We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Athens Inn

Cancelon$71*
View Deal
#2 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$91*
$71*
Great Deal
$75*
$75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Athens Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 413: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Athens Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Group of us stopped for the night on our way to Panama City beach. Nice stop over. The girl at the front desk was very nice. On the way Back home stop there again for the night the girl at the front desk wasn't that nice as the first night we stayed there. The room we had the second time...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattgR2529MV
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

The Best Western Athens is the #1 Best Western we have stayed at over all the others. Joe greeted us upon arriving after our 9 hour drive from FL where cleared out our furnishing from our house there and taking it back to IL to store in a 26' Penske truck. Joe was awesome! Since my wife has a severe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
About Hotel's Favorite Review
WESTERN B, General Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff does their best to ensure each guest has a pleasant stay with us. Since you were moving back North I assume we hope to see you again in the future if and when you take a trip down South again.

Panama city
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The place was very dirty. One room in our group had hair all over the bed upon arrival. One room had pet urine all over the rugs. The floor was extremely filthy. All of our socks were stained with filth. Overall experience was bad.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great stay. Hotel has been totally renovated since last stay. Modern,very clean. Hot shower with new adjustable arm on shower head. Good breakfast selection and well stocked. Quick check in. Friendly staff. Very quiet. Heard no traffic. Great price. Will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
Foley, Alabama
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Never stay any where else. My husband has had a stroke. We always stay here because he knows his way around. We usually stay on the Hardee's side next to office. Very friendly staff and we fill safe at this location

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carrolll845
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here as it is a pet friendly hotel. I was just making a night stop halfway. The hotels rooms are on the outside which made it easy for me to park my car right in front of the room and unload and load. I asked for a room in the front ground floor as these were outside rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisamJ8463NH
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrific location off the I65! Immediately of the exit. Room was of a good size - well appointed. Lots of restaurants close by. Staff was pleasant and very helpful. Very clean and the bed was comfortable. Would stay again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim d
Rochester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This facility is trying to update but is not there as yet. The room was ok but still a little shabby. We had two rooms and the door wouldn't close on one of them. It took 30 minutes to finally get moved to a different room. There was only one person working and she was very busy. Definitely understaffed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carpitt
WESTERN B, General Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review

I apologize your stay wasn't pleasant with us. We did fix the issue with the room door that night,door sweep was hung. There are times when only 1 clerk will be on duty due to the low arrivals for the day. The vending machines are serviced weekly , being an exterior property they are selective about what is put in...

Grandville
Reviewed April 17, 2017

This hotel seems to be old and tired, however the beds and bedding were clean and comfortable. Some things had been updated, but it was still tired looking. We stayed here on our way to Destin, Florida. The price was less expensive than the other hotels at that exit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4grandkids
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

Reasonably Clean and nice bedding. Front desk folks could be more friendly. Multiple items not filled for breakfast. Price too high for a motel in a small town. Everything worked in room. Friends that had another room had a non working tv.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank repinsa
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#5 of 11 in Athens
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens I-65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 11 in Athens
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Athens
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming Athens, Alabama hotel is close to Athens State University and just South of the Tennessee border. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Athens Inn

Address: 1329 US Highway 72 E, Athens, AL 35611-4405
Location: United States > Alabama > Athens
Price Range: $76 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Athens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Athens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Athens Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Best Western Athens Inn staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Athens Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“This is an old style hotel with two floors that you enter from the outside. The second floor has a railing around it.”
4grandkids, Apr 17, 2017 | Read review
“I always ask for a room on the top floor. This hotel has two floors with outdoor hallways.”
michiganmom73, Apr 10, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms face away from busy roads and are reasonably quiet. Easy access for those needing handicapped accessibility.”
alajim2017, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
“when booking this place, don't go through Expedia!!! there is a $20 difference and it is NOT to your advantage!”
INDIANAGIRL7, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“There was a nice grassy area near dog friendly room.”
floridatravellady, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Cancelon
$71* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$75
TripAdvisor$75
HotelQuickly$91
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates