We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Bern

Show Prices
#23 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 847: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff was friendly, room was compact, but have to mention that the pillows were really nice ones! Brekkie ok. Location exellent if you want to hang out between the shopping center and the old town on Tallin.

Helpful?
Thank Mari A
Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This small, no frills hotel is very close to the old city where you may arrive after less than a 10-minute walk. It is also within a 5 minute walk to the main department stores. Hotel and room are kept quite clean. Shower area is a bit small and would have benefited from having its own shower tray rather than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boffer
London, UK
Level Contributor
266 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Bern is conveniently located being a short walk from the charming old town but the disadvantage is that it is in a rougher part of town and shares a courtyard with a beer cellar. Our room was of medium size but rather jaded with light coloured walls and a somewhat worn reddish brown carpet. The bed was uncomfortable with... More 

Helpful?
Thank mfranks911
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good located between harbour and old city. You can walk everywhere. In the neighbourhood nice restorants. Quiet and nice hotel. No noise from outside. Breakfast sufficient. Good value for your money. Not luxury but clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Akujuha
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Akujuha Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that the location of the hotel made it easy for you to explore beautiful Tallinn and that you had a good time in our Hotel. We hope to see you here again. Greetings, Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping Manager More 

Versailles, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Very shabby bedroom which looked onto a car park with rubbish bins under our window. No kettle, bathrobe, slippers or frills, and the hair drier didn't work. No air conditioning and impossible to open the window. A big dent in the wall over our bed looked like a glass bottle had been thrown at it, and drunken noises from the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth D
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Hard to find anything good to say about this establishment. Really it is a hostel - indeed the corridor to our room was littered with filthy shoes/boots and wet socks and towels. I complained to reception but they refused to do anything because it was 'left there by the Swiss Guests' with rooms in the corridor - despite the obvious... More 

Helpful?
Thank mwD3475UC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Staeyd here on our weekend trip to Tallinn in may. Place was easy to find and the deluxe room with our own sauna and jacuzzi was very nice indeed. There was some sounds of "living" from the street at night time but nothing serious and it didnt bother us. Room was clean and staff was very helpful. Absolutely a place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toni H
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Toni H First of all we would like to thank you for staying with us! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our DeLuxe room. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly (bern@tallinnhotels.ee) when planning your next trip to Tallinn. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards, Sven Liiv... More 

Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We booked one night here last minute, only to arrive and be told that our booking shouldn't have gone through because they haven't any rooms available, we weren't offered a refund or an alternative option so we waited an hour and they offered us a room that 'had a problem with air con'.. we had no option but to accept... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hollySinead
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear HollySinead Thank you for contacting us! We are truly sorry what happened on your arrival and that you found your stay here unpleasant. Let me assure you that this is not the usual standard of hotel Bern. If there is anything positive about this incident, it would be your effect on our everyday concentration. Although we have always tried... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

We really liked the location just at the edge of the beautiful old town. The breakfast was good and offered some great choices. However, our window was somehow broken, it took us forever to figure out how to close it, the reception could not really help in the night as well. We definitely wanted to have the window closed as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mm_auslinz
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear mm_auslinz Thank you for your comments! We are glad to hear that you liked the hotels location and the breakfast but we are terribly sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the bed and that you were suffering from back pain. We are very sorry that the reception could not help you close the window. We will... More 

Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and good service. The breakfast had a good selection of food and was clean. The hotel was very near the old town and the bus from the airport terminated about a ten minute walk to the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Estelle M
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Estelle M Thank you for your feedback! We are grateful that you mentioned positively our staff, breakfast and location. We hope to see you next time you visit Tallinn! Kind regards, Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

376 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (172)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Second Double Room (20)
Viewed
Single Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#30 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Price Range: $55 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay