We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Traveler (268)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (219)

About

#36 of 89 hotels in Tallinn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel is located in the heart of the old town displaying true architectural wonder by transforming a 16th century merchant house into a stylish hotel. Connecting two of Old town's most famous picturesque boulevards, Lai and Pikk, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel brings the magic and mystery of medieval Tallinn to your doorstep. Offering 50 rooms, each completely unique in size and design, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel gives a perfect balance of historical authenticity and modern comfort. Room prices include breakfast. The hotel is accessible from both Pikk and Lai streets, elegantly connected by a charming garden. All of Old Town's main attractions, shops, galleries and sights are within walking distance from the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Minibar
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel
718Reviews
4Q+A
75Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 198
  • 275
  • 142
  • 54
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a superior room, which in size meant that we had to more or less schedule our movements in within the tiny, tiny room. The room was however very clean. No air-condition though so it was HOT even though the temperature outside didn't surpass 20C. The breakfast had very little fresh fruit, but had a fruit coctail (with hairs in it). If you're a fan of herring for breakfast you'll probably love it. Didn't check that for hairs... The staff was friendly, but seemed like they hated being there. The location is outstanding, and it was quite cheap. I didn't hate it, but I wouldn't stay there again.
Read more
We were very satisfied with our stat at this Hotel. I loved the beautiful room. It had a nice view! Quite a lot of stairs. The breakfast was very good and served in a nice area. It was the perfect hotel for us!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
The main asset of this hotel is its location right in the centre of Tallinn's Old Town. The hotel resides in one of the historical houses with lots of little rooms, corners and floors. The hotel also runs a Café open too the public with a tempting selection of cakes and a cosy seating area. The rooms are rather on the small side. My room was like a tube with one window and two beds not next but behind one another. A colleague got a room with a bunk bed, another one was put in the former stable in which a double bed completely filled the available room. The rooms come with a comparable spacious bathroom with shower. My room showed a constant lack of oxygen and was very warm, even at night with windows wide open. There is a constant humming of the hotel's air conditioning coming from the courtyard. At check-in, I was asked to give my credit card details because of the minibar, which turned out to be an empty little fridge with a price list in. I could probably have asked to have it filled but decided to see it as a joke. The hotel offers a good value for money. Breakfast is ok but nothing to brag about. However, at my next stay in Tallinn I would probably go for an option with more spacious and airy rooms.
Read more
i was coming in this hotel for business, they gave me the room n. 406, the dimensions was 3mt x3mt, without chair, table, space to walk, and space for the bag.a room for two person! Really without respect for guests and people that pay for stay.i think that they dont have many room like this , but my room was this! Breakfast good, position good. for your stay, refuse this room !
Read more
Response from MANAGERHTL, General Manager at Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Fabio, We appreciate your honest comments and thank you for choosing our hotel! Our average Standard room size is 15 sqm together with the bathroom. Unfortunately some rooms are a bit smaller like 406 (about 12 sqm) but not small enough to put them under a lower room category. Due to the fact that it is a very old house then also the shape of the rooms is very different. Because of that for example table and chair do not even fit into each Standard room. I agree that staying in some of the rooms might give a feeling that it is not a Standard room. Usually we accommodate only 1 person into those rooms. Hopefully you at least enjoyed the view from your room and will still forgive us. If you ever decide to come back I will make sure that we will upgrade you to the biggest room available. Sincerely yours, General Manager
Read more
The location and the breakfast are ok but the room was very small and the bed was really very poor! The service was also poor. When I asked for an enveloppe and the another time for a dietcoke she simply said NO! Instead of trying to help me. Never again!
Read more
Response from MANAGERHTL, General Manager at Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mark, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your comments. Sorry to hear that you did not like your stay with us. Unfortunately I have to say that you did choose the smallest room category in the hotel which is even called Small Single Room so I am not sure what kind of expectations you had by knowing the name of the room category. I apologize if somebody else booked the room for you or if you did not pay enough attention to what you booked which caused your dissatisfaction. All the information about our room categories and room types are available on different online channels together with the square meters and real photos of the rooms. I apologize if the receptionist was not friendly enough to organize you an envelope but regarding diet soft drink I can assure you that the receptionist could not have helped you as we do not have any diet drinks available in the hotel. Hopefully next time you will spend more time on details when booking a room in a hotel. Sincerely yours, General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EstoniaTallinn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing