We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Sonesta Washington DC

Save
Share
2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people have started booking this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Save $30 on Valet Parking
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Website
$205
View deal
Booking.com$242
Expedia.com$206
Hotels.com$206
FindHotel$206
Priceline$205
Travelocity$206
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (985)
Room & Suite (630)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Sonesta Washington DC
Updated 01/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#81 of 153 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Royal Sonesta Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Royal Sonesta and its lively Certo! restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Free shuttle or taxi services
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Save $30 on Valet Parking

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
112Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
35Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4900Reviews60Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,060
  • 1,241
  • 381
  • 141
  • 77
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
nwnurse6919 wrote a review Sep 1
2 contributions
Pros: Staff was wonderful and kind in the sweltering Lobby. Cons: Management let the air conditioning stay broken all 7 nights we were there. We were promised a discount and received only $10 off each night's stay. So uncomfortable. People were checking out in droves but we stayed, due to a lot of baggage and thinking it would be fixed quickly. It was August in DC!!!! SO hot and humid. Our room never got below 74 degrees. Also, the pool is OK but not nearly as charming as in the photos. Management is very cheap and does not care about the comfort of the residents. They did not even compensate us as promised. We were planning on making this hotel our go-to spot for the 4 years our daughter is at college in DC, but not anymore!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Daley, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta Washington DC
Responded 4 days ago
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We apologize for the inconvenience you underwent due to our technical difficulties with our partial HVAC shortage. We would like to report, that our A/C is back at 100%!!! If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Read more
ElleYoung wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York19 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My fiance (now husband!) and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta in DC for 2 nights for our wedding with our dog. We worked with Allie R. who was amazing at coordinating everything and made sure everything went smoothly. We stayed in a King Executive Studio Suite and were amazed by the large size of the room was and the gorgeous views we had of the city! The hotel room was spacious, exceptionally clean and they even included thoughtful touches for our dog such as a fluffy dog bed and 2 large bowls for food and water. In addition, all of the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful whenever we had any questions or needed anything. The location is also superb - it is located on a very cute street with lots of bars and restaurants and in the heart of Dupont Circle. We can't wait to stay at the Royal Sonesta again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Daley, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta Washington DC
Responded Jun 8, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
Read more
eric wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York1 contribution
Their air conditioning does not work. They moved us to 3 rooms before finally admitting their ac was sporadic. Their maintenance person told us it was a chronic problem. I used to stay here when it was the Palomar. Find somewhere else. I’d give it zero stars if I could. We left and found another place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Daley, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta Washington DC
Responded 4 days ago
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We apologize for the inconvenience you underwent due to our technical difficulties with our partial HVAC shortage. We would like to report, that our A/C is back at 100%!!! If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Read more
BEmoore wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I came back almost 4 months later to write a review for my wife and my elopement here. My ceremony was officiated by my aunt and the experience was complimented perfectly by the efforts of Allie Robertson...who was absolutely amazing. All during COVID. Private ceremony with literally just four attendees, including my wife and I. Allie was so caring and strategic in helping us to figure out where we would have the ceremony due to so many restrictions...we ended up staying in the Presidential Suite! A remarkable experience that will forever be etched in our memories for a lifetime. We married at 5pm on 4.3.21 with the sunsetting in the almost floor to ceiling windows. We will definitely be back, all the staff were hospitable...the hotel was very clean (although my OCD won't allow me to do anything less than sanitize due to obvious reasons) and the location was outstanding! Thanks again Allie...we will never forget you!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sherry B wrote a review Jul 2021
Yakima, Washington46 contributions54 helpful votes
Great location, close to the Metro and a handful of restaurants. The staff here is so nice and helpful. It was our first time to DC and they helped point us in the right direction through recommendations on must see sights. The room was clean and spacious. They missed the mark when they updated and should have provided more bathroom space with better lighting. The room itself was large and spacious. The bathroom was super tiny (the toilet leaves hardly any space to move in there) and lacks good lighting for applying makeup. You do not have an option to park your car on your own to save money (not really street parking). I would have been happy to pay the $50 parking fee if they also didn't charge an additional $40 hidden resort fee that was not disclosed when I made the reservation. Adding an extra $90 a night adds up fast!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kimpton washington dc
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest / Dupont Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
335
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Sonesta Washington DC
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Nearby attractions include Anderson House (0.06 miles), The Phillips Collection (0.1 miles), and Embassy Row (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doyle (Bar), The Pembroke Restaurant, and Bagels Etc.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Royal Sonesta Washington DC offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Sonesta Washington DC?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (2.5 miles), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (2.4 miles), and Ford's Theatre (1.5 miles).