We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Paulay Ede utca 16, Budapest 1061 Hungary
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Lol.travel
SuperTravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (78)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (2)

About

#24 of 1,296 Specialty lodging in Budapest
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.9
The Brody House collection offers a host of different hotel rooms, apartments and houses designed and furnished in the Brody House style – inspiring places to sleep, work or hang whether you’re in town for a one night wonder, business trip, city break, family visit or longer term residence. Our apartments are available to rent , so should you desire the Brody vibe in a home of your own, our in-house team has designed and renovated prime classical apartments in the heart of Budapest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Mid-range

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
488Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
168Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
124Reviews10Q+A22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 13
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dawn S wrote a review Oct 2019
Bainbridge Island, Washington50 contributions44 helpful votes
We LOVED this apartment, located in a great part of Budapest. Easy to walk, grab a tram and the BEST Lebanese food almost next door! Although you feel like you are in a very busy part of the city, the interior courtyard blocks all noise. We had a first floor apartment with the largest European bathroom I have ever seen. Kitchen was great for really cooking and the staff was wonderful. They have a great restaurant next door that I also highly suggest you try. Known for the educated bartenders, they also had wonderful healthy food and a prix fix lunch menu that looked amazing. Vegetarians can find really good food.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kharotel6 wrote a review Jul 2019
Budapest, Hungary8 contributions9 helpful votes
I stayed over a week in this great place, a kind of halfway point between a hotel and a rental with the advantages of both and no disadvantages! I had a large room that included a full kitchen (even a washing machine!), table & chairs, an additional loft for guests, and a tiny "garden" that made this ground-floor space seem more open. Decor is intentionally "distressed" and the art on the walls is for sale. It's just steps to the Brody Workplace where you can work, drink, and eat. The location is ideal, and I say this having been to Budapest many times, bordering fashionable downtown Pest and the "party district," with nearby public transportation to just about anywhere. And by the way, the cost is really reasonable; about half of what you'd pay in an upscale cookie-cutter hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Miriam C wrote a review Mar 2019
Belfast, United Kingdom3 contributions
The Living Quarters was an absolutely perfect base for my husband and I to explore Budapest. Easy to locate, in exactly the area we wanted to stay. The apartment was gorgeous (the husband commented that it was far nicer than several flats he'd lived in!) and small details like supplying filtered water so we didn't keep buying plastic bottles were really appreciated. The only thing I'd mention - and this isn't a criticism, just an observation! - is that our bed was on a mezzanine; it was fine for us, but if you have mobility issues or even a bit of vertigo, I'd make sure to book an apartment without a mezzanine. The staff were absolutely lovely throughout the visit. And we loved the unexpected bonus of having access to The Workshop (the Private Members club run by the owners of The Living Quarters) throughout our stay - the club was lovely and we were especially glad of it on the night we arrived, as we were able to have a tasty meal, quickly and close to hand after a long day of travel. We couldn't recommend The Living Quarters highly enough - and we're planning to buy posters from Budapest Poster Gallery as a memento of our visit, after spotting them on the walls of The Workshop. Thank you so much for such a lovely stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Megan Jukes wrote a review Dec 2018
Cambridge, United Kingdom2 contributions
Can't rate this place highly enough! The apartment was clean, spacious and came with a well - equipped kitchen (including complementary tea and coffee). Staff were very helpful and were even happy to print off a trip voucher I hadn't realised needed to be printed. The location was also perfect - we were only a 5 minute walk away from St Stephen's basilica which was ideal for visiting the Christmas markets, and even closer to the Big Bus tours stop so getting around was really easy. Would happily return!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TaraSD2013, Director of Sales at The Living Quarters
Responded Dec 7, 2018
Dear MJ822041, Thank you so much for the kind words, we're always glad to be off help and glad you had chance to utilize our location to check out the city centre. We are currently working on adding a cafe and bar to our complex and we'd love to welcome you back to Budapest anytime, so you must come back when all the hard work is done to check out our expanded offering. Thanks again and see you soon, Team Brody
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debra Hoe wrote a review Dec 2018
London, United Kingdom268 contributions13 helpful votes
totally loved our stay with the Living Quarters in Budapest. From the ease of the booking process, the clear instructions to get inside the apartment after hours, the warm and cosy apartment and the excellent service during our stay... an absolute gem when you factor in its great location in the Jewish quarter. I’ve stayed in quite a few hotels and can safely say this has been the most comfortable place I’ve stayed in whilst away. It felt just like home - there was plenty of space for my friend and me (she had the big king size bed and I had my double in the mezzanine loft), the kitchen was well stocked with essentials and modern appliances and the bathroom clean and well set up. It was definitely a lot more pleasant a stay than if we had checked into another impersonal hotel. Cannot recommend this enough.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TaraSD2013, Director of Sales at The Living Quarters
Responded Dec 7, 2018
Dear Debra, Thank you so much for the positive review! We're so glad you loved our unique design with the bed in the mezzanine loft and that you felt at home. We'd love to welcome you back to Budapest anytime, we are currently transforming our ground floor into cafe and bar so you must come back when all the hard work is done to check out our expanded offering. Thanks again and see you soon, Team Brody
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pkpa wrote a review Sep 2018
Tallaght, Ireland65 contributions61 helpful votes
