We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Fagus

06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fagus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic. Great location very nice area in the middle of a forest. The hotel its self modern very pleasant place with a spa where you can spend a relaxing evening. The restaurant is good. We had dinner and breakfast there. Great selection of food and very good quality. Staff is very friendly in the restaurant and at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fourati89
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear fourati89, Thank you very much for you fantastic review. We are very happy read it, and forward it to our staff. It helps us to develope our services in hospitality and keep our colleauges well motivated. We wish you a great summer holiday! Very kind regards, Miklos Kovacs

Sheffield
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were staying here because of being involved with an event taking place at the Hotel and I was disappointed before even arriving that this was so far out of the beautiful town centre. It was necessary to get taxis to and from the town which used up more of our forints than eating out! The hotel is modern and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryW123
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Garyw123, Thank you very much for your review. Refering to your opinion about the location, some people like it in the wonderful green area, others would be more happy in the historic city center. So we are different. Certainly we have website with description about the location of the hotel, where we are, how fare is the hotel...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent 5 amazing days in Hotel Fagus with my colleagues in the beginning of May 2014. We were all pleased with our rooms, the facilities of the hotel and the politeness of the stuff. The rooms were very clean and we had no problems with our beds (we had 4 different rooms). The view from the balcony was breathtaking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vera T
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear VeraFinland Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review, we realy appreciated it in every details. Your review has given us posititiv energy to do our job even better and better. Thank you again, and we wish you a wonderful summer! Miklos

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a hotel between 3 and 4 stars. On the bright side: The location is amazing, by the forest, step out and you can run, bike or walk around. Rooms are okay, nothing special but good bathroom and beds. The place is children friendly. But: cleanliness is not great, floor carpet is a minus, and the TV is kinda...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B G
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Guest B G, Thank you your review, we are very pleased about it. Thank you for your positiv feedback as well, and we have to accept your negative experiance too. It is true, we have some part of the hotel, what we should have to renew, for example the floor carpets, the corridor"s illumination, and others. Unfortunately we are...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We travelled to this Hotel with my Family, to spend a long weekend here. We really love this part of Hungary, and this Hotel is situated in a very beautiful location. Unfortunately that is all the best, I can tell about Hotel Fagus. Let me explain: Pros: - location, surroundings - activity and trip possibilities around Sopron Negatives: - MATTRESS:...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank mvik77
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. Of course we are not very pleased to read only negatives about the hotel and the services, but if you felt you have had not any positive experience, we have to accept it , though , we're very sorry about it. Thank you for your constructive criticism too, we’ll put away...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not a five star but you get what you pay for. The price is very good in comparison to what you get. A spacious room, a nice little spa, beautiful gardens with a playground and play room is fine too. Breakfast has every thing you would need with kids. As a family we prefer to have our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nermin m
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Customer Nermi M, Thank you very much for your absolut correct review. I agree with every words you wrote. It's clear for me from your review, you travel a lot around the world, and you know well Hungary. We wish you even more travel happenings & pleasant hotel stays! Thank you again for your positiv feedback.

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We went there for the weekend with my wife and little daughter. Service is nice, people are kind and always open to help. Food is average, and it seems that the hotel would need a renovation..the room for kids is not very good, need some cleaning, new toys. At least that is what we expect from such an hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lamotta_bp
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Guest Lamotta Bp, Thank you very much for your review. We appreciated very much your kind words about our services and colleauges. It's true, we have to start the renovation of the hotel as soon as we can. We are applying to start the renovational works since one year at the owner of the hotel. Partly we managed some...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have been there for several times, and always enjoyed my stay. Nice modern hotel, with perfect breakfast, very nice wellness, so I can really recommend for everybody, who is looking an accomodation in Sopron.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gaborkauser
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Gabor Kauser, Thank you very much for your realy nice review. We do all of our best to manage the hotel as well, as we can. We appreciate it very much, if our guests are satisfied with our job. I am sure, we can go ahead step by step, and we will get even better and better reviews...

Jihlava, Czech Republic
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spent two days in this hotel. It was 2 business days and I almost didn't go outside. Not bad hotel at all. Food was good and we have a lot of choice. If you are average tourist, you will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dzordzdzordz
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Guest - Dzordzdzordz Thank you very much for your valued review. We are very glad receving any opinion from our guests. I am sure, you are not an average tourist, althought I hope, you were also satisfied with our services, as you wrote. May be you will come back once again in the near future visiting the landmarks in...

Austria
Reviewed June 24, 2013

2 years ago we were already in the hotel, we heard that there is a new management, so we went back at the end of March. The weather was very bad with snow and cold temperature, in our room was very cold, and there wasn't heating. We told it to the reception, they sent somebody who said we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller12347
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this review

Dear HappyTraveller 12, Thank you for your second visit in Hotel Fagus, and thank you for your detailed review as well. Sorry for your unpleasent experiences, we work on it hard, to develeope even the technical backstage of the hotel, as the service level of our facilities and amenities too. Concerning the management behaviour in the restaurant I am very...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#2 of 12 in Sopron
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Sopron
457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sopron
Hotel Sopron
#4 of 12 in Sopron
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#3 of 12 in Sopron
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#9 of 12 in Sopron
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
#6 of 12 in Sopron
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Announcement of suspension of hotel operation for an uncertain period of time. Sopron is one of the most preferred cities of Hungary, and is very famous of it's history and it's loyality to our country. We are all very proud working here, as we may provide to our visitors not only a unique city, as a peaceful and natural green environment, and a beautiful & friendly hotel as well. Vienna and Bratislava is almost appr. 60 Km from here, people may visit such ancient Austro-Hungarian city landmarks, as Baden, Mariazell, Eisenstadt, Fertod, or Nagycenk.Our hotel is 30 minutes on foot from the old castle-downtown of the city, and only 7 km far from the Austrian border. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Fagus

Address: Ojtozi fasor 3, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fagus 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fagus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fagus Hotel Sopron
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Fagus staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Fagus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Wi Fi goes off and on so be patient.Rooms much the same”
Psyche21, Mar 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a forest view, possibly further away from the restaurant.”
BG550, May 11, 2014 | Read review
“There are NO good rooms. At all.”
mvik77, May 5, 2014 | Read review
“avoid this hotel”
RleG1, Oct 23, 2012 | Read review
“Choose the rooms looking over the botanical garden.”
blueye_hun, Jan 13, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates