We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Color Hotel Skagen

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Color Hotel Skagen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We mostly choosed the hotel because it's pet friendly and so it is. Staff is great and helpful. When it comes to the 4 star's I'm wondering a bit how it's possible. .? The rooms would need a bit of love and some update. . The same about outdoor areas

Helpful?
Thank Niels Peter P
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Unexpected good quality restaurant. The food is prepared with good combinations of flavours. Some unexpected good. The wine list is also good and the waiters recommendations are good. I have my doubts visiting this place in summertime, bit out of season it's great.

Helpful?
Thank Jan Olav G
Majbritt B, Marketingkoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear Jan Olav G Thank you for your review We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit in our restaurant and we hope to see you again another time. More 

Asia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

Many of Color lines ventures overstates its levels of comfort and quality, this hotel is no exception, and portrays itself as something it's not, namely a 4 star. On a good day it might get 3, but you would have to be pretty generous. Not that there is anything wrong with it as a fairly basic accommodation; it's clean, has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Realtravelasia
Majbritt B, Marketingkoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear Realtravelasia Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you do not see the hotel as a 4-star hotel. The things that you list as missing in the rooms, are not demands for a 4-star hotel. We are very proud of our 4 stars and we do everything we can to maintain these 4 stars. We... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

My family and I stayed in Skagen this summer. We choose this hotel for its large rooms and pool... and we were not disappointed. We had very nice weather and made good use of the pool and outdoor saunas. Our unit, was very pleasant, comfortable and large enough for a family with children. Cleaning prior to our arrival was probably... More 

Helpful?
Thank NB682014
Majbritt B, Marketingkoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear NB682014 Thank you very much for your review We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay here. We hope that you will visit us again another time - and if you get the chance as a couple to visit us, we have double rooms, superior rooms and suites in the main building - which are suited... More 

Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

The review is for accommodation only as we didn't use any of the other facilities, except the kids had a dip in the pool. It is located a 5 min drive, 30 min walk outside Skagen in a nice and quiet residential area. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with kitchenette. It was spacious, nice and clean. All you need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walk-a-bout0606
Majbritt B, Marketingkoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear Walk-a-bout0606 Thank you for your kind review It is nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay here. We look forward to seeing you again another time More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

Color Hotel Skagen is a good place to stay without paying excessively much, and still having a quality place you enjoy going to relax. The grounds are lovely, no bad surprises in the room, and the dining hall and lobby are both fashionable and cozy. The Breakfast was good, and the staff were all very kind to me. I wish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate F
Majbritt B, Marketingkoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear Kate F Thank you very much for your kind reservation. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hopefully you will visit us again another time. More 

Varhaug, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

That's the question ..... The attitude of the staff is so ... Connie , Lasse sonnesen, omar from restaurant . The front office staff , every single person in this hotel gives u the feeling ,,,, why the hell r u here???? It's amazing how dismissive they are about this when I started talking about it .

Helpful?
1 Thank Roshan N
Majbritt B, Marketingkoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear Roshan N Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you felt this way when visiting us. This is not the reaction, we are use to getting - on the contrary our staff is usually very attentive and service-minded. We hope that you will visit us again another time. More 

Honefoss, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

Nice hotel with excelent serviceminded staff. The room was nice. We eat in the cafe the evening we arrive. Good food to affordable prices. The breakfast was verry good. The pool was closed before we arrived, so we couldent test it.

Helpful?
Thank 224bj_rng
Majbritt B, Marketingkoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear 224bj_mg Thank you very much for the kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again another time More 

Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
391 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

The hotel is located at the outskirts if Skagen, 25-30 minute walk into the center. ( I believe they have bicycles for hire which would take you into town in a few minutesand with no hills). Plenty of complementary parking spots available at the hotel. We stayed in the main building. The room was large, but very basic and generic,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vestfoldgirl
Majbritt B, Marketingkoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear Vestfoldgirl Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. We hope to see you again another time More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

the hotel is fairly basic with regards to the rooms. dinner was nice though. the worst experience must be to be met with a locked fire door when trying to get into the lobby at night, only to be met by a rude man saying 'what do you want' in an aggressive tone.

Helpful?
Thank Official_Spud_Ley
Majbritt B, Marketingcoordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review

Dear Official_Spud_Ley Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear about your experience during your visit here. Because of security reasons the doors to the lobby are locked during the night - from around midnight until early morning. It is always possible to get in touch with the staff by using the doorbell by the door or by calling... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagen
1.3 mi away
Ruths Hotel
Ruths Hotel
#1 of 3 in Skagen
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
14.0 mi away
Jerup Bette Kro
Jerup Bette Kro
#1 of 1 in Jerup
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
10.4 mi away
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Aalbaek Gl Kro
#1 of 1 in Albaek
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Skibssmedien Skagen
1.3 mi away
Hotel Petit
Hotel Petit
#3 of 26 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sonderstrand
Hotel Sonderstrand
#6 of 26 in Skagen
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Color Hotel Skagen is the only 4-star hotel in Skagen. The hotel is located between Old Skagen and Skagen centre in the middle of the beautiful nature. Are you looking for a spontaneous and informal weeekend with your sweetheart or a trip with your friends to experience the culture and nature in Skagen, you've come to the perfect place. We also have first class pampering if you want to enjoy exclusive wine, 3 course dinners and the hotel's many facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Color Hotel Skagen

Address: Gl. Landevej 39, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Price Range: $200 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Color Hotel Skagen 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Color Hotel Skagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay