We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL

Traveler (46)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 10 hotels in Athens
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.2
Value
2.6
Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL is conveniently located right off of US 72 with easy access to I-65. We are also near downtown Athens, Wheeler National Wildlife Refuge, Athens State University and Huntsville International Airport (HSV). We offer our guests free Wi-Fi, a free hot breakfast, a seasonal outdoor swimming pool (open Memorial Day - Labor Day, daily 9am to 9pm), an Electric Vehicle Charger, and a guest coin laundry facility. All rooms feature a microwave, mini-refrigerator, and hair dryer. Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL is a pet-friendly hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1218 Kelli Dr, Athens, AL 35613-2700
Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
17Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Angie M wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
As I was walking into the room, another guest stopped and informed me there was blood and feces all over his room. I went to check my room and it was worse than a horror movie. As you can see from the pictures there was blood, hair, bodily fluids, food, bugs, and yes feces. I immediately left, and now we have no choice but to sleep in our vehicle. Thanks for a horrific evening. This will be reported to corporate, as well as the Alabama State board of health.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madison Velian, Marketing at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Oct 15, 2023
Hello Angie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience at the RED ROOF INN & SUITES ATHENS AL. The situation you described is truly disheartening. You indicated that you encountered unclean conditions and insects which created a less than ideal experience. Please know that this isn't the level of service that Red Roof stands for and will take your comments into consideration so that we may improve our customers experience. On your next stay, should you have any issues while with us, please contact our front desk immediately so we can take care of the issue to ensure you're comfortable. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. Sincerely, Recordo Red Roof Management Rediresponse Specialist
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tim w wrote a review Oct 2023
12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Traveling late with two kids under the age of 5, we had to stop. This was the only place that had rooms, and now we know why. We requested a nonsmoking room, well, 111 is a smokers paradise. They moved us to 214 then 224, the room are simply disgusting! Stained towels, dirty tub and counters, trash left by others, and what appeared as poop in the floor of both rooms! The lady at the counter was friendly until I went back in after the third room wasn’t acceptable. She said that she knew that was a clean room with nothing wrong with it. Well, I’ll left the photos speak for themselves! On top of all this their rates are extremely high, $198 for one night, double queen! To sum up this experience, I felt like I needed a shot of penicillin after stepping into those rooms! The only good thing was I did receive a refund. Red Roof Inn - Athens, Alabama I-65, don’t stop, just keep on driving!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stop, just keep on driving!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madison Velian, Marketing at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Oct 9, 2023
Hello TimwR4158YU, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience at the RED ROOF INN & SUITES ATHENS AL. It's truly disheartening to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations due to the indicated unclean conditions, poor housekeeping, high rates, along with other concerns. Please know that our rates are set based on the competitiveness of the market. Please know that this isn't a level of service that Red Roof stand for and will take this into consideration so that we may improve our quality. Sincerely, Recordo Red Roof Management Rediresponse Specialist
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jamie R wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Unexpectedly unpleasant experience. Employee was apparently told by front staff that I had checked out, so at 8:30 am I was awoken to 7 very unnecessary loud bangs on my door without indication of who it was. The staff member stated he was sorry. Poor quality of bed box which made loud disturbing noise with each turn and getting in and out. Good cable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RediResponse Specialist, Marketing at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Aug 19, 2023
Dear Jamie, Thank you for telling us about your recent visit at the Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL. We are sorry you had a less than delightful experience. You stated that the quality of your bed and the loud banging on your door were the downsides of your stay, which was saddening to read. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations in the future. Sincerely, Linton Rediresponse Specialist
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ian G wrote a review Mar 2023
El Paso, Texas38 contributions7 helpful votes
Seeing some of the other reviews that rooms were updated, and being ridiculously late driving with two kids, we were willing to pay damn near $300 for a king bed. Well, that was a mistake. The room was anything but updated. The door didn’t even close unless it was slammed. The bed was awfully uncomfortable and made super loud noises any time you moved. Probably would have been more comfortable with a rock than the pillow options. Until all rooms are renovated, don’t settle on one of the old rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madison RediResponse Speciliast, Marketing at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Mar 26, 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your recent experience at the Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL. We strive to provide all of ours guest with the comforts of home, so I'm disappointed to see that we did not achieved that with your visit resulted in your 2/5 score. You indicated that the noise disturbances from the bed, the comfortability of your pillows and the door issue mentioned hindered your experience, which is truly disheartening to read. I do apologize for the less than ideal experience you had. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Please know we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future. Best regards, Linton Rediresponse Specialist
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ernie-Melinda G wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Based on what some folks had written I was hesitant to stay but I chanced it It was one of the best hotel/motels rooms I have stayed at The room was well stocked with everything and the staff was super Updated king room Newer tile in bath and wash area Newer vinyl tile throughout rest of unit Clean and confortable room Will definitely be back on return trip I liked that they had a dog run with poo bags provided Crackerbarrel rest next door I give it a 9 out of 10 I think when they are done with remodel will be very busy Tastefully decorations
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager RedRoof, Owner at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Dec 14, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank You for choosing to stay with Red Roof Inn and Suites of Athens, AL! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! All of our staff work hard to provide clean, comfortable, and affordable lodging. Thank You for taking the time to share your valuable comments! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Sincerely, Red Roof Team Athens
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chrisannemarie1975 wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
The room itself was set up nice. But breakfast was 6-9 am . We never got there til 8:30 am there was not much left . They didn't fill anything . We had to ask for towels (sent my son to get them)every day. The room had a queen sofa bed,no pillow . When we tried to get 1 they said they didn't have any extra -no pillow?! They never emptied the garbage after 4 days it was overloading. WE got a garbage bag to clean it up . We would not stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager RedRoof, Owner at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Nov 28, 2022
Dear Guest, We would first like to thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us and for leaving us a review. We do hate to hear that you were not satisfied during your time at our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced during your stay, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in Athens! Thank You, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenna M wrote a review Nov 2022
Panama City29 contributions18 helpful votes
We booked this hotel as our stopping point on a 2 day drive because it had good reviews, it allowed pets and it was next to a Cracker Barrel. The room itself was good with a large refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. The beds as soon as we laid on them were horrible, they made noise like a box spring and felt like we were laying on a box spring, they were hard and my back is hurting from trying to sleep on the bed. We have stayed at Red Roof Inns before and never had such an experience before.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager RedRoof, Owner at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Nov 23, 2022
Dear Guest, We would first like to thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us and for leaving us a review. We do hate to hear that you were not satisfied during your time at our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced during your stay, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in Athens! Thank You, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BC wrote a review Jul 2022
Atlanta, Georgia152 contributions72 helpful votes
Nothing special, although the room was very clean upon arrival. Bathroom ceiling looked like someone painted over mold without removing it first. Room smelled like cigarette smoke. They are pet friendly, so that's a plus. Location is also decent, withing close proximity to freeway, gas and dining.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager RedRoof, Owner at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Nov 23, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank You for choosing to stay with Red Roof Inn and Suites of Athens, AL! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! All of our staff work hard to provide clean, comfortable, and affordable lodging. Thank You for taking the time to share your valuable comments! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Sincerely, Red Roof Team Athens
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Larry H wrote a review Jun 2022
Brooksville, Florida522 contributions86 helpful votes
+1
Looking for room on the last night of my motorcycle trip. Looked at a lot of reviews of several motels in Athens Alabama and this one got my vote. The room is very roomy and clean. Shower passed the drain test with no staying water in tub. They have free breakfast in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager RedRoof, Owner at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Nov 23, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank You for choosing to stay with Red Roof Inn and Suites of Athens, AL! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! All of our staff work hard to provide clean, comfortable, and affordable lodging. Thank You for taking the time to share your valuable comments! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Sincerely, Red Roof Team Athens
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gold-vintner wrote a review Feb 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana1277 contributions491 helpful votes
Second Red Roof hotel on this trip from the north to a warmer climate and it was a good one. Price was reasonable, room was clean and the bed comfortable. What more do you want??? Would return when in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager RedRoof, Owner at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
Responded Nov 23, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank You for choosing to stay with Red Roof Inn and Suites of Athens, AL! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! All of our staff work hard to provide clean, comfortable, and affordable lodging. Thank You for taking the time to share your valuable comments! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Sincerely, Red Roof Team Athens
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Athens area.
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn athens, athens comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort InnTravel Inn
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaAthens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED ROOF INN & SUITES ATHENS, AL $76 ($̶8̶8̶) - Prices & Hotel Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL?
Conveniently located restaurants include LawLers Barbecue, Cracker Barrel, and Burrito Express.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Red Roof Inn & Suites Athens, AL accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.