We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

American Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
American Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 491: English reviews
Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Friendly hosts, convenient check in, a fine breakfast. A 5 minute walk to the Metro at Dupont Circle. I took the least expensive room, one that accommodates only one person. It is located in the basement level, and next to a room for the housekeeper. I was warned I would hear breakfast traffic early since it is directly below the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
AmericanGuestHouse, General Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our DC Inn, and we are grateful for the review. Many of our guests book room 114 because it is less expensive than most other rooms. It is located next to our Resident Manager's room and unfortunately, being a 19th Century historic house, sound proofing wasn't as popular back then, but...

West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a place near the Washington Hilton and a conference I was attending and every other hotel was booked, The room was small but comfortable, however getting my bag up three flights of stairs was difficult (there was no one to assist me) and it was only a little easier getting it back downstairs. The room was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob07052
AmericanGuestHouse, General Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at American Guest House. We are conveniently located around the corner from the Washington Hilton. We love to cook breakfast for our guests and if you have something you want to eat, let us now in advance and we will do our best to fix it for you. We have some single...

miami
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am so happy I found this B & B. Everyone who works there is so friendly. We felt at home. The room was lovely worth a very comfy need and memory foam pillows. It felt so historic. The breakfast was amazing. Kevin is a fantastic chef. And the conversation around the breakfast table was always interesting. Great location, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daisymiami8
AmericanGuestHouse, Owner at American Guest House, responded to this review

Hurray!! It is extremely happy when a guest enjoy their stay at our DC bed and breakfast and it is invigorating when we receive a 5-star review. Thank you so very much!

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed October 20, 2016

The American Guest House was a great place to stay in Washington DC. The house is quaint and clean. Every bedroom had its own bathroom. The breakfasts were fantastic. The people all very helpful. The beds were comfortable and the room quiet. Location was perfect for taking the Metro around the city. I highly recommend this B&B.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paca1946
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for letting the world know you enjoyed your stay at our DC Inn. We love our job and love taking care of our guests. Please come back soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We were recommended The American Guest House by a friend and were so happy we were. Our room was so spacious with a canopy bed, 2 comfortable easy chairs, writing desk and 3 luggage racks.the breakfast each morning were so delicious and very generous. We were made to feel welcomed with helpful information about being a tourist in Washington. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAL57
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the stellar review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. Our guests are wonderful and we are always grateful when they choose to stay at our DC Inn.

Rollingbay
Reviewed October 3, 2016

This place needs to be freshened up with paint and new furniture in the sitting room. The overall feeling when entering is gloomy and dirty, it isn't unclean but appears that way. Our room (203) was narrow with dark wainscoting that exaggerated the tight feeling. The bed was extremely uncomfortable as were the pillows, two were just lumps of foam....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Y3740RDpamelaw
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

We apologize that the size of your room wasn't what you were expecting - all of our rooms are each unique and vary in size. We will definitely look into the uncomfortability, as we are always looking for suggestions. We are known for our wonderful homemade breakfasts and our convenient location - we are glad this was accommodating for you.

london
Reviewed September 30, 2016

We had room 403 which was huge although bathroom is quite small but adequate. It is at the top of three flights of stairs and no lift so you had better be fit. Room was clean and bright and spacious as I said bed was very comfortable. There is a huge fridge in the room so plenty of room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonChristopher23
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving us a great review. We are known for our great homemade breakfasts and convenient location - we are glad this this was accommodating for you. Although we don't have an elevator, our Innkeepers are happy to help with luggage. We appreciate your great feedback and hope you stay with...

Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

American Guest House is in a great location, close to transportation and itself a fun, active neighborhood. It was clean, comfortable, historical & oozed charm. Chef Kevin made delicious breakfasts that kept us going all day long. We definitely recommend a stay at the AGH!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
AmericanGuestHouse, Owner at American Guest House, responded to this review

We are sooo thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our DC Inn, and we are grateful for the wonderful review. Looking forward to your return.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed September 19, 2016

On a business trip to the hill and stayed 4 nights at the Guest House. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and cozy. The Guest House is located about 1.5 miles away from "the Mall" which puts it well within walking distance of popular attractions. I liked being a bit further away from downtown. The neighborhood is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDA0731
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing a wonderful review. We are conveniently located to many of the DC attractions and are close to the Dupont Metro Station - we are glad this was accommodating for you. We are known for our delicious homemade breakfasts that we prepare every morning and we are happy you enjoyed...

Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

The American Guest House is the best B&B ever! I stayed there during a business trip in Aug16 and the accommodations were above reproach. Shannon was there to greet me and assist me with my luggage, while providing various recommendations for dinner and attractions. Kevin was/is an outstanding cook who saw that we had a delectable breakfast every morning; you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kadiof
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for this wonderful review - we appreciate it. We are known for our delicious homemade breakfasts and we are glad you enjoyed it. Our staff are happy to help in every way they can - we are pleased to know that you were welcomed and accommodated. We hope you choose to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
789 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#57 of 140 in Washington DC
5,844 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#41 of 140 in Washington DC
2,687 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
American Guest House is a well appointed 12 bedroom with en suite bathrooms Washington DC Bed and Breakfast located in a historic 1893 Venetian Gothic building near the Washington Hilton Hotel. Within a 10 minutes walk to Dupont Circle Metro, and within a 10 to 15 minute walk to Wardman Park and Omni Shoreham Hotels. We are located near Dupont Circle in the historic Kalorama Triangle neighborhood. This DC Bed and breakfast is located near the White House (about 25 minutes by foot), about 1 mile from the National Zoo and 2 miles from the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments. We are located in a trendy, upscale, safe and beautiful neighborhood in the heart of DC. Great area to stroll around and enjoy the beautiful old mansions. Within walking distance you'll also find several of Washington DC's best restaurants, as well as the Phillips Art Gallery, Embassy Row, specialty shops, and even Rock Creek Park with its beautiful cycling and hiking trails. Culture is plentiful in DC with its majestic theaters, shows, ethnically diverse dining options, and beuatiful monuments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Guest House

Address: 2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1310
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Dupont Circle
Price Range: $188 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your American Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Guest House b&b
American Guest House Hotel Washington Dc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from American Guest House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from American Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you are over 60 and/or have a bad back, try getting a lower floor so you don't hurt yourself struggling with luggage on the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Rob07052, 1 week ago | Read review
“No elevator and rooms were in 2nd and 3rd floor so keep that in mind.”
 of 5 bubbles Paca1946, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“If you are not fit, do not choose a room on the 3rd floor as there is no lift but this adds to the charm.”
 of 5 bubbles JAL57, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“The street is not that busy so a front room with more light would ne better than the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Y3740RDpamelaw, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“top floor if fit! Room 403 and is to the rear so quieter I suspect”
 of 5 bubbles SimonChristopher23, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay