We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel St. Lauren

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel St. Lauren
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 316: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This nicely renovated Victorian is a good place to stay while visiting the island. The employees were very nice. It's not right on the strip but it's literally a two minute walk down hill to the beach/main drag. Our room was decent enough, clean, and for what we needed, it fit the bill. HOWEVER, the one complaint I have is... More 

Helpful?
Thank qbanoz
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible!!Ants!!! When we arrived on the Island we could see the pink hotel from the dock. An easy walk up the hill led to the cute older hotel. The lobby was nicely remodeled and the receptionist was friendly. When we arrived at the room it was dated and not nearly as nice as the lobby. We put that aside and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MTgirl5517
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

We apologize for this experience. It was unusually hot during this week and front desk personnel did what she was supposed to do. I actually had a few at my house which I never have. We did refund and it would be our hope that you might give us another try under better circumstances. More 

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time staying at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. We had read some bad reviews; however, we found the hotel affordable and nice. Pro's: great king bed, flat screen tv and great a/c. Great patio area. Con's: no mini fridge or microwave in standard room and no continental breakfast is offered.

Helpful?
Thank kdheim
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Pleased you enjoyed the room. Will take recommendations under advisement. We hope to see you again in near future. More 

Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

Returned to the St Lauren after dinner at about 10:00 P.M. On the second floor patio there was a group of about 10 people mingling about and cooking on a portable BBQ. We thought this was very odd as the patio closes at 8:00. When we got to our room it was thick with the smell of smoke from the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank SlooterMcGavn
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Greg, I sent you an email. Could you please respond as this is not allowed at all and I will deal with personnel accordingly. I apologize this happened during your stay and please give us a chance to rectify this problem. More 

Riverside, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

We just stayed at the hotel June 19 to 21. We reserved a king bed & futon sleeper, with a slight ocean view. Photos from the website were much better than the actual facility. I did note before we went, as should everyone, that each and every room in the hotel does not have coffee makers, mini refrigerators or microwave... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gumshoe2000
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are constantly trying to improve the property and reviews like this help us out. I will look into your particular room and get the improvements done. Please give us another try. Being a resort with plenty to do we feel most people do not spend all that much time in... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

We did a last minute booking and ended up here. $331 for two nights booked room with sofa bed. We got a room with a king bed and a futon with a regular mattress on it no way to close it and it was placed at the foot of the king bed. no sitting in the room except for one... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank enlightexplore
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing hotel. If you had 4 adults I agree can be tight. Will take desk comment into consideration as it has been brought up couple other times. The patio has one of the best views in town therefore there are usually people there. Maybe try family room next time that has 2 queen beds and 2 separate... More 

Corona, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

St. Lauren is affordable, but don't expect great service. The staff is friendly and professional, but I feel they could much better. If you're booking a room there, insist on upper levels as the lower level get too much noise from the street.

Helpful?
Thank jmendieta2016
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. Pleased to hear staff if friendly and professional and will always work on improving. Hope to see you again. More 

Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We enjoyed the location of the hotel, super easy to find. Staff was very friendly and the room was clean. We were the first room on the street level floor so it was loud at times when the golf carts would drive by but still got a good night's sleep.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank your for the kind words regarding property and staff. I know which room you are talking about and it can get a bit loud. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. More 

Corona, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Stayed at the Hotel St. Lauren with my husband. I was a little worried because of some of the bad reviews but was very happy with the hotel once there. We were on the 3rd floor with our room facing the houses behind the hotel so now view. However, the view from the balcony on the 6th floor made up... More 

Helpful?
Thank JustMe123170
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give feedback on our hotel. We are looking into a little food and beverage up on patio as I read your review. Appreciate comments on staff and will pass them on. As far as the chair on 3rd floor will check that one as well as the other floors. Hope to see you soon More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

Great rooftop views. The towels on every chair on an empty patio were confusing--were they put there by the staff or "reserved?" Room was basic, clean, quiet despite being right by reception. Everything in working order and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Those towels just go over cushions as a cleanliness issue. Nice to hear compliments on those rooms as can be bit noisy in lobby. Thank you for recognizing the staff and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#13 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: $151 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay