We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Washington, DC\/Foggy Bottom
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
See the most recent reviews
Showing 619: English reviews
Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 5, 2013

the hotel is located close enough to public transportation (the metro) and provided a shuttle to the station. rooms were very spacious and comfortable. breakfast was ok; pretty typical of all hotels that provide the complimentary meal. staff was friendly, but no overly so.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol s
Weaverville, North Carolina
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is two blocks from the Metro, close to the monuments, and although they were just finishing with renovations and had just one elevator working (slowly), the staff made up for it! Everyone from Kasem (spelling incorrect, I know) at the front desk, to the two valet/bell men, to even the super nice young men working on the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the brand new Residence Inn Foggy Bottom! I'm happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our very spacious guest suites and our perfect location right here in the heart of the Foggy Bottom/Georgetown area~! We are looking forward to your next visit! Thanks again, Jessica Conley General Manger

Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I needed to pass through Washington DC for business travel, and I needed some extra help to complete my work. The staff was extremely helpful. Moreover, the hotel was clean. The breakfast and social hour was better than you'll find at most hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farmersville
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you as our guests here at the brand new Residence Inn Foggy Bottom! I'm excited to hear that you were able to take advantage of our daily Hot Buffet Breakfast as well as our Evening Social Hour - which we just added complimentry beer/wine! We are looking forward to seeing...

NJ
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here 9/27 - 9/29/13, visiting daughter at George Washington University. Excellent location for GW visits, one block away. Staff very friendly, all furnishings brand new. Elevator slow, but was being replaced, should be finished in 3 weeks. Foggy Bottom Metro one block away, would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank budc
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for your review~! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our brand new hotel and perfect location! We are looking forward to your next stay! Thanks again, Jessica Conley - General Manger

Eugene
Reviewed September 19, 2013

After having trouble with the Holiday Inn next door, My party of four went down the street to the Double Tree. The difference with the staff at the front desk of the Double Tree was night and day. They booked us two JR Suites for our troubles with the Holiday inn for less money. The rooms were huge with King...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Autzenduck
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is in the midst of a renovation, and I was pleasantly surprised to discover how comfortable it is. i got it on Priceline for a very reasonable price. The rooms are very large by any hotel standard, but particularly for DC. The rooms are clean and redone in a modern style-- the room was so newly redone I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan6229
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend, hoping to get some good R&R. Although the rooms were nice and clean, the construction was unbearable. I don't know if it was the specific room we were in, but it felt like it was literally in our room- the walls would vibrate in the mornings. When we went to complain, we were told that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAS71111
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

KAS71111, Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that you weren't able to fully get the R&R that you had desired during this stay. As you are aware that we are currently undergoing renovations to become the Residence Inn - Marriott. With this renovation, there have been times where there would be noise and we tried our best to...

Washington D.c.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room was nice, spacious, and clean. The staff was friendly although there was a lot of construction going on and the hallways and elevators were dusty with debris and smelled like chemicals/paint.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devri V
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Devri B, Thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Washington Guest Suites. As you are aware, we are currently in the process of transitioning to a Residence Inn - Marriott. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations of having a spacious room and pleasant service. We value our guest and our goal...

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked a room during renovation and it was horrible. Noise from 8 to 8 everyday, water stops for maintenance almost everyday for 2 hours. The room services is good. Overall the hotel is good but during the renovation you cannot sleep, location and the size of the rooms are what this hotel is all about. Was jealous when I saw...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Salooto
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed August 7, 2013

No need for a car here. An easy block and a half from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop and you can get just about anywhere in D.C. The staff was extremely courteous and willingly gave us information as requested. The hotel itself is being remodeled (old furniture, carpeting, etc. being hauled out) and will become a Marriott Extended Stay Suites....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nola B
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Nola B, Your review was definitely full of "Sunshine." Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with us. We are happy to know that even through the renovation that you were able to enjoy your stay and that the city had to offer. We are transitioning to a Residence Inn and very excited about all...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
1,209 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
442 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,526 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,691 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2305
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Price Range: $162 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Queens, New York
over a year ago
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 month ago
Roswell, Georgia
7 months ago
Calhoun, GA, USA
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Corner suites are large and roomy”
 of 5 bubbles TrishKnyc, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“I went for the highest floor available.”
 of 5 bubbles rule62, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 205, 601 and 403. Ask to see the room before moving in, as room quality varies wildly.”
 of 5 bubbles novicetraveler51, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“High rooms have better views. All quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 9MinuteMentor, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“suites are great for the extra space when staying for a few days”
 of 5 bubbles ga379, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question