We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (171)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (12)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Wake up to expansive water views of beautiful Takamatua Bay, tranquil rolling hills, nature surrounds and charming gardens dotted with nut and fruit trees. Enjoy Jane's special welcome and hospitality and the pleasure of her delicious gourmet breakfast made from fresh produce mostly from L'Abri's own garden! Enjoy the modcons of the light-filled home and your beautifully appointed room and bathroom, or relax in the picturesque ambiance of the deck and let your cares drift away...
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
254Reviews
177Photos
0Q+A
61Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 236
  • 10
  • 3
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is an immaculate property, superbly situated overlooking Takamatua bay. Our room, one of only two in the main house was comfortable, beautifully furnished and full of goodies such as Jane's home-made walnut cookies. It overlooked the lake and Jane's stunning gardens which
Read more
+2
I really was hoping for more given the 5.0 stars. Jane is really a sweet woman and I hate giving poor reviews but as a traveler I look to these reviews for honesty. First off, we did not stay in the main house so I cannot speak as to the quality of those rooms as they may be a
Read more
Response from Cruiser51528976294, Owner at L'Abri
Responded Dec 26, 2018
Your wholesale travel agent is the correct portal for you to complain to if you were not happy with their choice for you. You have much of the information here incorrect. The garden cottage is and never has been a 5 star accommodation, more of a 3 star. I have it as an alternative to the harbour rooms for people wanting a nice experience but not having to pay as much. You still come up to the house for breakfast to enjoy both the full breakfast and talk with other guests and enjoy the spectacular view. The property is in the countryside, is organic and is surrounding by many gardens. The following....insects crawling everywhere, INCORRECT( must have been a bad dream you had), one spider, correct and I'm sorry. Stains all over the carpet, INCORRECT. It is a cut pile wool carpet and with walking on will flatten in different areas. With the Persian capers you can hardly see the carpet anyway. Plants growing through the walls, INCORRECT. A leaf coming through a window, correct. Very dated....well some of the furniture are French antiques. Goes with the French influence in the area. I would say there wouldn't be an operator here that could afford to change the furniture every year or so. You wouldn't have anywhere to stay! SO correct your review IS NOT.
Read more
My wife and me had 3 wonderful days (and nights) in Jane's cosy B&B. We enjoyed the marvelous view from our room overlooking the Akaroa Harbour. We also enjoyed Jane's warm hospitality and specially her gorgeous morning breakfast. We loved the cats and the 3 hens looking thru
Read more
+3
we just landed in Christchurch and drove to Akaroa and L'Abri is about 3km before the town. It is rather hard to miss as it's got a beautiful and week kept garden.. we were greeted by the every friendly Jane who is a wonderful hostess.. L'Abri is a beautiful house and very well
Read more
A lovely place, a very beautiful garden , very nice and cosy accomodation and a great host Jane! Everything we need was in the cottage present. We liked it very much in spite of the rain. Liesbeth & Ad
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Harbour View 1 - our room for the night
PreviousNext
1234569
"Loved the private cottage but the upper rooms enjoy a water view"
"We always choose best room available but assume all rooms were of a high standard"
"The cottage in the garden is a delight."
"Both rooms in the main house have their own private deck with views over the bay."
"Both rooms have good view of the bay."
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
$189 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionAkaroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing