We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Echo Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Echo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Russell and Sharon were charming hosts - Russell met us off the ferry from Wellington and showed us Picton on our way to Echo Lodge. Lovely house with great view of the harbour, but our twin bedded room was rather small and dark, and the bathroom tiny with no soap or shower gel and only one hand towel, hence my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina J
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Echo Lodge. It is always hard as an owner to read about a guests disappointments after they have stayed as we could of corrected some of the issues had you raised at the time. Re the soap Shampoo etc, these are kept under the vanity unit in the ensuite. There are two...

Solo Aussie in Europe
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my two nights with Russell and Sharon at Echo Lodge. They have three rooms for guests, and I stayed in the largest - the Tui Room. This room also has the best view, across to the water. The bed was very comfortable, and the room and ensuite were spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent - despite the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 199,322,392
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Echo Lodge. As per my email to you it was lovely to chat with you and enjoy your positive outlook on life. You have such a great sense of humor. Kind Regards Sharon & Russell

Perth, Australia
Reviewed October 2, 2016

A very enjoyable B & B stay. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. The bed and pillow were the best on our trip so far. Breakfast variety was good along with gluten free options. Would definitely come back to this one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoyOz2016
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you and have you stay in our home. Kind Regards Sharon & Russell

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Echo Lodge. It's a beautiful B and B, convenient to the Picton-Wellington ferry, walking distance to restaurants and cafes. We had a very comfortable room with modern en suite bathroom, all spotlessly clean and fresh. Guests have a lovely wood heated lounge, dining and relaxing area. Sharon and Russell were perfect hosts, as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CXBell412
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Echo Lodge. We really appreciate your positive comments, it means a lot to us. We hope you do return one day. Kind Regards Sharon & Russell

Reviewed May 18, 2016

I had a fabulous 26th birthday at Echo Lodge. Sharon and Russell were excellent hosts and made me feel very relaxed and comfortable for the night I was there. The location was perfect, a 5-minute drive from the ferry where I was picked up and dropped off by Sharon and it was also a 5-minute stroll to the harbour where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed May 6, 2016

Our stay at the Echo Lodge was wonderful. The owners Sharon and Russell were great hosts. They were friendly and willing to accommodate your needs. The room was beautiful and comfortable. They picked up and dropped off guests from the ferry while we were there. The fire in the living room warmed the whole house. Tea and coffee always available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithMh
Reviewed March 31, 2016

We recently stayed at the Echo Lodge for 3 nights before we did the Queen Charlotte Track and the night following. Sharon & Russell were wonderful hosts and we loved staying at the Echo Lodge. The rooms were very comfortable. There were two lounges for guests and we sure used them and enjoyed them. There were books on New Zealand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to host your group in our home. You were all so friendly. We trust the rest of your holiday went well and that you will back to NZ one day. Kind Regards Sharon & Russell

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed March 30, 2016

We had a fantastic stay at the Echo lodge. The room was beautiful and the breakfast excellent. A huge spread with fresh eggs cooked to order! Our hosts even went the extra mile by picking us up from our ferry for no additional charge. I highly recommend the Echo Lodge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aisha M
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge and your recommendation. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope the final few months of you stay in NZ are perfect. Kind Regards Sharon & Russell

Roseville, California
Reviewed March 30, 2016

This is the most beautiful renovated older home with a lovely yard as well. Nice view of harbor. Well situated for easy walk to town. Hosts Sharon & Russell were so very accommodating. We had originally planned to stay just one night but 2 days before our arrival there called to inquire about adding a night. Sharon very graciously worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank route662016
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review Echo Lodge we really appreciate your feedback. We are glad you decided to stay in Picton an extra day and get to see our perfect little town. Thank You Sharon & Russell

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 29, 2016

House is situated overlooking Picton harbour but in a quiet location, 7 min walk to harbour. Immaculate rooms, very clean, period features, guest lounge with tea, coffee, biscuits, TV, games, DVDs. Excellent continental breakfast, choice of cereals, toast, fruit juice, fruit salad, yoghurt. Very helpful hosts with good local knowledge and very obliging. Comfortable beds, en-suite facilities with walk in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny A
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your excellent review. We hope you do come back to Picton and stay a little longer. Happy & Safe travels. Kind Regards Sharon & Russell

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.0 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Echo Lodge is a fully renovated villa overlooking the Picton Marina. It is an easy five minute stroll to the town centre with its many cafes, restaurants and tour operators and a two minute walk to the many bush and waterfront walking tracks in the area. We offer a large healthy continental breakfast which includes fresh fruit,home-made muffins and yoghurt, fresh breads and jams.We have two double rooms and one twin room. All our rooms have ensuites, luggage racks, flat-screen t.v.'s, electric blankets.We have two guest lounges where refreshments are available all day. There is a log-burner in one of the lounges to keep the house warm during the colder months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Echo Lodge

Address: 5 Rutland Street | Picton, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Price Range: $104 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Echo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Front ensuite room”
 of 5 bubbles RoyOz2016, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 78leslieb, Mar 31, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms easily accessible, parking on drive.”
 of 5 bubbles 317pennya, Mar 29, 2016 | Read review
“There are two doubles and a twin room. All seemed great.”
 of 5 bubbles CaroleB638, Mar 14, 2016 | Read review
“We chose the small room and spent our relaxing time in the guest lounge. Adds up to best value.”
 of 5 bubbles Bottle222, Feb 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay