We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf

Save
Share
725 Wharf St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3433
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$313
View deal
Hyatt.com
$303
View deal
Traveluro
$291
View deal
Booking.com$313
Travelocity$313
Trip.com$335
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (366)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (10)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#61 of 157 in Washington DC
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
With dazzling views of the Potomac River, dozens of trendy restaurants, and an inspired location three blocks south of the National Mall, it’s easy to see why the Wharf is a buzzed-about neighborhood in D.C. Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf is the ideal spot to recharge before exploring the Wharf and all the historic must-sees in Washington, D.C.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
45Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1062Reviews61Q+A73Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 610
  • 235
  • 116
  • 58
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
phillip k wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
I have spent the last week in this hotel and it is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. My list of complaints are as follows: 1. After the second day of our stay and the room had not be cleaned we asked when the cleaning would happen and we were told that the rooms are cleaned every fours days and we should have been told at checkin. We weren't. We then requested daily cleaning which was available. 2. The coffee cups in the room were not cleaned or changed even though we requested daily cleaning. We had to clean them ourselves. 3. I noticed a stain on the bottom sheet and that sheet has not been changed in the seven days we have been here. 4. Although we were provide with coffee sachets in the room some days there was creamer and some days not. 5. The front door to the room was broken and it was very difficult to open and on at least one occasion the cleaners had left the door open as you had to pull it shut. 6. The carpet in our room is sticky with ancient spills. 7. We can't unpack because the closet door is stuck closed. 8. Electrical cords hang out of the walls in the hallway This hit the high points all in all a terrible hotel to be avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
EricKret wrote a review May 18
Amesbury, Massachusetts1 contribution1 helpful vote
I fell like customer service has suffered as a result of the pandemic, staffing shortages, and other changes are the culprit. However, the staff here great. The best I have had in a long time. The hotel is newer and clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 4 days ago
Dear EricKret, We welcome all compliments, but it is especially nice to hear you praise our staff and the high level of customer service they provide our guests. They truly breathe hospitality into every aspect of our Hyatt House and make it a wonderful place to stay. Your review is appreciated, and we hope to see you again soon. Best, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
Geetu V wrote a review May 11
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked a room here through Expedia that said the room had a King bed and sofa bed to accommodate us and our 2 kids. The room they gave us had a queen bed only. When I asked what they could do to help us the response was “ there is nothing we can do”. They hotel was not concerned about where we would sleep. They didn’t offer bedding, cots, space in a partner hotel, a refund, nothing. Expedia pursued a refund with them they we eventually got but I could not believe that you can stay at a chain hotel like Hyatt and have them offer no accommodation or apology for our situation whatsoever! Choose one if DCs many other hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Experience258155, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. My heartfelt apologies for disappointing you due to the room type you were assigned. Our inventory changes by the minute due to a number of factors such as guests in-house extending their stays, rooms being removed from inventory for maintenance, etc. We strive to provide every guest with a comfortable stay and we clearly missed the mark. Thank you for your honest feedback which we will use to foster improvement; for that reason, we hope to see you again on a return trip. Sincerely, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
Onfire444 wrote a review May 11
Virginia242 contributions24 helpful votes
I was in town for a weeknight concert at The Anthem, which is a venue also on the wharf a block away. I'd very much recommend this hotel for anyone seeing a show there. Here are my pros and cons of the hotel in general: Pro: Views from room were excellent. I prepaid around $440 for a King Riverfront room and it was on a corner, with a panoramic view of the river and wharf below. From my room looking down, I could watch how the line to get into the concert was progressing. Con: Room was very small and I was grateful to be a solo traveler in there. Con: Room had no real chairs. Only high stools, an ottoman, and a low couch with no arms. I really wanted to sit in front of the window in a comfy chair and sip my drink, but not possible, only place to relax was on the bed. (high stools hurt my back) Pro: Excellent location, with nice walking and tons and tons of restaurants to choose from. Even a CVS to buy something I forgot and a nice wine and liquor store. Pro: Breakfast in morning was decent and I had scrambled eggs, bacon, oatmeal and breakfast potatoes. Con: After checking out around 10 am, I came back around 3pm to collect my luggage that had been stored and I remembered I had left an unopened nice bottle of bourbon in the room. It was gone, housekeeping could not find it. While I understand that unopened food/drink is probably finders/keepers for housekeeping staff, it still left me with a bad feeling like I had been robbed. I had left a tip for housekeeping in my room and I tipped for storing the luggage, and the lost bourbon created a bad vibe on my departure. Can't comment: I did not drive, so I can't review the parking.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Maria H, Thank you for sharing your review and recommendation. We’re pleased to hear our beautiful hotel, great amenities, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay overall. Along with providing us with areas of opportunity, your feedback serves as encouragement to our associates. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again. Best, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
843robin wrote a review May 8
Sebastian, Florida1 contribution
While the hotel was clean and room was nice, there seemed to v=be a disconnect in service While I understand that each state and hotel is different, I have stayed at several other hotels in the last two years, (during covid ) and the service offered was much better than what I received here at the Hyatt. I certainly hope that if I chose to stay again, that I get what I paid for. R. Raiff
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 843robin, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for being our valued guest. Normally our staff does a terrific job of responding to our guests’ needs, and in your case, that did not happen. We value your comments and will use them to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. It would be our pleasure to have you back and leave you with a more favorable impression. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
Leslie k S wrote a review May 7
United States59 contributions51 helpful votes
We found it to be a great location. Lots of restaurants on the waterway & a nice neighborhood to walk around in. It was also convenient to catch an Uber either to or from the hotel. It was clean & the staff was very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Managerl, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Leslie k S, What a great review! It is always appreciated when guests take a moment to let us know that they enjoyed their time at our Hyatt House. We are in the service business and work to make guests happy above all else. Thank you for your kind words and please consider a return trip. Best, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
MTMMP2020 wrote a review May 3
New York City, New York1 contribution
Location is excellent. Hotel is clean, great amenities, good breakfast included. Definitely the most cost-effective option in the wharf. Just plan ahead if you're going further away at late hours - the Uber fares on weekend nights are through the roof and the metro does shut down!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunny Finnell, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear MTMMP2020, On behalf of the entire staff here at the Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf, thank you for your glowing review! We are so glad to hear that our spotless rooms, excellent location, and exceptional value make for a great overall experience. Please find a reason to come and stay with us again. Best, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
Jay C wrote a review May 3
Hamden, Connecticut78 contributions63 helpful votes
Hyatt House is located directly on the Wharf in DC. Walk out the door and you are in the middle of dozens of popular restaurants, nightly activities, and a lively buzz of people walking the wharf. Or walk North 4 blocks and youre in the middle of all the National museums, Monuments, and Congressional buildings. The property is well run, clean, modern, and provides a great free breakfast. The only reason for not giving this 5 stars is that it is close to Washington National airport and the early morning departures do create some noise that is unavoidable. Not their fault and would effect all the hotels in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunny Finnell, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jay C, We are happy to see that you had a great stay at our Hyatt House thanks to our exceptional location on The Wharf. It is our pleasure to welcome guests to Washington and play a small part in their enjoyment of the city. We hope you will return to the area and stay with us every time you do. Best, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
jones554 wrote a review Apr 2022
Columbia, South Carolina1 contribution
Please visit the Hyatt , you won’t be disappointed!!!!! This is the best hotel hands down!! Very clean, the food and drinks were Awesome !!!! Also drinks by the fire-pit was Amazing!!!! Location was everything!!! Restaurants, many shops, bars you name it was there!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Concord Hospitality, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear jones554, Reviews just don't get any better than this one. Thank you so much for your support of our Hyatt House and your recognition of our spotless rooms and excellent location. We loved having you as our guest and we can't wait to welcome you back! Best, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
just2eazy4me wrote a review Apr 2022
Chesterfield, Virginia196 contributions88 helpful votes
Hyatt globalist. Booked using points on the a very busy weekend (st Patrick’s day AND cherry blossom). Room was small but we had a view of the water and everything was comfortable. We were able to arrive and check in easily and early. Staff were accommodating. It was clean. The breakfast was better than a Marriott’s free breakfast, which is a plus, but could still use some improvement. The entertainment and location is excellent we walked to the tidal basin to see the cherry blossoms. I would stay here again and at $599 a night for that weekend it was a steal for 15,000 points. Overall had a great time and was pleased.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Concord Hospitality, Owner at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Blownsbery, It is wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our Hyatt House. Our location, professional staff, and clean accommodations are typically the most celebrated aspects of the hotel in our guests' reviews so it is great that you agree. On behalf of the entire team here, thank you for your business and please come back soon. Best, Michael Anderson General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$248 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DC
NUMBER OF ROOMS
237
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Nearby attractions include Arena Stage (0.2 miles), The Wharf (0.06 miles), and Maine Avenue Fish Market (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whiskey Charlie, Mi Vida Restaurante, and Hank's Oyster Bar on The Wharf.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hyatt House Washington DC / The Wharf?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (2.4 miles), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (4.8 miles), and The President Woodrow Wilson House (2.9 miles).