We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Theophano Art Hotel

Save
Traveler (114)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (8)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“classical music”(9 reviews)
“the owner”(43 reviews)
“bath products”(3 reviews)
Name/address in local language
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
107
23
8
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
107
23
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclassical musicthe ownerbath productshomemade breakfastphoto exhibitionmagnificent castleantique furnitureevery guestmain buildingown househand madebeautiful boutique hotelyogurtgreek hospitalitya wonderful place to stayquiet areaan amazing view
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We were a family of 11 adults, who stayed 3 nights at this amazing, interesting, authentic and very comfortable hotel. Each room was different and special and we were all very happy. Our host "Phani" was exceptional ; interesting, warm, generous and gave us excellent...More

Thank Roy F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel and overall grounds are absolutely charming. Our room had a comfortable bed and nice clean sheets. The shower is small, but completely adequate. We really enjoyed the homemade breakfasts and Theophano herself. She is a very interesting lady and if she has the...More

Thank PAnne2016
Reviewed April 21, 2018

A beautiful boutique hotel with nicely decorated rooms. The untouched walls of the Byzantine empire make the whole place an amazing building. Don't forget to meet the owner Fani. She is so cultivated and elegant. Finally, the sea view from our room was just perfect.

Thank vlasios
Response from Fani Z, Owner at Theophano Art HotelResponded May 15, 2018

Thank you!

Reviewed April 12, 2018

By far one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever visited. The hotel is located in one of the best locations in Monemvasia. Only a 5minute walk from the Castle's gate, the cafes & restaurants, but at the same time in a quiet area...More

1  Thank Panagiota_Mam
Response from Fani Z, Owner at Theophano Art HotelResponded May 15, 2018

Dear Panagiota, very big thank you for your wonderful review! Please come again!

Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

The most unprofessional & offensive behavior I have ever encountered in my whole travel life! They wanted to give us a room separate from the hotel, with NO WiFi, old blankets instead of quilt, and a TINY bathroom (not even 1 square meter & with...More

Thank 591vasilikia
Response from Fani Z, Owner at Theophano Art HotelResponded April 23, 2018

Mr/Mrs, You were interested to book a room during the Easter holiday and called us one day before arriving. Over the phone, we explained that we had a last room available, stated the price & hotel policy, described the room to you and pointed you...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Monemvasia
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$72 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
#3 Family Hotel in Monemvasia
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$72 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
#3 Family Hotel in Monemvasia
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (114)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
holidaysbeverley
August 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Fani Z | Property representative |
Dear Lesley J, thank you so much for replying to Mrs Davis Re parking near the Castle! Dear Mrs Davis, let us know if you need any further details. kind regards, on behalf of Theophano art hotel
0
Votes
John B
Dear hihihi, I admit this is an unsolicited response, but I felt compelled to respond to you review. First, let me assure you I have no vested interest of any kind in Theophano Art Hotel. I would like to address several of you points by quoting you. "...Floors with white marbles in traditional houses of greek countryside??? This for me is bad taste, at least have carpets at wintertime!!!" Perhaps white marble floors may be poor taste in traditional countryside homes, but seems you have missed the point that is a traditional Byzantine restored home, and the marbles are perfectly in accord with this ambiance! "...the least one should expect is a cappucino in his room when you wish to order,,,they do not have this type of coffee.!!!" Speaking of poor taste, one should question what taste is expecting cappucino in the room of a Byzantine establishment. Perhaps Byzantine coffee? Just saying... "...The decoration is ok but much less than we expected." You are partially correct. But then again, simplicity, elegance, and historic perspective, require knowledge and understanding. "... tv too small for the really huge room, no way you can watch from bed." In such romantic place, with presumably good company, and it's tv you want to watch in bed? Hmmmm... I suppose this sets the level... "...The only positive of the whole thing was the balcony , really one of the best views, but certainly not worth what they charged us!!!" As Warren Buffet says, "price is what you pay; value is what you get!"
July 26, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Fani Z | Property representative |
We value all guest reviews highly, both positive and negative, as we constantly use the feedback provided to improve our services. This is evident by the fact that we try to respond to most of the reviews we receive. All the... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Rooms just above the reception are the best."
Read review
"not recommended"
Read review
"It seems each room is different, and priced accordingly. Some are quite grand, others minimal, All are..."
Read review
"The base floor rooms have direct access to a quiet colorful road where you can sit and drink your coffee or..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing