We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Travel Today Your Way
Booking.com
$184
View deal
Expedia.com
$184
View deal
Trip.com
$138
View deal
Official Website$184
Hotels.com$184
ZenHotels.com$199
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (980)
Room & Suite (267)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle
Updated 03/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#83 of 156 in Washington DC
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
GreenLeaders Gold level
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Royal Sonesta Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Royal Sonesta and its lively Certo! restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Travel Today Your Way

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
116Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
35Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4926Reviews62Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,069
  • 1,245
  • 386
  • 143
  • 83
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
genieb071065 wrote a review Jun 17
Belmont, Michigan70 contributions41 helpful votes
We stayed here for my college reunion at Georgetown University. It is just off Dupont Circle and a short Uber ride to the University main gates. Lovely and stylish lobby, and the room was exactly the right amount of space for a married couple staying a few days and just needing a place to sleep and change. The food was vey expensive, but good. The staff was very attentive and polite, and the hotel was quiet at night. The price was quite reasonable for the area, and the value for the money was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
ElleYoung wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York19 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My fiance (now husband!) and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta in DC for 2 nights for our wedding with our dog. We worked with Allie R. who was amazing at coordinating everything and made sure everything went smoothly. We stayed in a King Executive Studio Suite and were amazed by the large size of the room was and the gorgeous views we had of the city! The hotel room was spacious, exceptionally clean and they even included thoughtful touches for our dog such as a fluffy dog bed and 2 large bowls for food and water. In addition, all of the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful whenever we had any questions or needed anything. The location is also superb - it is located on a very cute street with lots of bars and restaurants and in the heart of Dupont Circle. We can't wait to stay at the Royal Sonesta again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Daley, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle
Responded Jun 8, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
Read more
A C wrote a review Jun 7
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dear Royal Sonesta Awesome Location, price point is expensive for the condition, this has become a budget hotel on the way down. Staff tries, works hard, but this is an old setting, way way totally past its prime. You get in-room coffee machine and that is, and all the cups were decaf ! Rooms are musty, like you are entering an old motel 6 smell, fridge was empty, not even those free bottles of water for the morning coffee. Was solo on business, 4 nights, would never have wife join me here. I am in a hotel 300 days per year, of all kinds, all sorts, this is expensive for what you get and it smells. Furniture old, very old, does not appear clean, rooms need very deep cleaning, the resort fee is not right, ok, there is a happy hour wine, breakfast is in a nice setting, not great coffee at all, breakfast food, just ok. There was just one waitress for breakfast, not enthusiastic, the entire hotel felt like a ghost place, No Energy, old, smell.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nicole C wrote a review Jun 5
Montgomery, New York66 contributions26 helpful votes
Safe neighborhood. Clean! Happy hour wine. Beautiful trimmings in the room. People were nice. TV could use some additional channels. Walking distance to a number of restaurants and convenience stores, I would say just keep it up with detail to cleaning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
paul l wrote a review Jun 4
3 contributions
We stayed here for 4 nights & had a great time we absolutely fell in love with DC. The hotel staff were super friendly & professional these guys work long hours & have to put up with a lot of demanding clients. Free bike hire was great & would recommend this if site seeing rather than the organised tours which are laborious. General area around the hotel is safe with plenty of dining options.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Wine hour 17.00/18.00 Free
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
katg9288 wrote a review Jun 4
United States4 contributions2 helpful votes
The front line people who work here deserve 4 and 5 stars. They are friendly and gracious and do their best to help guests have a pleasant stay. The problems with the hotel are bigger and beyond control of the folks at the front desk and restaurant. Please be kind to them. The physical property and some corporate/management policies deserve 2 or 3 stars. The hotel property is disappointingly average and overpriced for the state it has fallen into. The Kimpton Palomar used to be one of my go-to hotels in DC. Sonesta (who snatched up this and hundreds of other properties in the pandemic) charges similar rates to the chic boutique hotel it used to be. In photos, it looks the same, but nothing has been updated in at least 5 years and the wear and lack of maintenance shows when you are there in real life. Thin linens, furniture with obvious damage, amenities, lack of guest services, and the overall vibe are the quality of a budget brand like Best Western. On the plus side, the rooms are huge, even the basic ones. The $25/night “resort” fee is a joke. They offer so-called “free” Wi-Fi, complimentary water in room, morning coffee, and a happy hour but it’s not free. You are paying $25/night for this. At least at the Best Western, the Wi-Fi and breakfast really is free in the room rate. If you want housekeeping, beware that you need to request this the evening before. Yet nobody tells you this, nor is there signage in the room. There are no doormen or bell hops. No taxi stand outside. They say they have valet parking, but I have no idea who/how this happens. The restaurant is a ghost town (just one poor woman who bartends, waits tables, busses – everything from breakfast through night). It’s pretty sad to see what was a fantastic hotel with amazing service, values, and an an overall high quality experience fall so far under new ownership. If it were less expensive and branded as a budget hotel, I’d imagine guests would be happy getting what they signed up for and paid for. Unfortunately, it’s all lipstick on a pig. If you used to stay here when it was the Kimpton Palomar, beware that it appears similar in photos/website, but you’ll be very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Jewel W wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I’ve been to nicer hotels. It was loud and they charge you an extra amenity fee which includes the Wi-Fi. 😂 each night whether you use anything or not. I got 2 rooms for 3 days and no concession for spending that type of money there. Just not worth it. Not too bad experience just not worth all the extra fees. Beware before booking because the rooms are very small and loud neighbors. If you want to get ripped off, this is the place for you! Not sure who was rating them high. They must have friends working the reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Clash46 wrote a review May 2022
Ashford, United Kingdom83 contributions79 helpful votes
Excellent stay. Dupont Circle is a great neighbourhood, close to metro for all the sites and excellent restaurants and cafes all within walking distance of the hotel. The staff were helpful and welcoming. Our room was lovely. Great size with an additional sitting area with fabulous furniture. Lovely bathroom. Loved Washington and would definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
moss1356 wrote a review May 2022
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA14 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed overnight for a sightseeing trip to DC. There was no restaurant operating so room service/breakfast was not an option. For the price I was really underwhelmed with our room/stay. I don't think there was even an a clock in our room.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Daley, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Moss, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Bruce Front Office Manager
Read more
Alyshia A wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Royal Sonesta in Dupont Circle for our 1-year wedding anniversary. The staff was excellent! We were checked in by Bruce and he made sure we were really well taken care of when we told him the occasion. The restaurant downstairs has recently reopened, and the waitresses were funny and had great recommendations. The food was really good. The rooms were clean, the place was quiet. I sound like a broken record, but all of the staff was seriously great. They do a wine social hour every evening, which is a cool little perk. The location is perfect -- just off of embassy row, so we did a lot of wandering around and got to check out all of the different buildings for each country. You are within walking distance to great bars, restaurants, the metro, and bus stations. On Sunday they had a fantastic farmers market that we spent hours at. Would definitely stay here again if we ever make it back to DC!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Daley, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Asquared88, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Bruce Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$226 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kimpton washington dc
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest / Dupont Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
335
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Nearby attractions include The Phillips Collection (0.1 miles), Anderson House (0.06 miles), and Embassy Row (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doyle (Bar), The Pembroke Restaurant, and Bagels Etc.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (2.5 miles), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (2.4 miles), and The President Woodrow Wilson House (0.4 miles).
Does Royal Sonesta Washington DC Dupont Circle have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.