We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2224 F St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2728
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$119
Hotels.com
Agoda.com$119
Priceline
Expedia.com$119
ZenHotels.com$173
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (610)
Room & Suite (161)
Dining (53)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 09/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Hive
Updated 09/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 154 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Mixing smart design with the unexpected, Hotel Hive unites modern innovation with historic character. Our distinctive 125-250 square foot rooms are perfectly unique hives for on-the-go guests looking to truly connect with the city. From its prime location, Hotel Hive guests can buzz about the city and return to a unique and innovative hotel experience.
Read more
Room & Suite (161)161
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
1,556Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,374
  • 135
  • 36
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sarahconch wrote a review Yesterday
Key West, Florida45 contributions3 helpful votes
Spent one night at this adorable edgy, micro hotel located by a University. 10 min Uber to DuPont circle full of bars or a walk up stairs to the scenic rooftop. &Pizza is so conveniently paired within the hotel lobby. John checked us in and was very professional and knowledgeable about the property. Wish the rooftop was open more frequently even just to hangout. Small but cute rooms, love the bunk bed experience!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Kels98107 wrote a review Jul 2020
Seattle, Washington27 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Booked a 1-night stay here in late July and loved every second of it. In advance, staff was very responsive to questions whether via e-mail or phone. Upon arrival, Ben got me checked in, and gave me some recommendations on places for a drink or food (and caveated of course with Covid there would be more closures than normal). He was super friendly! My room was honestly not small at all (Hive Queen) and while I'm sure sizes vary, they're very upfront about being a micro-hotel. That being said I had plenty of space and the room was well-equipped with everything I needed! Bed, TV, small desk, shower, safe, hair dryer, some hangers, and a little storage under the bed. I travel light so it was perfect. Note in the room reminded me to call if I needed toiletries or an iron, etc.; it's clear they've thought through taking care of their guests! The roof area was really spacious and I enjoyed a few beers and some pizza. Staff member taking care of patrons up there was super friendly. I highly recommend enjoying the space, weather, etc. permitting! Breakfast is very limited given the current conditions, but the woman working that morning was friendly, and cheerfully supplied me with coffee and a yogurt. The Front Desk staff graciously extended my checkout by an hour after I asked, and then stored my bag while I went to an appointment. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the Blue Line which gets you to Reagan Airport in 15 minutes. And you're extremely close walking to the Capitol sights! I really appreciated their Covid precautions too. All staff members were masked and gloved, and they reiterate at arrival that you agree to stay masked in indoor public areas, as well as some other considerations. I really felt that they were prioritizing the health of their staff and their guests, which made me feel comfortable. My only disappointment was that I didn't have a reason to stay longer! I can't wait to travel again (for fun) and enjoy D.C. - I will definitely be staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryna McEntee, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded Aug 1, 2020
Dear Kels98107, Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Hive! I'm so happy to hear that you had an all-around fantastic stay with us. I'm especially glad to hear that you felt the room was a perfect size for you, you enjoyed our pizza and drinks on the rooftop, and you had great interactions with our front desk and bar staff. Ben will certainly be recognized for his great recommendations and friendliness. We can't wait to welcome you back for an even longer stay in the future! Thanks, Bryna
Read more
Ben B wrote a review Oct 20
1 contribution
Be ready for small rooms, but you'll find a staff with big hearts. We had a warm welcome walking in and loved chatting with the front desk people and staff at the bar (while wearing masks and keeping practical distance). The location of this hotel is great. Very easy access to anywhere in downtown DC and walking distance to the Mall. We particularly loved our walk over to Roosevelt Island which has an awesome boardwalk over swamp land. The Foggy Bottom locale is very quiet at night. And don't forget to have some fresh baked pizza from the in-house &pizza ovens!!! It's soooo good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floor "Loft" rooms are only a little more expensive than the others, and worth it.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
flatcat90 wrote a review Oct 20
Boston, Massachusetts23 contributions12 helpful votes
I arrived late after a long drive and terrible traffic. The door was locked - a good security feature - and a press of the button unlocked the door. The desk is staffed 24/7 by smiling and welcoming people. As they explain, you are not in for luxury, but everything was impressively clean and I thought very comfortable. I loved the pillows. And while I normally don't care about the soaps and all that, I really liked the scent of the body wash and soap, to the point where I'd buy it if I knew where to get it. While I was not able to use the restaurant or bar because I arrived so late, I've eaten there before, and the food is excellent. The location was super convenient for my purposes, but would also be a good place to be as a tourist - you are right next to GWU with its shops and restaurants, not far from Foggy Bottom Metro stop, walking distance to the White House, the Mall, the Lincoln Memorial, the Kennedy Center, and a number of other sites and monuments. If you're driving, they have a good deal with a garage that is confusing to get to but steps away. I would note, though, that during this time of COVID-19, street parking is relatively easy to get. Depending on your needs, though, the garage parking is a reasonably priced alternative and seemed safe. If you are less interested in bells and whistles and more interested in reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, convenient lodging in the Capitol, Hotel Hive is a great choice. I will *definitely* stay here again during short trips to DC.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I chose the cheaper rooms over and under the restaurant. That's definitely not for everyone,...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Lilly B wrote a review Oct 19
11 contributions
First, I would like to thank Jacqui, Ben and Juhn for their excellent customer service. They went above and beyond to make my stay more comfortable. Thank you all for being so wonderful! This is a super cute boutique hotel. Very clean. It has a nice rooftop bar with fire pit. Nice neighborhood, very safe and close to city sightseeing. I stayed at room# 412, very cozy and quiet. It was a corner room, Tiny and adorable. Just perfect for me and my dog. Pet friendly hotel and they do not charge you for your pet! There’s an excellent pizza place inside the hotel, they make you any type of pizza you like. I’m vegan and they do have vegan options too. Overall wonderful! I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Thank you for your hospitality hotel Hive! I will see you soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCFoggy Bottom - GWU - West End / Upper Northwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hive
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hive?
Nearby attractions include The George Washington University Museum and The Textile Museum (0.2 miles), Department of State (0.2 miles), and George Washington University (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hive?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hive?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hive?
Conveniently located restaurants include &pizza - Foggy Bottom, CIRCA at Foggy Bottom, and Whole Foods Market.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Hive?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hive?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Hive?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (1.7 miles), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (3.2 miles), and Anderson House (0.9 miles).
Is Hotel Hive accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.