We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wiener Strasse 6, Mariazell 8630 Austria
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (78)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (15)


#4 of 6 hotels in Mariazell
In the heart of Mariazell, overlooking the Mariazell Basilica, you find the AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch. Nestled in a unique natural landscape and surrounded by majestic mountain scenery, even the most demanding conference and holiday wishes will fullfill. In the exclusive and cozy atmosphere of the AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch experience all year love of life, conferences, exhibitions, wellness and sport on the highest level. The hotel offers 55 modern rooms of different categories, all equipped with bath or shower / WC, telephone, cable TV, hairdryer and some with balcony. Discover our culinary offers at the hotel’s restaurant „Hirschenwirt“: in our interpretation of an iconic inn, we serve what is part of our tradition and has season. From regional game specialties up to Schweinsbratl with bread dumplings, and Styrian home cooking, like grandma's kitchen, everything is prepared fresh. Opening hours: 12 pm to 9 pm (Friday and Saturday) unti 9:30 pm. Our coffee-bar Platzhirsch is open daily from 10 am to 10 pm (Friday and Saturday until 12 pm) and invites you to relax with a famous Austrian coffee or glass of wine after an eventful day. In our small but lovely spa area you will find a „Wildalpen“mountain springwater pool (water temperature 24°C), a steam room, a sauna, a Kneipp pool as well as an infrared cabin (for a fee) and a massage room (appointments required). Experience the special atmospere of AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Indoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian


Full view
69Somewhat walkable
Grade: 69 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
103Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 28
  • 21
  • 20
  • 11
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lochy82 wrote a review Jul 2018
New South Wales, Australia22 contributions7 helpful votes
We were two couples passing through Mariazel looking for a decent place to stay the night... and we found it. Although check in was supposed to be 4pm, we arrived earlier and it was no problem to be checked in. Even got an upgrade as the hotel was very quite. Rooms are modestly appointed. Nothing fancy, yet nothing offensive either. I can well imagine this place being very busy in the winter months. Staff were very friendly, professional and only too willing to help with anything we needed. We walked around town looking for a place to have dinner and actually settled on having dinner at the restaurant attached to the hotel. We read some reviews saying the service was slow and so had to laugh when we found this to be true. Even though, the waiter was only too willing to oblige our every whim. Very curtious and patient with our terrible use of the Austrian language. Considering we had nowhere else to be, waiting a little longer for a meal really isn’t the end of the world. The food was incredible and very reasonably priced for what we got. In the end it was four happy people who couldn’t eat or drink another thing. All in all the hotel was perfect for a quick stop over. We wish we could have stayed longer to explore the area a bit more, but had a wedding to attend in Judenburg. ps- loved the antlers
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Team Q, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Responded Sep 1, 2018
Dear Mrs. & Mr Lochy82, thanks four your nice rating. Nice to hear that everything was fine and maybe we will welcome you a second time in our hotel. Best regards - Your Team Quality AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Read more
Manala K wrote a review Feb 2018
8 contributions11 helpful votes
Cold super modest room.. Checking in time is at 16h!!!!while checking out is at 10h am.. Imagine you must empty the room before even finishing your breakfast. No coffee served at the table you got to stay in a long queue to get a bad coffee from the machine. Buffet almost empty not refilled. Wifi doesnt work in the room. Slow employees.. Need half an hour for a simple bill. Unfriendly owner... We left sick.. Such a bad experience.. Manuela
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Ciote T wrote a review Jan 2018
1 contribution
Stayed there for Christmas and New Year The room was good we had a renovated one ,not a 4 star the food was not so good .Everything was k until the New year party when we asked for 2-3 plates of cheese and 2 plates of fruits .The lady who served us brought us some glasses filled with cheese and some with meat and onion that did not order also some peanuts .The bill was outrageous 270 € only for the cheese. When I complained about it they say they can not help that I have to pay I was k with the drinks and everything else that I ordered but not with the 270 € for the cheese.Very disappointed .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Response from Team Q, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Responded Jan 26, 2018
Dear Mrs. Ciote, we a irritated about your review regarding your New Year's Eve Party in our hotel. We provided for your group of in total 15 people a separated room to celebrate. During the evening you ordered several dishes which all were charged on one total bill: 15 x Euro 8,00 for generous plates of meat, cheese and fish-snacks and 15 x Euro 5,00 for the ordered fruit plates. Additionally your children ordered 2 kg of peanuts and we also had to charge the champagne-glasses which you broke during the party in front of the house. So summarized the Euro 270,00 were not only for cheese but for snacks for a group of 15 people celebrating the whole evening. We were also disappointed that your youngsters hacked the laptop which we had prepared for DJ-Music this evening although we clearly indicated several times, that touching our equipment is not allowed. So your review is definitely exaggerated and misleading. Your Team Quality of AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Read more
Marco B wrote a review Oct 2017
Rome, Italy247 contributions72 helpful votes
for my Motorcycle Association I booked at this hotel nine double rooms for single use, and next to my stay I booked another room which after a few days had to cancel. The hotel has applied its cancellation policy by charging 70% of the total amount for the canceled room. All in the right and we would miss it but commercially they do not seem to have made a good figure. Let's now look at the description of the Hoel Aktive. The hotel is located in the center of the town of Mariazell. My room was large enough, very clean, with double ensuite bathroom: in a room the toilet and bidet, while the other the shower and the washbasin. The breakfast was great and plentiful, only a criticism: breakfast generally later than the standard standard. For dinner I have to say that there has always been a good variation on the menu and in the case of a choice outside the planned menu there were no objections of sorts. The staff was always very courteous. I did not have the option, just for my choice, to take advantage of the hotel's spa. All in all, the Aktive Hotel is a good 4 *
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
odonnerer wrote a review Sep 2017
Graz, Austria28 contributions9 helpful votes
This house is located near the famous basilica of Mariazell. The rooms are clean and pleasing. The kitchen has a good standard, the breakfast contents all you want. The staff is friendly and endeavoured to the guests. Unfortunately the hotel has a problem due to the different levels in two houses, so you may choose a room in the first part, where the reception is situated !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Team Q, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Responded Sep 13, 2017
Dear donnerer, thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to learn that you had a very good overall experience during your stay. Our house was built and rebuilt during many years and due to the slope surrounding Mariazell there are two different levels. This can not be changed but we took all effort to make all signs easy and understandable. Best regards from Mariazell - your Team Quality of AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Read more
wischei wrote a review Jun 2016
Mykonos, Greece129 contributions37 helpful votes
This hotel has **** stars on its entrance but is by far not the standard one expects from such classification. It has spacious rooms which are - at least in part - only rudimentary equipped (no seating suite, no armchair, an minimal writing place and no minibar). However, the room was clean and had a well functioning, modern bath room. The lobby, bar and restaurant and to an lesser extent the rooms are of awful design, a horrible mix-up of incongruous colors, shapes and styles. The breakfast which is served within this disturbing environment, however, was excellent in variety and quality.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Team Q, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Responded Jul 11, 2016
Dear Wischel, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in detail. We are very pleased to hear, that you liked our breakfast variety and enjoyed size of rooms and bathroom facilities . On our website you can find a wide range of realistic images representing our style well. Taste is very individual and we are very sorry that you have not been satisfied in this matter. Best regards - your Team quality of AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Read more
Family_Toth wrote a review Dec 2015
Budapest, Hungary9 contributions4 helpful votes
We (with my wife) spent a very enjoyable advent weekend in the Hotel Weisser Hirsch. Our room was very comfortable with a nice balkon to the street (this street cannot be used by car on the advent weekends) so it was quiet enough (unfortunately sometimes we could hear the people's "noise" from the adjacent room but it was not so serious). The staff was very friendly (from the recepcio till the restaurant). The buffet breakfast was very fine as the 4 gang menu at the dinner also. There is a very nice wellness area in the hotel (pool, sauna). So I can recommend this Hotel for everybody.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Team Q, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Responded Jan 20, 2016
Dear Family Toth, thank you so much for your pleasant comment on our house. We hope to see you soon in AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch - Your Team Quality
Read more
Trevor H wrote a review Aug 2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa49 contributions22 helpful votes
This hotel is difficult to find and to get to down dual one way streets on two levels. Difficult to find parking in the street and to get to the hotel parking at the back is not simple. Fortunately they have signposted the route. Coming in from the parking brings you into the hotel on level 3 but in a different building. Although my room was 302 I was not told that my room was in a different building so I had to hunt around to solve this weird puzzle. Eventually I found that I had to take one lift down to the 2nd floor and a different lift up to the 3rd floor. At the end of a long motorcycle journey in poor weather and laden down with a rain suit over my clothes all the above was a very tedious and tiring palaver just trying to get to a room for a rest. I got a "special low rate" of 71 euro but I also got an old "standard" room with a very old TV. I enquired at reception when booking in if they had some English TV channels. I was told that they do but they did not know what channels they were. Not surprised they did not know this because there are none. This is rated as a 4 star hotel. The Internet was too weak to work in my room so I tried to use it in the dining room, the bar and the reception - all useless. As for the rest, just another hotel, best suited to old people. To end on a positive note, the scrambled eggs were possibly the best I have ever had in a hotel, usually stodgy and over cooked, these were fluffy and were amazingly flavourful. The bacon was very good too. Ce'st la vie!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Traveled solo
Felix_K2 wrote a review Apr 2015
Vienna, Austria11 contributions7 helpful votes
We've been in Mariazell for a weekend in April 2015. We've booked the hotel due to a very attractive offer. The staff was very friendly and welcoming during our stay. The hotel is in the centre of the small town Mariazell, next to the famous basilica. We've received a room with view on the basilica and the quiet main street. But I guess that this was due to the off-season. The hotel consists of two buildings which were separate hotels in the past. So there are many rooms also in the back. We've used the spa area with a small pool, sauna and steam bath on the first day. The water of the pool was cold and there was no warm water in the shower of the spa area. But that wasn't a problem for us. The sauna was very nice and relaxing. Our room was large and very clean. The bathroom was not the newest one but also very clean. The reason however why I rate the hotel with five points is the breakfast. I've enjoyed all single items which I've tried very much as they were all of very high Styrian quality!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
HorstSL wrote a review May 2014
Talisoara, Romania30 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed there after a 100 km bike trip through the mountains and enjoyed very much the very nice and friendly style of this place! Very warm welcoming. Only watch out if you get a room with a connecting door: you can hear the snoring of the neighbor.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
$152 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Weisser Hirsch
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch
Which popular attractions are close to AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch?
Nearby attractions include Basilika Mariazell (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stadtheuriger, Brauhaus Mariazell, and Scherfler´s Restaurant im Hotel Goldenes Kreuz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch have an airport shuttle?
Yes, AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch have airport transportation?
Yes, AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the center of Mariazell.
Are any cleaning services offered at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at AKTIVHOTEL Weisser Hirsch?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.