We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Schlossle

Traveler (285)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (263)

About

#8 of 89 hotels in Tallinn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
278Reviews
2Q+A
40Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 220
  • 32
  • 16
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our travel agent has booked for us a Superior room in this 5 stars hotel, belonging to the well known international chain The leading Hotels of the World. What a disappointment to enter a tiny room, with no chair, no desk or table, no place for a 2nd suitcase! The "writing area" was on the window-sill, which hindered the window to open! When I let know the receptionist our disappointment she answered the room was 15 square meters but if you do not calculate the narraow entrance, it was hardly 10-11 sm. To use a laptop oe watch TV we had to sit on the bed. I think this is totally unacceptable for a 5 stars hotel. Not only, but our friends who had paid a difference for a DeLuxe room had to walk upstairs for 3 floors: the hotel has NO lift, and it is not mentioned on its site!
Read more
Response from SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Either good or bad, any feedback serves us as a valuable tool to improve our guests experience on site. Indeed few of our rooms are in the size of 15 m2, providing comfort of a basics in a hotel room. These are also the most affordable rooms at the hotel. Unfortunately, due to size of the building and protection of UNESCO heritage, there is not much we can do to change that. Your remarks however, are well noted and we will certainly look for ways to improve our guests experience even in the room you were staying at. We hope that you would still give us opportunity to serve you to your highest expectations in future. With kind regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
The Schlossle is a small (23 room) boutique hotel on an old cobble-stoned street in the heart of Old town Tallinn. The rooms are nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and a pleasant garden for evening drinks. We found the staff to be kind and helpful and we especially appreciated the efforts of front of house staff Valeria and Arseni in their efforts to make our stay a big success. This hotel is perfect for a stay in Tallinn. It fits its surroundings and adds charm to a visit to this beautiful old town. It is not a grand “fancy” hotel as some might expect from the grouping with Leading Hotels of the World but it is a first class hotel that I would highly recommend to all my friends.
Read more
Response from Maps33814492967, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sending such a kind note our way! It was absolute you looking after you every step of the way. Valeria and Arseni were thrilled to hear you mentioned them in particular. And I couldn't agree with you more that staying in Schlossle is a must to fully experience rich history and ambiance Tallinn has to offer. It is indeed a unique experience hard to find elsewhere. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back some day soon, With kind regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
+1
Reflecting our recent stay at the Schlössle Hotel we notice room for improvement especially when taking into account what one would expect from a Leading Hotel of the World or any other five star property. The numerous partially loud complaints by arriving or leaving guests as experienced during our stay unfortunately strengthen our impressions and experiences. Service level of the front office team: With the exception of the welcoming at the hotel the days after our arrival we again and again experienced discrepancies and very unprofessional behavior of the partly very young ladies and gentlemen at the front office. In general we got the impression that a respective supervisor or front office manager is missing at all at this property as is the case in the restaurant in form of a f&b manager. The really young ladies and gentlemen act like robots as the only conduct those tasks precisely asked for. On the last evening we spontaneously decided to dine at the hotel‘s restaurant Stenhus. Unfortunately, when asking for a table as an in-house guest to be offered we were told at the front desk that without any reservation upfront one would not accommodate us. Thus we decided to take a look on our own and asked the waitress directly in the restaurant if we may have dinner at the hotel. Although the restaurant was occupied by only 50% and some of the tables have not been set up we were dismissed without any alternative. From a hotel in this segment I usually would expect any alternative and flexible solution to be provided. For example there would have been a load of options in the nicely decorated and vacant rooms next to the lobby or there would have been an option of delivering food to our room. The problem solving ability of the front office team as such as the ladies in the restaurants on site is far away from what we have experienced in other LHW properties or any other five star hotel so far. When asking for an outside restaurant reservation on the first evening for the second night of our stay we experienced another example of lack of training. The very young gentlemen on the front desk phoned the restaurant and asked for a table at a specified time. Some seconds later he hang up the phone by saying ,,Ok thank you". There was no effort taken to ask for a table at an alternative time nor were we recommended any other restaurants nearby. Another example happened when we asked to check if we may use the sauna of the property - that can only be used by upfront reservation - one hour later as planned. The gentlemen at the front office desk indicated that he would check accordingly and let us know if the sauna would be available. However, we never received any response regarding this. Breakfast service & restaurant location: Breakfast is served in the cellar vaults of the restaurant Stenhus. What many guests including us asked during our stay was the fact if the breakfast would also be available to be served in the beautiful and sunny courtyard or the restaurant rooms on the ground floor next to the lobby. Each time respective requests occurred guests were told that this would not be possible breakfast would only be available in the cellar vaults although the sunny weather outside would have been a respective enrichment. Furthermore with exception of the first two mornings - where the head waitress offered us an excellent and very friendly service - on the third morning the service and food choice offered at the buffet were below any five star hotel or LHW service. When we arrived at the restaurant for breakfast at 09:15 a.m. in the morning the strawberries on the buffet had already been out of stock as had been the black bread (also after asking for strawberries and bread to be restocked). The only fruits offered on the buffet were melons and pineapples. Cherries had also been out of stock. Our dish had rarely been cleared, new cutlery not been replaced. Check-Out: Upon check-out no one asked if we had an excellent stay or wished us a pleasant journey. To carry our luggage three storeys downstairs due to the missing elevator also left a negative aftertaste. Although the very young gentlemen whom I would not have wanted to hand over my heavy suitcase asked if he may assist us on half the way of the first floor. Despite the fact that we had been provided a very nice accommodation the overall impression of the property has not provided us with a feeling of personalized and excellent service à la LHW. In our opinion the deficiencies in terms of missing elevators, inclined walls of our suite and the very basic equipment of the bathrooms might easily be compensated by a respective professional and personalized service provided by a respective well-trained and supervised staff. At the current state I really wonder - like many other guests wondered too during our stay or wonder as described in reviews on tripadvisor - how LHW granted the respective status to this property. For us LHW - in contrast to our former numerous former stays at LHW properties - nowadays only is a selling and marketing instrument instead of ensuring for a certain level of service and standard at their properties.
Read more
Response from SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Schlossle Hotel although I am saddened to hear your stay was disappointing. Any feedback either good or bad is a valuable tool for us to understand how well we look after our guests. Unfortunately we didn't succeed to satisfy your expectations staying yet again at another Leading Hotels of the World property. I truly hope this won't make you loose trust placed within brand of LHW. Your remarks are taken with highest importance and we hope you would give us another chance to serve you to your highest expectations sometime in future. Please accept our sincerest apology's once again while we continue working on the improvements stated in your note below. With Kind regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
I love this hotel. It is quaint and convenient yet quiet. The staff are superb: Helpful, friendly, and attentive. The garden is a lovely retreat from the noise of old town. The sauna is private and clean. What’s the “but”?? To get a room with a shower, we were put in a smaller room than what we booked. We were told it was an ungraded location but still... there wasn’t room for a chair or any flat surface larger than an end table. And it was a double rather than a queen bed. So I would advise calling when you book to figure out exactly what kind of room you’d be getting.
Read more
Response from Mara B, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and for choosing to stay at the Schlossle Hotel. As hotel is located in building dating back to medieval times, unfortunately we are forced to work with the space we have, making our guests feel as comfortable as possible. Few of our rooms are indeed on smaller size, but also more affordable with every essential hotel room could offer. However, your remarks are well noted and your opinion very much appreciated. We hope to still welcome you back some day but meantime wish you a fantastic summer with many wonderful trips ahead. With kind regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
So glad that we decided to return to this hotel after our great experience in 2013 if only for a single night. The hotel's high standard has remained in the quality of the rooms including a comfortable bed and the staff are very gracious. The location could not be better with everything in the old town very walkable. We were very pleased with the hotel room service for dinner since I was feeling a little under the weather. The cooked breakfast is very good along with the buffet options. When we return to Tallinn next I am sure that we will return.
Read more
Response from Mara B, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Claudia, Thank you so much for such splendid review left for us to enjoy. We are extremely glad to hear what a great return stay you had. Thank you for trusting us with your holiday once again. See you hopefully third time around! With kind regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
schloessle hotel tallinn
LOCATION
EstoniaTallinn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing