us with such hospitality and were so accommodating throughout our stay. We’d especially like to thank Lily, Matthew,David & Brady. Our annual Catalina Bison tournament is another excuse to return to The Atwater.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Life is simple on Avalon & everyone is lovely.. island vibes Slow down & enjoy the simple things
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mattie Gibbons, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded Jan 25, 2024
Donna S, thank you so much for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Hotel Atwater and look forward to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Compass817440 wrote a review Jan 2024
Sacramento, California4 contributions2 helpful votes
1st trip to Avalon and to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We had a great time and accommodations at Hotel Atwater was very nice, very clean, and staff was exceptionally helpful. Help with getting luggage from ferry to hotel was a breeze and made the short walk (.3 mile) to hotel enjoyable, allowing us to take in a nice lunch before checking in and not having to deal with luggage.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mattie Gibbons, General Manager at Hotel Atwater
Responded Jan 11, 2024
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Atwater. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Avalon area.
PRICE RANGE
$193 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
atwater hotel avalon, hotel atwater catalina
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCatalina IslandAvalon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
95
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ATWATER $164 ($̶5̶3̶9̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Avalon, CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Atwater
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Atwater?
Nearby attractions include Catalina Island Conservancy (0.2 miles), Escape Room Catalina (0.1 miles), and Wrigley Memorial & Botanic Garden (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Atwater?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, facilities for disabled guests, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Atwater?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Atwater?
Conveniently located restaurants include Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co, Steve's Steakhouse, and Avalon Grille.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Atwater?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Atwater?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Catalina Island Casino Ballroom (0.4 miles).
Does Hotel Atwater have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Atwater accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.