We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

815 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View deal
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (404)
Room & Suite (171)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#56 of 153 hotels in Washington DC
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to the newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown hotel, centrally located in the US Capital. Our hotel is within walking distance to the White House, the US Capitol, Smithsonian museums and the Washington DC Convention Center. We're also located near the African American History Museum, as well as the Ronald Reagan Building, Embassy Row and numerous other attractions, government offices and businesses. Our DC hotel is located across the street from the McPherson Square Metro station and is only four miles from Ronald Reagan National Airport. After a busy day working or sightseeing, retreat to a spacious guest room or suite. All rooms and suites have been recently renovated with modern décor, and boast amenities including complimentary WiFi, work desk with convenient USB outlets, Keurig, refrigerator and microwave. Suites feature a separate seating area with a sofa bed. Our restaurant & lounge, The Third Rail, serves breakfast, dinner, cocktails and room service.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Archery offsite
Kids pool
Paid private parking on-site
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Snack bar
Vending machine
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
3658Reviews65Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,729
  • 1,373
  • 371
  • 128
  • 57
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alexa S wrote a review Jul 24
1 contribution
We are enjoying our first stay in DC. The location is perfect for walking to all the sites and eating at great restaurants. Nora was amazing in creating a fantastic experience before we even arrived (emails were prompt and the logistics were so appreciated) Deja made sure we knew the great restaurants to visit and also helped us with sightseeing recommendations. Robert and Darin were great at the bar! Don’t hesitate - book this property for a wonderful visit to our Nation’s Capitol.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
machogrande123 wrote a review Jun 2021
Chicago, Illinois92 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I am a Lifetime Diamond Member who recently completed a stay at this hotel. I was very happy with my stay and especially with the way I was treated due to my hotel status. There are many hotels (such as the Washington Hilton) where you Diamond Status for whatever reason gets you nowhere. This hotel does value Diamond members, and I really appreciated that. On this trip, I was given an upgraded room upon check-in...and also was allowed to eat breakfast that morning and access my room at 9am. I did not ask for any of this, it was simply provided. In addition, it happened to be my birthday weekend and the front desk team supplied my wife and I with a bottle of wine, as well as any number of different drinks and snacks. It was a fantastic trip made even better by our treatment from the hotel staff. I'd like to especially thank Tyler, Jamal and Darin at the front desk for being so nice to us. A few other comments on the hotel: Location is excellent...very close to the White House. I'd say this is on par with the Capital Hilton, which is closer to the WH but does not have as many restaurants as close by. Breakfast is free for Diamond Members and is very good. It is not buffet, but can order off the menu. Rooms were nice. My only complaint is that the water pressure is very low. Perhaps that is because we were on the 14th floor? Overall, highly recommended when staying in DC.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded Jun 10, 2021
Thank you for recommending Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown to future travelers. We are thrilled to learn you had an amazing birthday weekend and that you were impressed with outstanding hospitality. Your compliments will surely be shared with Tyler, Jamal, and Darin. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Lee Seiler General Manager
Read more
Csxyode wrote a review Jul 22
Tullahoma, Tennessee232 contributions39 helpful votes
We were visiting our Grandson for the weekend and chose the Hilton Garden Inn because of its location. It is convenient to most of the sights and many good restaurants. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. We felt very safe in this facility and location
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Heather Cardone, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 3 days ago
Lee, we appreciate you staying with us while you were here to visit your grandson! We are delighted to read that you loved each and every aspect of your trip, especially our convenient location and excellent service. We hope you will make Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown your hotel of choice whenever your travel brings you back to our nation's capital. With warm regards, Lee Seiler General Manager
Read more
jwpurchases wrote a review Jul 20
1 contribution
Located across the street from Metro station and just a short walk to the White House. Good room with I guess is Trump mandated water pressure for the shower. One negative is very limited items available onsite for food and drink from their version of a gift shop.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Heather Cardone, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 5 days ago
Jwpurchases, thank you for sharing the highlights of your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We appreciate you mentioning our convenient location and well-appointed rooms. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will choose to stay with us whenever your travel brings you back to our area. Sincerely, Lee Seiler General Manager
Read more
AzureMountain wrote a review Jul 20
Virginia84 contributions210 helpful votes
We chose this hotel for one night away while attending an event in the downtown DC area. Overall this was a great option and I would recommend it to others. Guestroom The room was well designed and thought out with two beds. We had a view of an alley and office building. Not a great view, but on the upside no street noise! The room contains a good-sized refrigerator with a small freezer compartment, microwave, and a Kuerig machine. Excellent amount of plugs and USB for electronics. There is a bench under the TV set that held two carry-on-sized pieces of luggage without issue. A small desk, lounge chair, and floor lamp were present. The bathroom was small with a tub/shower combination. The vanity held ample towels and there is an empty ledge on the wall to help provide space for guest items. There is a small closet. The beds were comfortable and the bed linens were comfortable too. The local art touches in the room were well done. You get so sick of seeing cherry blossom motifs in Washington DC. It was nice to see something creative. Things that could have been better with the room - 1. The floor lamp was unplugged. I suspect the last guest could not figure out how to turn it off via the footswitch and just unplugged it. 2. The alarm clock was plugged into one of the bedside outlets meant for guest use. This annoys me, as it appears the staff is too busy to bother plugging it in under the bedside table. It took me less than two minutes to do that. 3. The pillows were soft, soft, soft. 4. The toilet needs to be scrubbed with a pumice stick to remove some rust stains. It makes the toilet look dirty when it really isn't 5. The toilet was installed slightly crooked. 6. The bathtub needs to be refinished and recaulked. 7. I would have loved an adjustable shower head (which I think is a Hilton standard. If this shower head was adjustable, I could not figure out how to do it.) 8. The bathroom door handle is loose and the door has to be slammed to shut 100% 9. The bathroom exhaust fan was not working. Parking Expensive. It's a downtown major metropolitan area. It is expensive everywhere. If you don't need a car there is a Metro station directly across the street. This hotel could only be closer to McPherson Square station if it was built on top of it. Great for getting around the city. The valet and valet parking staff were the most friendly of all the staff members we encountered. They were positively cheerful. Big smiles. Helpful. Opened the door for us. Best curbside welcome I have had a hotel in this range in a long time. Kudos to them. Reception/Check-in/Check-out Efficient and professional. Our room was not ready on arrival. No speech out when check-in time was (thank you!) Instead, we got an offer to store bags and a pre-check-in with a text message to come when the room was ready. About an hour before published check-in time we got that text. I really hate asking for early check-in and being lectured on when check-in time is. This experience was so much better. I am a Hilton Diamond member and requested a later departure. This was granted without issue. We returned to the hotel at that time, checked out, and stored our bags until we were ready to leave DC. No issues. F&B The grab-and-go area was well stocked with booze. Less well stocked with everything else but there was a good, if not ample, selection. There was no Advil/Tylenol in the sundries area. Just Tylenol PM and allergy medications. I would expect asprin etc. is a popular ask. Maybe just out of stock? We had breakfast in the restaurant. This was a convenient, if not exceptional, experience. The room is comfortable. Clean. Bright. The menu is limited for hot items. There is a cold continental buffet available. It appears the hotel was set up for a serve-yourself breakfast option including a hot buffett. Coming out of Covid I was not surprised to see options limited. The food was OK. Pancakes were hot but not fluffy/moist. Service was quick. Small gripe - the $10 credit I had was not taken off my bill at check out. We did not have a drink at the bar. The bar area looked comfortable. We appreciated the coffee set up in the morning. The lobby/bar seating areas are comfortable. Public restrooms were clean and well stocked. Covid This is a Covid-era review so I will mention it. My group was fully vaccinated. We wore masks inside the public areas. All staff was also wearing masks . Hand sanitizer was available everywhere, but we found that some of them by the elevators were frequently empty. I found it disturbing that children too young to be vaccinated were not wearing masks. I wonder how many of the guests were not vaccinated and not wearing masks. I would guess about 20% of the people we saw were masked. That's not this hotel's problem. The Bizzare Someone on our floor left a piece of luggage outside their room all night. I hope the staff checked it to make sure it was luggage and not something else. This hotel pleasantly surprised me. It was clearly quite busy with what appeared to be leisure travelers vs. business travelers. It was clean, quiet to sleep and has a great location. I will recommend it and if I have to be in the area overnight again, chose it again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: While our room lacked a view, there was no street noise.
See more room tips
Response from Heather Cardone, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 5 days ago
AzureMountain, thank you for being a Hilton Diamond member and for the detailed review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are delighted to read that you loved many aspects of your visit, particularly our room, convenient location, and our service. However, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as it helps to improve our guest experience going forward. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Lee Seiler General Manager
Read more
$145 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hilton garden inn washington, dc downtown hotel washington dc, hilton washington dc
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.1 miles), Nightly Spirits (0.3 miles), and St. John's Church (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe's Seafood Prime Steak & Stone Crab, Lafayette Restaurant, and Old Ebbitt Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (2.5 miles), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (3.2 miles), and Anderson House (1.1 miles).