We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Rochelle Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Rochelle Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very welcoming host. We had the disability studio unit and although small suited me perfectly. Door into bathroom only suits standard size chair, but handles everywhere and great shower. Access to bed is easy. Nice kitchenette and the motel was close to all facilities and restaurants. Each groundfloor studio had its own private patio which would have been lovely on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Herc54
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely unit, nicely decorated with a wee balcony overlooking native trees and a stream. Warm and comfortable and the owners were very welcoming and helpful. It's well situated, just a stroll to the shops and the waterfront. Great to have an iPod dock too!

Helpful?
Thank CMW015
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi CMW015, Thank for taking time to review La Rochelle motel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to take some time out to wander around Akaroa and see the sights. We are lucky that our motel units all have such a relaxing outlook over the little stream and native garden. Thanks... More 

New
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a saturday night here just to get out of the city for a weekend. The room was comfortable and well appointed (and had the sports channel on TV). We were upstairs and there was a nice balcony with a pleasant trickling stream below. It was a little cold to sit outside though - snow on the surrounding hills... More 

Helpful?
Thank nzbill
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi nzbill, Thank you for taking time to review La Rochelle Motel. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have currently have Sky sport 1 & 2 for the sport lovers who stay. We are looking forward to the super rugby final and the Olympics coming up this month. Winter has also finally arrived in... More 

Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed two nights, and was warmly welcomed by the host - who went out of her way to make sure my room was checked and perfect. Rooms were quiet , roomy , laid out with everything I could possibly need or want during my stay. A short walk to local cafes, waterfront and grocery store. Highly recommended :)

Helpful?
Thank Teri12471
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Teri12471, Thanks for taking time to review us and provide such a great recommendation. We are glad you had a fantastic time in Akaroa and found everything to your liking in your room. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your trip. Kind Regards Alex & JAne More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Very warm welcome by host. Room is very comfortable with all you need to cater for yourself. Lovely private balcony. Clean bathroom and heavenly heated towel rail. Great location....short pleasant walk to the eateries. Definitely recommend La Rochelle. What a gem in a most beautiful place.

Helpful?
Thank Annie G
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Annie G, Thank you for reviewing our motel. We appreciate how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful place. The balcony overlooking the quiet stream and native garden are what makes our motel units special, unfortunately pictures never seem to do it justice. We hope you get a chance to come back to Akaroa again soon. Kind... More 

Albuquerque
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We arrived in Akaroa after dark on a rainy night. As we had forgotten to reserve a place to stay before arriving, we used Booking.com and quickly decided to book a room at La Rochelle. The office was supposed to be open, but no one was there. We walked to the restaurant across the street for dinner, where my husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeeAnnAlbuquerque
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi LeeAnnAlbuquerque, Thank you for the honest review of La Rochelle Motel. We apologise again for not being contactable upon your arrival. We pride ourselves on our customer service and reservation management so are disappointed that we were not there to greet you upon your arrival. The supermarket closes at 6.30pm in winter which does catch a few people out... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

We had a lovely three night stay at La Rochelle. The owners were so kind and helpful, organizing trips and babysitters for us. The accommodation is very comfortable and we would highly recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank 131_London
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi 131_London, Thanks for taking time to review our motel. As you know we have a couple of fantastic local ladies who are always happy to babysit if you are want another relaxing (childless) night out in Akaroa. We are always happy to share our local knowledge, help book tours and provide ideas on things to do in the area.... More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Very clean, comfortable, spacious rooms. Owners are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is on the quieter side of Akaroa, so its a short but pleasant walk to the majority of shops and restaurants. Rooms have a small stove and fridge, making it ideal for a longer stay. Price is very competitive.

Helpful?
Thank kc9ddi
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi kc9ddi, Thanks for taking time to review our motel. We appreciate the nice feedback and it is great to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope you get a chance to stay a little longer next time you visit Akaroa. Kind Regards Alex & Jane More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

I have stayed at La Ro hello several times while I visit family in Akaroa. The motel never disappoints on cleanliness and comfort. The units are well equipped with everything you need for a short stay. The motel has changed hands since I was last there but the standard is just as high as it was with ore ions owners.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill R
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jill, Thank you for staying at La Rochelle Motel again and for taking time to submit a review. We are glad you appreciate the effort our team puts into keeping the motel in clean and comfortable. We hope you get a chance to back to Akaroa again in the near future. Kind Regards Alex & Jane More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Good clean roomy motel room at one end of Akaroa. Helpful owner. Wee selection of plants opposite that runs an honesty box is worth a look. DVD selection on offer in office. Will stay here again next summer :)

Helpful?
Thank ChristchurchCoopers
LaRochelleAkaroa, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Coopers, Thank you for the review of our motel. We are glad you were able to find time to relax with a DVD or two. A local landscape gardener, Tracey operates the small garden centre across the road and has some really good bargains. We hope you found space in your garden for all your purchases. Until next summer,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#4 of 25 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vangioni
Villa Vangioni
#2 of 26 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 26 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $87 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay