We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Krisjanis & Gertrude

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Krisjanis & Gertrude
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 18: English reviews
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
146 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

I stayed there in September 2015 during my business trip to Riga. I was lucky as everything went well. I had a quiet room, the conditions were ok and the breakfast was good. I could also use the internet in the hall and the location is close to the centre. You cannot compare it to a hotel but I think... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
Roma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpul (except for the lady that greeted us on arrival, who barely spoke English). The room was ok, equipped with all amenities you should expect from a B&B, like TV set, boiler, etc (We could watch the Djokovic Murray semifinal @ Roland Garros). I just have to say that the room was a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank joeit72
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I like this nice bed & breakfast hotel very much. It is centrally located in Riga and easy to get to by public transport. The room is nicely decorated with en-suite bathroom. There is free wifi and there is also a computer with a printer in the lounge. The staff of the hotel is very helpful and makes my stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PakTimFung
Santpoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I will NEVER book this B&B again! All rooms are on the street side. Tram (street car) passes by about every 5 minutes. Sounds like it's running straight through your room!!! And then I don't even want to mention the cobble road, where you can hear the cars and trucks roll over... We booked for 2 nights, but after the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mario1972_13
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's confusing for me to see the positive reviews of K&G here and in Lonely Planet. The price was indeed good, but we stayed in an extremely small and noticeably dirty room with unbelievable traffic noise. I live in a downtown area anyway (and always travel with earplugs), but this really extreme. Keeping the windows closed did help a bit,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mochimo
Moscow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Friendly woman greeted me on the third floor, after I had a very hard time dragging my suitcase up the steep wooden stairs. Once I was able to catch my breath, I entered the wonderful spacious bright room, where we were to spend for 4 nights. The room was very comfortable, I liked the big window viewing the silent street... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inga S
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have found K&G hotel through tripadvisor and were not disappointed at all. In short - We spent three night at K&G. The place is an old manor house in the center of Riga, some 15 minutes walk from the old city. The building is well preserved, the room was spacious and comfortable, quiet despite facing two busy streets. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank David_Kirmayer
Helsinki
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really would like to give this lovely B&B full points: the two ladies who provided the breakfasts and any answers(in English & German(ish for my part)) to the questions I asked were absolutely lovely! The interior and rooms were very clean indeed and charming in their old fashioned way but I must say that the house itself did show... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Surrealname
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is close to the old city and city center. The staff is really friendly and the young girl who attended me spoke good English. The hotel was clean and the bed was quite good. It is a an old wooden house, refurbished, that shakes every time the tram passes by. The walls are thin so you can clearly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank countrytrotter
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by people in the next room, and we shall certainly look at the possibility of improving the sound insulation when we next refurbish. It is however not a general problem. The shaking sometimes when a tram passes is unfortunate, but is because the house, being an early 19th century construction does not have... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, and am so glad I chose this place. It really is a home away from home. I was given a 3-person room,which was very comfortable. It was cleaned and serviced daily. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great-an easy 15-minute stroll from the Old Town (or 2 tram stops). There... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank VVV77
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. To quote John Dowland "Come again!" More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#2 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Krisjanis Barons street where is crosses Gertrude street, in Riga centre, this B&B is named after both streets. Each of the 6 rooms has an individual style. The design attempts to capture the charm and comfort of the best small hotels in UK provincial cities. Many of the guests are artists or musicians. A large common room can be used for meetings and has a PC with Internet connection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Krisjanis & Gertrude

Address: Krishjana Barona iela 39, Riga 1011, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Class:3 star — Krisjanis & Gertrude 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Krisjanis & Gertrude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay