We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial Hotel

Traveler (52)
Dining (12)
Room & Suite (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Beautifully restored historic California Gold Country hotel in the heart of Amador County wine country. This small-town bed and breakfast inn offers six handsome guest rooms and three luxurious suites, each with private bath and modern amenities. On-site gourmet restaurant and full bar featuring award-winning local wines. Close to golf courses, antique stores, fishing, skiing and more than 45 wineries.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free parking
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
110Reviews
61Photos
1Q+A
40Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 25
  • 16
  • 8
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here on a Friday evening and so had to pay high weekend rates. Hotel old fashioned with some charm. Room was cold - dinner was good but expensive. Guests were noisy late on. Hot breakfast was ‘different’ surprised there were no eggs. French toast was nice. Not really a
Read more
Response from SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, jason045. As you noted, Amador County offers a fascinating blend of history, wine tasting and beautiful rural countryside (especially in the spring when wildflowers start blooming!) Here in the hotel, our rooms have individually controlled heating and air conditioning units so that guests can control the temperature in their room, but since you have mentioned that you had an issue, we will be sure to check that they are operating properly. A full hot breakfast is included in our room rates, and the entree changes from day to day. French Toast is very popular, but we frequently offer an egg-based choice such as bacon and eggs or strata, and we are always willing to accommodate special requests if possible. As you mentioned, our rates are a bit more expensive on weekends, but we offer less expensive mid-week rates, including special room & dinner packages, that our customers find very reasonable for our area. Thank you again for your comments. Feedback from guests helps us improve our services for an outstanding customer experience.
Read more
Stayed in Rm 2 for 1 night. Staff friendly and history of hotel great. Breakfast wonderful. However, our room was dusty and dirty. The windowsill in bathroom, light fixtures, vases on top of armoire, windows leading to balcony, picture frames, mirrored plate that had water
Read more
We have stayed 3 times over the years, this last time Sept 2018 for 2 nights, the staff is wonderful, the food was good, However, the condition of the hotel is very poor, the upkeep not good. The new owner needs to paint, repair, CLEAN it. The room number 2 was filthy dirty,
Read more
Response from SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded Oct 9, 2018
I am sorry this guest was disappointed with her stay at the hotel. Our housekeeping staff generally gets very positive reviews for the hard work they do keeping our 140 year old hotel up to snuff -- but especially on busy 3-day weekends, it can be a challenge. However, there is always room for improvement, so we welcome comments from guests that point out areas to work on and we will certainly look at those mentioned in this review and take care of any problems.
Read more
We were in Gold Country for a few days and drove over to Amador City from Sutter Creek for dinner at the Imperial Hotel. We stumbled into a weekly local happy hour at the bar, where folks from the area gather in the bar and local string band musicians jam for an hour or so. It
Read more
Had driven past the hotel many times on our way somewhere else and always said we need to stay there someday. For my birthday I was told to pack a bag for a surprise overnight stay at an unknown destination. I was so happy when we drove up to the hotel. It has so much character!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerDining Room & SuiteBusiness Center & Event Rooms
View from room...Upstairs Hall looking out toward the balcony
King Bed
Queen Bed with Balcony
Town/City Sign
PreviousNext
12
Have not stayed in that room, but I hear it is a good room. The staff very friendly and helpful. Amador City is quite nice, historic. If you go wine tasting stop in Fiddletown there's a candy shop, Distant Cellars and Il Gioiello wineries. Then take the back road to the other wineries in Shenandoah Valley
0 votes
"one of the rooms at the front with your own porch"
"Rooms 1 and 2 have a balcony and overlook main street and the tiny downtown - very picturesque."
"Front balcony"
"Only have a handful of rooms, each tastefully decorated."
"Try for a front balcony room, room one is so beautiful."
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
$102 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaAmador City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing