We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital View

Booking.com$78*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$78*
$79*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Capital View
 Click to rate
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's a short walk from Union Station. Chuck your bags in the dorm and head out sightseeing and bar hopping. Kitchen was well equipped so bring your own food and save your money. I was on the ground floor and the combined bath and toilet became a bottleneck the next morning. You could keep your bags behind even after checkout....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jairaj J
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Poorly maintained place, it seems like a scary movie. The receptionists enter the rooms without announcing and even greet you. The only two hostel showers work precariously. After opening the water register, it is necessary to wait between 5 and 10 minutes to start to get hot water. The last night of my stay there simply was no hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claudio a
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

hey there, thank you for your input. We thought we did a pretty good job of upgrading the place over the winter, fixing everything up, and installing some new things =/. The receptionists always knock before entering the mixed dorms, and we kind of have to do that, because we have to keep cleaning the place. We receive complaints if...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2017

I have stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and this has got to be one of the worst. First off I will say the location was excellent, very close to all the major sites and was located on what appeared to be a very quiet street.... oh how wrong i was! The noise from outside of an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

hey there, I'm sorry for the mishandled situation, I would have liked you to have been moved to another room for your stay, so I'm not sure how this was missed =/. The folks upstairs were pouring water all over the shower tile floors, so much so that it caused some of it to leak below. We've secure the faucets,...

Reviewed December 5, 2016

We stayed in November 2016 and had a great time seeing the city. Capital View is in a great location for walking, just a 15 minute walk to the Mall and convenient to everything else, including two different metro stations. Walmart was a five minute walk for groceries. Kitchen was clean. Our private room always felt secure. And it's hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mshinall
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Considering the price, I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff are lovely, the place is very clean and the beds are quite nice. It was a nice resting place to chill and recuperate after a hectic week just previous. I'll definitely be coming back here when I'm back in the states next year :D

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McLabraid
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Hey there, thank you so much for such kinds words. We really do try to clean and update the place like crazy. Just got a bunch of brand new memory foam mattresses... $299 of pure goodness sitting in most of the rooms now! For any folks that decide to book with us, keep in mind we've got events inside the...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Having stayed in many hostels during my travels over, Capital View is at the top of the list. I was impressed by the commitment of the staff. The hostel had a great group of guests, was very clean, and the location a short walk from city center and the monuments. Thank you again for a memorable time in Washington.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hubert E
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice words!

Banovce nad Bebravou, Slovakia
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Price was ok. Location was just fine. It was quiet place to stay. Lockers and wifi were available too. Toilet was "funny". It got clogged.Showers were nice, small and clean. My bed was little bit uncomfy, but nothing I could not handle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katarína Š
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Hey there, I know it's been a bit, and I just commented on another post, how we put up a bunch of new expensive memory foam mattresses, to replace a few hold outs from the last year that were less than stellar maybe. If by chance you read this, let us know what room/bed you were staying in, so we...

Reviewed July 15, 2016

Hard to find unless you know where you are going. Clean, comfortable, cheap & cheerful. Did the job for a quick 3 night stay in Washington DC minutes walk from chinatown & subway (which connects to Ronald Reagan Airport)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoë B
Reviewed July 6, 2016

As a budget-oriented traveler, I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world whenever I travel solo. Capital View was by far one of the best hostel experiences I've ever had. The rooms are clean and spacious, and even though I was in a 6-person dorm there was still plenty of privacy in the room itself. There are many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments. We do try to make sure everyone enjoys their stay, and we're happy to see a positive experience!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 25, 2016

Quite a roomy hostel about 10 minutes' walk from Capitol Hill. The staff were friendly and helpful, the place is clean and comfortable and there's two common areas, one with a kitchen, and a roof top patio as well. Would have preferred a more secure area to leave bags on our final day, but there wasn't any problem in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank armrestdominance
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you! Do keep in mind that we can securely lock all important items in the office for you, and the less secure storage area that is free can be used for bulky luggage. Due to our proximity to the Library of Congress and generally being super accessible from all metros and in the very center, we do get people...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
208 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
773 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
252 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The most centrally located hostel in Washington, DC. We are just blocks, and less than 10 minutes away from The Capitol, The Monuments, The Museums, and all of the major attractions in the Capital. Feel free to explore, or just spend the time on our roof top patio, and utilize our roof top pool and Jacuzzi access on weekdays! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital View

Address: 301 I St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2524
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $44 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capital View 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Capital View staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Capital View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 8 is a private room on top floor with 2 beds (bunks) close to rooftop deck and restrooms.”
kathydZ734MR, Apr 16, 2016 | Read review
“room #2 gets really hot. while room #3 is on the chillier side”
329aniah, Jan 18, 2016 | Read review
“The online info was accurate and description didn't disappoint.”
815seamusc, Jun 1, 2015 | Read review
“Always ask for the below bed”
PMCortez, Apr 27, 2015 | Read review
“Third floor has two private showers with better water pressure.”
  • Second floor 4 bed room
I1737PMpauld, Jul 10, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$78* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hostelworld.com$79
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates