We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capital View

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Capital View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed in many hostels during my travels over, Capital View is at the top of the list. I was impressed by the commitment of the staff. The hostel had a great group of guests, was very clean, and the location a short walk from city center and the monuments. Thank you again for a memorable time in Washington.

Helpful?
Thank Hubert E
Banovce nad Bebravou, Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

Price was ok. Location was just fine. It was quiet place to stay. Lockers and wifi were available too. Toilet was "funny". It got clogged.Showers were nice, small and clean. My bed was little bit uncomfy, but nothing I could not handle...

Helpful?
Thank Katarína Š
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Hard to find unless you know where you are going. Clean, comfortable, cheap & cheerful. Did the job for a quick 3 night stay in Washington DC minutes walk from chinatown & subway (which connects to Ronald Reagan Airport)

Helpful?
Thank Zoë B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

As a budget-oriented traveler, I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world whenever I travel solo. Capital View was by far one of the best hostel experiences I've ever had. The rooms are clean and spacious, and even though I was in a 6-person dorm there was still plenty of privacy in the room itself. There are many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott G
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments. We do try to make sure everyone enjoys their stay, and we're happy to see a positive experience! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

Quite a roomy hostel about 10 minutes' walk from Capitol Hill. The staff were friendly and helpful, the place is clean and comfortable and there's two common areas, one with a kitchen, and a roof top patio as well. Would have preferred a more secure area to leave bags on our final day, but there wasn't any problem in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank armrestdominance
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you! Do keep in mind that we can securely lock all important items in the office for you, and the less secure storage area that is free can be used for bulky luggage. Due to our proximity to the Library of Congress and generally being super accessible from all metros and in the very center, we do get people... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for one night on the 3rd floor girls dormitory. There was space and shelves for belongings, along with lockers for more valuable items. The beds were very uncomfortable and was not able to sleep easily. There was an insect on the wall, which was very disturbing and small pieces of mold on the wall. There was only one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zahra H
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

thank you for your comments, as we take them all in consideration. We have replaced almost all of the mattresses to brand new ones at the beginning of this year. Some mattresses were hold overs, if we thought they were in great condition. We do ask for guests' help at the time of check-in to help identify the few that... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

The location of the place was ok, only a short 15 minute walk from the train station and about the same to get down to National Mall. The hostel staff were very warm, welcoming and friendly. The price of the hostel for 3 nights was also fantastic. The Hostel and facilities itself were sufficient enough and very comfortable, it felt... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leifstarkey
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

hey there, thanks so much for your review. We do refill free coffee/tea/sugar/creamer/oil/pancake mix and peanut butter daily, and I've reviewed the logs, and saw it there at all times; I'm sorry if somehow coffee was empty every time you checked, must have gotten refilled right after. Also we use a real time integrated software that doesn't allow for overbooking,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

I stayed there with a friend of mine for 2 nights. It was a NIGHTMARE. It happened so many things that a single post wouldn’t be enough, but I will try to explain in a few sentences what a horrible hostel Capital View is, to warn all of you before it’s too late. 1. We reserved through the website Hostelworld.com... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Marco G
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, but I have to address it on multiple inconsistencies, since they are very untrue. "1. We reserved through the website Hostelworld.com for 2 nights by credit card. We also paid a 12% deposit (19$) for the hostel" - Correct, there was a deposit paid, and when you arrived the due total was what was listed... More 

York, Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Capital view was a hidden gem. It was quick walk from Union Station and a yellow circulator stop. My daughter and stayed in Room #8. It was very clean and the mattresses were Ikea comfortable.It was a great way for her to experience life in a dorm sized room.We had a shared bath but I think we were the only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BethMurphy2014
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Hey there, thank you much. Not all rooms are entirely equal, and you being in a private room, have brand new mattresses - something that we are working to deliver to all of the rest of the rooms in the next week or so; seeing your positive experience review, I'm looking forward to getting more of that, once we finish... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

It was nightmarish trying to get the car into the nearby parking the hostel guys recommended but that was because of DC's maze-like one way systems. The hostel is a sweet old building, really clean and well kept with a communal kitchen and sitting room, a rooftop deck area and private or dormitory rooms. It is very much a hostel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

hey there! Thanks so much for your nice comments! Dc has one of the highest homeless populations in United States percentage wise, so that is an issue all over the city, but surely don't feel discouraged over it, when traveling around the US. It's a sad fact of life everywhere, and we try to be supportive in our ways when... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The most centrally located hostel in Washington, DC. We are just blocks, and less than 10 minutes away from The Capitol, The Monuments, The Museums, and all of the major attractions in the Capital. Feel free to explore, or just spend the time on our roof top patio, and utilize our roof top pool and Jacuzzi access on weekdays! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital View

Address: 301 I St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2524
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $41 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay