We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn & Suites University Center

Save
Share
1577 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-5884
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
clarionhotel
$67
$55
View Deal
Booking.com$55
Priceline$55
Agoda.com$55
Hurb$65
FindHotel$55
Trip.com$67
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Updated 06/02/20

About

#13 of 18 hotels in Auburn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Clarion Inn & Suites University Center in Auburn, AL offers easy access to Auburn University and Jordan-Hare Stadium. This Auburn, Alabama hotel is also convenient to the Jules-Smith Art Museum and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trails.Guests of the Clarion Inn University Center hotel are invited to relax in the outdoor pool, utilize the Business Center and work out in the exercise room. Boasting 9,000 square feet of conference space and one of the largest ballrooms in the area, there are 5 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 400 people for banquets and 900 people for conferences. Additional amenities include: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free coffee, All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Inn & Suites University Center a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Auburn, AL area.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business

Location

Full view
42Car recommended
Grade: 42 out of 100
35Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
187Reviews7Q+A41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 43
  • 45
  • 22
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Toya G wrote a review Aug 2020
Jeffersontown, Kentucky24 contributions
Creepy and old. Very outdated facility. Weird, dark decor colors. Old furnishings. Needs a complete refurbishment. The lobby smells musty. Ultimately, the room is clean. There is a microwave and a fridge. Really shocked this was the top value hotel in Auburn. Pool closed due to COVID-19.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Arvind Patel, Owner at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Responded Aug 15, 2020
Hello Guest, It is disappointing to note that your stay was not satisfactory. We regret the inconvenience due to many unfortunate reasons. Our team will check where we went wrong and will take corrective actions for maximum betterment. We shall appreciate your kind understanding and request a rethinking to visit. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
297Luv2travel wrote a review Mar 2020
New Hampshire91 contributions66 helpful votes
Other reviewers were right. Electric outlets non functional so no CPAP for us. Safe in the room was covered in dog urine. Further, the tv had one channel so you’d better bring a book or something else to occupy yourself. $130 for 2 adults + 2 well behaved, clean, quiet dogs is a rip-off. 🤮
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from clarioninnauburn, Hotel Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear Guest, We are very sorry to read about the poor experience you had. Please accept our sincere apologies, this is indeed very unfortunate. I fully understand your disappointment and frustration due to the multiple issues you have mentioned. We would like to inform that this is not a regular feature of our hospitality and we will properly check your comments with the team and implement appropriate solutions to please our guest. I hope you do consider us again in the future as we would love the chance to change your impression of our property. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Sarah W wrote a review Dec 2019
Chattanooga, Tennessee1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was absolutely filthy, had not seen a deep clean in years. None of the electrical outlets worked in the room, the shower didn't drain, by the time you were done with your shower the water was higher than your ankles. The drinks we had in the freezer were all completely. Bad experience, don’t recommend, not even good enough for my dog!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from clarioninnauburn, Hotel Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Responded Dec 10, 2019
Hello Sarah, Thank you for your stay.at the Clarion Inn & Suites. We regret the all-around mess as per your observations. Guest satisfaction is one of our primary responsibilities and there has been a serious breach. We shall check and take corrective steps to avoid such things in future, Shall appreciate your understanding. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Susan B wrote a review Dec 2019
Montgomery, Alabama2 contributions2 helpful votes
Do NOT stay at this hotel!!!! I had booked a room for my daughter and her family for Iron Bowl weekend. I picked up the keys for her, but she heard that it was not safe surroundings (Due to Aniah Blanchard being kidnapped and murdered). She choose not to stay there. I tried to get my points back from Choice Rewards, but they called the manager and he would not allow them to be put back in my account. Poor customer service!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from clarioninnauburn, Hotel Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Dear Susan, First and foremost thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would like to express our apologies that you had a negative experience in our hotel. Kindly note that our team is working on the matter and will follow up accordingly. We hope that your next stay will be a pleasant one and looking forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Anna wrote a review Dec 2019
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We were visiting Auburn for the Iron Bowl. We payed almost 300 a night for a room here. When I walked in I was very unimpressed. The more I investigated the room the more unhappy I became. The air conditioner was nasty to say the least. The clothes rack was about to fall off the wall and looked like it had not been cleaned in forever. The shower (was) clean at the time. On my side of the bed on the end table they had a lamp and phone. The lamp was broke and was barely standing up because the base was broke. We decided to stick it out because everywhere else was booked because of the Iron bowl. The next morning while getting ready the electrical stopped working and we had to plug extension cords in so I could finish getting ready. My husband went to call the front desk and the phone wasn’t plugged in because there wasn’t a plug near to plug it in. He went up to the office and they sent someone down. The man they sent down was already drunk and couldn’t hardly speak. ( This was at 9 in the morning). We left and did not get back till around 11 that night. When we arrived we were faced with yet another problem, our keys wouldn’t work. My husband called the front office and they sent the same man, even more drunk, to help us. He got our keys fixed and then made his way into our room to tell my husband how he fixed (most) of our issues. I went into the bathroom and noticed the shower was super dirty. It was not that way when we left. My husband got in our car and went to the office. He called me and said they had upgraded us to a suite. How much worse could it be, right? Opened the door and tried to flip the switch for the light, no switch, it had been broken off. The floors were super sticky and you could see splatter marks of something. The furniture had holes all in it. The end tables and Tv stands had mold and something else growing on the top. We left that room and went directly to the office and told them we wanted a refund. The women behind the counter send so shocked that the room was the condition it was. We ended up making the 2 and a half hour ride home. This place is terrible, the pictures they have posted make it look really nice. I wouldn’t stay here for free. The pictures I have added are of the 2nd room the tried to give us.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from clarioninnauburn, Hotel Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Responded Dec 2, 2019
Dear Anna Nelson, We are very sorry to read about the poor experience you had. Please accept our sincere apologies, this is indeed very unfortunate. I fully understand your disappointment and frustration due to the multiple issues you have mentioned. We would like to inform that this is not a regular feature of our hospitality and we will properly check your comments with the team and implement appropriate solutions to please our guest. I hope you do consider us again in the future as we would love the chance to change your impression of our property. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$60 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lexington hotel university auburn, best western auburn, auburn best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lexington Hotel University Convention Center
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaAuburn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
What are some of the property amenities at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarion Inn & Suites University Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q, Shrimp Basket, and The Mason Jar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Clarion Inn & Suites University Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Clarion Inn & Suites University Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.