We stayed here for a weekend inEarly September. Arrived around 10 pm so it was self check in but worked like a dream, the instructions were clear and easy to follow. The apartment itself was clean and had everything we needed for the weekend. When we first entered the apartment there was quite a musty smell but it lessened as we were there but seemed to be coming from the bathroom drains. The place itself was spotless and very comfortable. Lots of storage for your own things. The location was perfect. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. The only thing I didn't like was the double bed in the apartment we had was up in the air over the storage and wardrobe space which made it difficult to get in and out and definitely not good if you needed to get down in the middle of the night. All in all great stay and we would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TaraSD2013, Director of Sales at The Living Quarters
Responded Oct 24, 2018
Dear pkpa. Thank you so much for the positive review. We are sorry about the smell from the bathroom drains but are happy to hear it got better as the stay went on, being based in an old heritage building means that occasionally unpredictable things such as this can happen. We do have other properties and types of rooms available in Budapest so do drop us a message to bookings@brody.land the next time you are in the city and we'll make sure to find you a room without stairs to the bed. Thank you, Team Brody
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
morganealan wrote a review Sep 2018
London, United Kingdom104 contributions11 helpful votes
Perfect central pest location. Clean, comfortable and perfect for a relaxing Budapest stay. Bathroom was a great walk in shower. There was a lift when we had to move our bags and there was lots of nearby places to eat and shop. Was also very convenient to the public transport so we could get to the baths. If we ever came to Budapest again we would stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TaraSD2013, Manager at The Living Quarters
Responded Sep 13, 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind words following your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon! Best wishes, #TeamBrody
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MPS9 wrote a review Sep 2018
18 contributions3 helpful votes
Extremely well presented and appointed apartment close to lots or eating and drinking venues in Pest. Very friendly and helpful staff at check in - you need to go to the office a couple of doors down but it’s all very simply. There is a lift so no climbing the stairs. Good security so we felt very comfortable on that front, too. Very easy to recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TaraSD2013, Manager at The Living Quarters
Responded Sep 13, 2018
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Paulay House in the near future. Best wishes, #TeamBrody
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mohd k wrote a review Sep 2018
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia35 contributions11 helpful votes
This is a very good place to stay. The apartment is equipped with fully functioning kitchen with electric stove, microwave, oven, fridge, cook wares etc. The TV is provided but no TV channel though. NO AIR CONDITIONING but there are cold blower provided at the kitchen that will cool you down in the living room. Very interesting bed layout.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Can't choose as this is an apartment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TaraSD2013, Manager at The Living Quarters
Responded Sep 13, 2018
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are pleased to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Paulay House in the near future. Best wishes, #TeamBrody
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Afton H wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My boyfriend and I stayed for theee nights at the Paulay house apartments which were recommended to us by a friend from back in the USA. After reading the reviews online, we were so glad there was still an apartment available. Once we got to the check in (which was fine) we were shown to our apartment (number 3 on the ground floor). As advertised on their website, and trip advisor, etc, we looked around for the air conditioning as it was 90 degrees fairenheit during our trip. When asking the front office gal how to turn on the AC, she said they did not have AC, but rather a fan in the unit. One fan. I asked if every unit was this way, or just ours. She said it was every apartment and that it was difficult to find AC in the city. Which, ok, fine, but don’t advertise that you have AC when you only have one fan. Had we known in advance they did not have proper air conditioning, we would have stayed in a hotel instead. Now, no air conditioning, we wanted to open the windows to get some air flow because it was unbelievably musty, dank, moldy smelling. There are no screens in the windows and being on the ground floor, it made us a little nervous, but we opened them at night anyway. So there is a washing machine (no dryer) in the unit, which was very nice as we were halfway through our 2.5 week trip in Europe. However, because our room had no airflow, no AC, and was musty and damp, the clothes we washed took 2 days to dry. Also it must be mentioned that they provide you with only one shower towel per person and if you’d like room service, or additional towels, you have to pay 5 euros or something. Didn’t think this would be an issue until we realized that our towels wouldn’t dry after a shower due to the lack of air in the room. Overall, the apartment was HUGE (no TV, which we didn’t care about), in a great location and had the most comfortable beds. It is probably the perfect place to stay in winter time, but I would not recommend in summer unless no AC doesn’t bother you and you don’t mind breathing in a decent amount of mold.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TaraSD2013, Manager at The Living Quarters
Responded Sep 17, 2018
Dear Afton, Thank you for your feedback and we really appreciate your kind words about the size of the apartment, location and the bed. There does appear to have been a confusion in the message you received however as we only have two apartments without air conditioning, it is also clearly stated on our website which types of apartments have air conditioning. As for your concern over breathing in mould, we have since undertaken an intensive search of the apartment and have found no mould at all. In addition should you have asked we would have been more to happy to offer up our powerful dryer we use for our own laundry to dry your clothes in. We do hope you stay with us in the future, should you book direct with us we will make sure you have air conditioning in your apartment. Thank you, Team Brody
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestTerézváros
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Living Quarters
Which popular attractions are close to The Living Quarters?
Nearby attractions include St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika) (0.1 miles), AROOM Budapest (0.1 miles), and Locked Room Budapest (0.1 miles).
What are some restaurants close to The Living Quarters?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hoppá Bistro, 9BAR, and Tapassio.
Is The Living Quarters located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Budapest.
Are there any historical sites close to The Living Quarters?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Halászbástya (1.1 miles), Shoes on the Danube Bank (0.6 miles), and Heroes' Square (1.4 miles).