We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 45: English reviews
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

(Sorry to hear that it's closed now, I hope it's just temporary.) We stayed there some years ago with my girlfriend and we really enjoyed the hotel. The room was spacious with a view to a quiet park through huge windows. The spa is really good after a long day of exploring. Had a great buffet breakfast and dinner with... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdamBertalan
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

Difficult to find even with Sat Nav. Some rooms smelly, some really bad of sewage. The whole place was neglected and stale. Staff also had Soviet attitudes. Food at times inedible. You can loose weight. However, the beauty treadments in the spa were suprisingly good. Small pool and jacuzzis. Lovely walks in the woods. Great place to eat just two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Psyche21

Travelers are raving about these Sopron hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016 via mobile

.... And dirt... Check in not possible before two - and then the beautician leaves at five (not possible to stay 20 mins longer) ... Room: don't look too close and leave the shower curtain untouched ... It was filthy... Doorknob came off in the bathroom ... Food was ok considering we were in Hungary (a bit too much artificial... More 

Helpful?
Thank jusu2711
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Surrounding of hotel is perfect for walks, running and biking. Hotel rooms are cleaned, staff is polite, food tasty. The only minus we found is too many people in wellness so the chance for relaxation is poor.

Helpful?
Thank Jiří I
Lennik, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

this hotel has modern rooms, however it doesn't have the best available beds in Sopron area. It's located outside the Sopron city centre but near to a green area. The bar in hotel is ok, if it's 'open' as it's often (early) closed. The restaurant has OK food, but is boring.

Helpful?
2 Thank DB_Geert
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear DB_Geert Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry your bad experience with our beds, as we changed most of the matracces a half year before. We do every time our bests for our customers, if they inform us about their current problem on spot. We keep the opening time of our bar, caffe and... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Running in the woods in the morning around the hotel with raindeers running around was an experience i will never forget. Hotel is located in a wonderful forest surrounding, city is 2-3m away which is good if you want to relax but not optimal for sightseeing. Room view is exceptional, staff is very friendly, lots of facilities. The only small... More 

Helpful?
Thank martonemail
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much your very kind review. We do all time our bests for our guests, even if the result (I mean hereunder the review of our guests) is not every time the best. Our attitude is allways the same, we try to provide the possible best services to our guests. Thank you for your stay, and... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel many times and we still come back every year. We love the location of the hotel and its neighbourhood. It has an atmosphere that I can't describe. It is located in Sopron, but it's like a remote place surrounded with forest. This is the main reason why we come here. The other reason is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Olci83
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Olci83, Thank you very much for your exceptional correct review and proposals. We will accept more of them, hopefully you will see some changement by your next visit! We wish you a very happy New Year! p.s: Please note by your next visit, that you want a double room with real double bed! I guess you will get it... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights and in summary the hotel is very disappointing and we had only bad experiences. Generally, the quality is not for a 4 star hotel and the services and the niveau look like as an old company's recreational place from the late 80's (although the hotel was built after this period). The rooms are dirty,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A Z
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear AZ, Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed that you found only negativ features, althought you are right in mostly. The carpets are realy dirty, we tried already more companies, there is a company for example who is coming with nanotechnology cleaning system on next Monday. The air-condition system is realy old one, (as the hotel is... More 

Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I stayed here with two large conferences in the summer of 2007 and 2008 and was very pleased overall with the hotel. Staff was great and helpful and the property is beautiful. The food was delicious and the amenities on the property were more than adequate, including the pool, spa, and the walking paths. Because we were with conferences, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonytsheng
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Tonytshen, Thank you very much for your great review. We are very pleased every time, when we get positiv feedback from our guests. Sopron is realy a wonderful place, where nature (Lövérek Hill) and history (downtown) are living in perfect harmony. Thank you again, and we wish you a lot of further joyful hotel stay! More 

Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

There were a young football team in the hotel, they were making a HUGE noise during the night (until 3am!!!) They were constantly shouting in the corridor and shutting the doors SEVERAL times every single night... We payed for a room with air conditioner, but the air conditioner didn't work in our room...

Helpful?
2 Thank K M
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear KM, Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry, hearing you couldn't sleep well because the young football team. We offer you 50 % discount to your next stay with us let impact you with a relaxing quiet weekend in the Fagus. But please: if you have any complain anywhere, turn imidiately to the management in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#3 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#7 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#2 of 12 in Sopron
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Partner Hotel Szieszta
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sopron
Hotel Sopron
#4 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sopron is one of the most preferred cities of Hungary, and is very famous of it's history and it's loyality to our country. We are all very proud working here, as we may provide to our visitors not only a unique city, as a peaceful and natural green environment, and a beautiful & friendly hotel as well. Vienna and Bratislava is almost appr. 60 Km from here, people may visit such ancient Austro-Hungarian city landmarks, as Baden, Mariazell, Eisenstadt, Fertod, or Nagycenk.Our hotel is 30 minutes on foot from the old castle-downtown of the city, and only 7 km far from the Austrian border. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: Ojtozi fasor 3, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Hotel Class:4 star — Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Fagus - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fagus Hotel Sopron
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay