We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Rochelle Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Rochelle Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Very warm welcome by host. Room is very comfortable with all you need to cater for yourself. Lovely private balcony. Clean bathroom and heavenly heated towel rail. Great location....short pleasant walk to the eateries. Definitely recommend La Rochelle. What a gem in a most beautiful place.

Helpful?
Thank Annie G
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Annie G, Thank you for reviewing our motel. We appreciate how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful place. The balcony overlooking the quiet stream and native garden are what makes our motel units special, unfortunately pictures never seem to do it justice. We hope you get a chance to come back to Akaroa again soon. Kind... More 

Albuquerque
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We arrived in Akaroa after dark on a rainy night. As we had forgotten to reserve a place to stay before arriving, we used Booking.com and quickly decided to book a room at La Rochelle. The office was supposed to be open, but no one was there. We walked to the restaurant across the street for dinner, where my husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeeAnnAlbuquerque
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi LeeAnnAlbuquerque, Thank you for the honest review of La Rochelle Motel. We apologise again for not being contactable upon your arrival. We pride ourselves on our customer service and reservation management so are disappointed that we were not there to greet you upon your arrival. The supermarket closes at 6.30pm in winter which does catch a few people out... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

We had a lovely three night stay at La Rochelle. The owners were so kind and helpful, organizing trips and babysitters for us. The accommodation is very comfortable and we would highly recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank 131_London
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi 131_London, Thanks for taking time to review our motel. As you know we have a couple of fantastic local ladies who are always happy to babysit if you are want another relaxing (childless) night out in Akaroa. We are always happy to share our local knowledge, help book tours and provide ideas on things to do in the area.... More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Very clean, comfortable, spacious rooms. Owners are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is on the quieter side of Akaroa, so its a short but pleasant walk to the majority of shops and restaurants. Rooms have a small stove and fridge, making it ideal for a longer stay. Price is very competitive.

Helpful?
Thank kc9ddi
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi kc9ddi, Thanks for taking time to review our motel. We appreciate the nice feedback and it is great to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope you get a chance to stay a little longer next time you visit Akaroa. Kind Regards Alex & Jane More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

I have stayed at La Ro hello several times while I visit family in Akaroa. The motel never disappoints on cleanliness and comfort. The units are well equipped with everything you need for a short stay. The motel has changed hands since I was last there but the standard is just as high as it was with ore ions owners.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill R
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jill, Thank you for staying at La Rochelle Motel again and for taking time to submit a review. We are glad you appreciate the effort our team puts into keeping the motel in clean and comfortable. We hope you get a chance to back to Akaroa again in the near future. Kind Regards Alex & Jane More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Good clean roomy motel room at one end of Akaroa. Helpful owner. Wee selection of plants opposite that runs an honesty box is worth a look. DVD selection on offer in office. Will stay here again next summer :)

Helpful?
Thank ChristchurchCoopers
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Coopers, Thank you for the review of our motel. We are glad you were able to find time to relax with a DVD or two. A local landscape gardener, Tracey operates the small garden centre across the road and has some really good bargains. We hope you found space in your garden for all your purchases. Until next summer,... More 

Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

Alex and Jane are amazing hosts! They are friendly and welcoming, as well as for the rooms. Everything is just perfect, clean as if it was new. The place is quiet, and yet close to the shops and restaurants (10 min walk). I definitely recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank Mat L
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mat L, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you appreciate the efforts of the cleaning staff at the motel. We trust you are enjoying the rest of your trip around NZ and manage to escape Auckland when you finally get up there. Hopefully you get a chance to visit Akaroa again soon. Kind Regards Alex & Jane More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

Great rooms, clean and comfy. Reception was very helpful and gave us tips for our further journey through South Island. Room was a bit dark, but did not matter. Really enjoyed our stay there. All good

Helpful?
Thank Andreas F
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Andreas, Thank you for the great review. It good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Akaroa. Thank you for the feedback in regards to the amount of natural light in the room. It is appreciated. We normally allow the garden to develop over summer so we have started pruning back the garden this... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

We spent a comfortable night at La Rochelle motel. The proprietor , Alex was kind enough to call us after we had left , offering to post clothing which we had inadvertently left behind to another place that we were to visit. This is great service from a considerate and professional proprietor. The motel is close to Akaroa facilities, has... More 

Helpful?
Thank bdsmt
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi bdsmt, Thank you for taking time out of your holiday to review our motel. It is much appreciated. We hope you are enjoying your trip down the coast and that you are reunited with your clothing in due course. Thanks again, kind regards Alex & Jane More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Comfortable, clean and spacious rooms with parking available. The owner Alex at reception was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions for our stay on the banks peninsula. Easy walk to a number of neighbouring bars and restaurants. Can't fault it.

Helpful?
Thank David S
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi David, Thanks for positive review of our motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to get out and explore the peninsula region. There are plenty of hidden attractions to experience in the area. We are also extremely fortunate to have a great selection of restaurants for a town of our size. We hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#4 of 25 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vangioni
Villa Vangioni
#2 of 26 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 26 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $83 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay