We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Same as any sokoshotels,,, old rooms etc. Price is reason why we take this hotel. Breakfast is same, we dont ate second morning. Location is fine, parking is fine, thats it. Every Finnish turist choice this hotel :)

Helpful?
Thank J11P33
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We got the best (and cheapest) offer ever. We payed little under 200 euros which included boat trip from Helsinki and back for two, two nights in standard room in Viru Hotel, breakfast buffet and a private sauna with a hot tub for an hour. Breakfast was great and the staff was so friendly. You can also leave your luggage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sanni R
Terni, Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 4 nights at this hotel, and we were very satisfied. It is a modern structure just outside the old town... in 3 minutes you are entering the old town gates. Just on the other side of the square there is the main stop for the three lines of the hop on hop off buses. Cleanliness: we always found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gianluca M
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was very central for all activities you would want to do in this wonderful city. The hotel was clean and staff very friendly. Good value for money. Within walking distance to Old town and surounded by culture and beautiful parks

Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this Hotel is excellent within walking distance to the old town. Rooms are small but the furniture is cleverly arranged so that it does not appear so. The Hotel is attached to a shopping mall which can be accessed through the Reception and the Hotel staff appeared to be friendly and enthusiastic. Places to eat are all... More 

Helpful?
Thank subchat
EvelinOrg, Director of Sales at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review

Dear SubChat, thank you very much for your great review and for sharing your positive feedback with other traveller on TripAdvisor. We are happy that we could convice you with our concept and you enjoyed the location and room. We have just renovated the rooms, so the feedback means a lot to us. Thank you! We are also very happy,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an amazing time at this wonderful hotel, all the musicians and president of our Jazz festival were more than happy to wake up in such beautiful rooms with incredible view of the city. ( the view is even better that in the Old Tallin ) All the services, breakfast and everything that we have experienced in Sokos Hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olga S
EvelinOrg, Director of Sales at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review

Hello Olga, thank you very much for your review and your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. Thank you for giving the maximum of points too. Many people tell us, that this is the best possible location to enjoy the magical view of the Old Town and the sea. So great, that you pointed it out as well.... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decent hotel in close walking distance to the old town. Great view of the cruise ships in the harbor as well as the old town itself. The rooms are small but clean. Staff are friendly and competent. Breakfast buffet leaves nothing to be desired.

Helpful?
Thank lukskij
EvelinOrg, Director of Sales at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review

Dear Lukskij, Thanks so much for the fab review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed one of the best views in town and the overall services in Original Sokos Hotel Viru! We look forward to see you soon again in Tallinn. Greetings from Tallinn on behalf of our all team! Evelin #originalviru More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for the weekends and have requested early check-in as we arrived early in the morning. A day before stay, I have called and confirmed that early checkin is possible for superior room and upon arrival, the reception girl name Kristina rudely refused our check-in. The hotel policy only allowed to check-in start from 2 not as I've been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rashida09
EvelinOrg, Director of Sales at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review

Dear Rashida! On behalf of our all team I am so, so, so sorry for everything. Moreover I am sad that we did not meet your expectations during your visit this time! July is the busiest season for us, it means we had the previous day and also the day of your arrival occupancy 100% - all our 423 rooms... More 

Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in Viru hotel with my family. As we have a baby, we thought we might have to spend slightly more time in the room than usually and decided to book a junior suite. We were given a room on 20th floor. Unfortunately upon arrival to the room it appeared the airconditioning was not working. My husband complained to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mintsi73
EvelinOrg, Director of Sales at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review

Dear Mintsi73, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. The airconditioning should be working and I do apologise that this happen to you. We will check all the rooms thanks to your review! I am also very sorry that you had to... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean and comfortable and had a nice view of the old town. But there were no electric kettle, no free bottles of water and no free teabags.... The bathroom was also a joke. The shower was not a cubicle nor was it properly enclosed. There was neither a shower base/tray with water outlet. There was only a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ines2079
EvelinOrg, Director of Sales at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review

Dear Ines! Thank you so much for the review, we certainly appreciate your time and effort. I`m so glad that you enjoyed the room and THE view to the sea and Old Town, but so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy entirely your stay with us because of the bathroom. I do understand your point of view and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (271)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#19 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Price Range: $103 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay