Erhardt Pension

Erhardt Pension

Traveler (54)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 7 small hotels in Sopron
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.7
NTAK: PA19001626 The Erhardt Restaurant and Pension is a family hotel situated in the historical downtown of Sopron, in long-ago ,,poncichter" quarter, 200 meters far from the Firetower, the symbol of Sopron. It has a garden, a vinotheque, two wine-cellars, an a la carte restaurant and a pension. The main aim of the family is to manage the house in harmony with the past and to show the soproner wineregion and use the local soproner wines. The pension provides nine rooms, four of them with a beautiful panorama to the garden and to the city center with the Firetower. There is a family room as well with two separated chambers, and we can provide a childrenbed as well. All of the rooms have an own modern bathroom and into some of them we can settle an extra bed. The price of the room contains the breakfast with fresh home-baked bread with home-made marmalade, with coffee and tea, juices, fruits and the guest can choose from a breakfast menu (with a range of egg-dishes) as well. The pension provides an own save parking place (Halasz street 7.) Which can be used for free. The pension provides an a la Carte restaurant. The kitchen is international but the guests can find hungarian specialities and dishes and we offer seasonal specialities as well. And our guests can buy excellent wines in the vinotheque, which offers a wide selection from the hungarian wine regions. The pension has two old wine-cellars which is able to receive 70-80 person. The restaurant is open to organise weddings, wine dinners and other possibilities for groups as well. For families, friends of wines or business-travellers who are looking for a hotel in Sopron, our pension can be a good alternative. If you are interested in the region of Sopron, we are on to help you to find something interesting (concerts or theatrical evenings, chocolate- and wine tasting or excursions) We are waiting for our guests with helpful stuff and clear, comfortable rooms in the heart of Sopron wineregion.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
24-hour front desk
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German, Hungarian

Location

Balfi út 10., Sopron 9400 Hungary
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Vienna Intl Airport
29.5 mi
See all flights
Ivanka Airport
78Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 52
  • 20
  • 4
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JB88fml wrote a review Aug 2021
Jupiter, Florida131 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Erhardt Pension Restaurant and bakery are just steps away from the center of Sopron in a beautiful old building with a very nice shaded dining courtyard. There are some newly renovated rooms and some older but nice rooms plus additional rooms in another building. I stayed three nights in a renovated room which was large and very nice. I added an extra night but could only get one of the older rooms which was fine but I recommend booking the newer rooms (the price is a bit higher). Buffet breakfast is included in the booking, its pretty standard although they own a retail bakery (on site) so the bread is excellent. Their restaurant is a destination all on its own and highly regarded by the locals. The food and wine are very special. The staff overall are very kind and welcoming. This is a charming Inn in the center of town with clean comfortable rooms and excellent food and wines and all at a reasonable price. It is a rewarding travel experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
K&M wrote a review Sep 2019
Pruszcz Gdanski, Poland161 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We didn't stay there but went for lunch (they even let us enter inside of the yard with our motorcycle). Food was fantastic (great goulash!!!) and my wife had a nice glass of wine with her duck and then fantastic Tokai for dessert. Lovely place!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew W wrote a review Jun 2018
Wellington, New Zealand23 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After a days drive from Budapest to Sopron fitting in a number of stops along the way, we arrived at Erhardt Etterem es Panzio. We stayed two nights in a Superior Double room (with breakfast) in the new down the road and around the corner facility from the main building. A well appointed bedroom, great bed with a modern bathroom, and most importantly a kettle with extra tea bags. Free off street parking, and just a short walk back to the restaurant, and the old town. Dinner at Earhardt was special if in a traditional sort of way. The food was outstanding, and decanting your chosen red is always a pleasure to watch. A walk about town plus a half day trip to neighbouring Koszeg completed the picture. Would we stay there again, definitely!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ErhardtZoltan, Tulajdonos at Erhardt Pension
Responded Jul 17, 2018
Dear Guest! Thank You for Your recommendation! :) Erhardt’s Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fasaig wrote a review Sep 2015
Torridon, United Kingdom115 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I am not sure whether to class this as a small hotel with an excellent restaurant or a restaurant with rooms. In France, this would fit well into the description of a Logis.

The staff were helpful on our arrival and again over dinner. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. The wifi in the rooms is not great, but it was more reliable on the terrace where we ate.

We tried the wine pairing menu with local wines. While we did not agree with the pairings in each case, the wines and food were excellent throughout.

Breakfast was also very good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ErhardtZoltan, Recepciós at Erhardt Pension
Responded Sep 23, 2015
Dear our Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad that you were satisfied with our services. We are thankful for your remarks and comments, it is important for us to know in which points should we improve ourselves. If you have the possibility to coming back to Sopron, please visit us again. Best wishes from the Erhardt, The Staff of the Restaurant Emese Nagy Sales Assistant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillian B wrote a review May 2015
Hadlow Down, United Kingdom125 contributions112 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A short walk from the town this hotel was a great place to stay. We had lunch and dinner in their restaurant, which was of a very high standard. The only downside was that the wifi did not work at all in our room, and barely worked in the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ErhardtZoltan, Recepciós at Erhardt Pension
Responded May 19, 2015
Dear Our Guest, Thank you for your letter, to writing us and let us to know in what should we improve ourselves. It is important for the restaurant and the pension. If you have the possibility, please come back to spend a little time here. Best wishes from Sopron, from the Erhardt! Emese Nagy Sales Assistant and the Staff of the Erhardt
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheWilk0s wrote a review Jun 2019
Sydney, Australia298 contributions158 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Decided to cancel a previous hotel booking and stay here for 2 nights. So glad we did.The large superior room was modern spacious and comfortable. These rooms are about 100mt from restaurant behind a gated car park and that's where Google takes you. We wandered around looking for restaurant as we didn't pass it when we walked from train station.Luckily someone who spoke good English took us across and all was sorted quickly. Having tea making and fridge are a bonus, even though the fridge didn't actually chill anything so not sure if working properly. Breakfast included in tariff was great especially that hot food was made to order. We ate in the restaurant ( separate review). Staff don't have a great command of English language but (that's our problem, not theirs) things we required like a late check out were sorted efficiently once it had been communicated through a few channels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison P wrote a review Aug 2016
Coventry, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this place on the basis of excellent reviews. However, it was very disappointing. Initially we arrived half an hour early and were told we could not check in - fair enough. When we returned, there was clearly a wedding being held in the restaurant and we were told to "sit down and wait". The gentleman was clearly busy with the wedding, but his grumbling about us as he rushed back and forward was understood (we understand Hungarian). Also, there were two girls wiping glasses who could have easily checked us in I'm sure. Eventually, he managed to find the time to check us in - after we were made to feel a complete inconvenience to him! What a shame a nice hotel was spoiled by the attitude of the manager / staff. I will be going elsewhere when I am next in Sopron.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter_Bris wrote a review Nov 2015
Brisbane, Australia52 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great place to stay whilst visiting Sopron. Small hotel but has all you need. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very close to the old town. Excellent restaurant for dinner or lunch, and a breakfast that will keep you going all day. Free secure parking is available, just a short walk away to the next street. A definite if visiting Sopron.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Only access to rooms is via two sets of stairs so may be a problem for those with disabilities
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ErhardtZoltan, Recepciós at Erhardt Pension
Responded Nov 24, 2015
Thank You for Your great recommendation! Erhardt’s Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat C wrote a review Sep 2015
Liverpool, United Kingdom100 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had the most amazing food at this small quaint restaurant.
The athmosphere was wonderful situated on a quiet street.
This is a must if you stay in Sopron.
I had mushroom soup and the fish dish with stir fried vegetables.
The presentation was wonderful.
The food was cooked to perfection. The portions were just right for me.
The service was efficient and non intrusive.
The prices are very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ErhardtZoltan, Recepciós at Erhardt Pension
Responded Sep 28, 2015
Dear our Guest, It was so good for us to read your oppinion. It gives us energy to continue it. Thank you for writing that for us. If you are in Sopron, please come back to us. Best wishes, The Staff of the Erhardt Emese Nagy Sales Assistant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Csengery wrote a review Sep 2015
Budapest105 contributions140 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Super location in the old town, nice building, very friendly and helpful staff. Room perfectly OK although with a small bathroom for a double room. Good restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. Very reasonable price, This hotel would have had an excellent rating but for the breakfast. Poor choice of cold foods, really dreadful coffee from a machine. Good choice of hot foods cooked to order, our ham and eggs were fine but no facilities for toast - we had to ask for toast rather than just bread and we did get it, but the request was a puzzle to our charming waitress, and no toaster so that you could toast the bread yourself. If breakfast were improved this would be a really fine hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ErhardtZoltan, Recepciós at Erhardt Pension
Responded Sep 29, 2015
Dear our Guest, Thank you for your review, we are grateful that you had written it for us. It is important for us to know what the guests think about us and our service. Our motto is: we arrange what the guests want, so we are on to answer to the needs of them, when they sign it to us. We are glad that you were satisfied with the restaurant and the pension as well. And if you will have the possibility to coming back to us, we would welcome you kindly. Best wishes from the Erhardt, Erhardt Zoltán
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BobesB wrote a tip Sep 2016
21 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely book a dinner here!"
Read full review
Eva B wrote a tip Feb 2016
Bangkok, Thailand11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unfortunately there is no lift so have to carry suitcase up stairs, but very small hotel and only one flight."
Read full review
Peter_Bris wrote a tip Nov 2015
Brisbane, Australia52 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only access to rooms is via two sets of stairs so may be a problem for those with disabilities"
Read full review
Kathrin80 wrote a tip Jun 2012
Cologne114 contributions83 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room not facing the street"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sopron area.
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral TransdanubiaGyor-Moson-Sopron CountySopron
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ERHARDT PENSION

Frequently Asked Questions about Erhardt Pension
Which popular attractions are close to Erhardt Pension?
Nearby attractions include Fire Tower (Tuztorony) (0.2 miles), Sopron Old Town (0.2 miles), and Storno-haz (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Erhardt Pension?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Erhardt Pension?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Erhardt Pension?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Erhardt Pension?
Conveniently located restaurants include Erhardt, Bojtorina Vegan Kitchen, and Kulturpresszo.
Is Erhardt Pension located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Sopron.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Erhardt Pension?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Erhardt Pension?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Holy Trinity Statue (0.3 miles) and Fabricius House (0.2 miles).
All Sopron HotelsSopron Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SopronHotels near Erhardt Pension
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars