We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oktogon 4., Budapest 1067 Hungary
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (144)
Room & Suite (36)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#45 of 1,285 Specialty lodging in Budapest
Avenue Hostel is located in the heart of Budapest, the best tourist attractions are within walking distance, however a metro station and a tram stop is just 20 meters from our gate. Here at Avenue Hostel we've got a range of mixed and private dorms to give you a restful night's sleep, all with lockers for your stuff. Like to scroll or read before bed? Privacy curtains (in most of the rooms), reading lamps and power sockets make it easy. We'll also turn down your space with fresh linen and give you a huge breakfast each morning. Our free Wi-Fi means no pricey data roaming charges and we've also got plenty of adapters in case yours. Take time out in our friendly communal areas and swap sight-seeing tips with other travellers. We've also got amazing deals on everything from pub crawls if you're feeling sociable, to spa trips and yoga classes if you need some down time. With laundry facilities and private bathrooms, you'll find everything you need for a memorable stay in Hungary.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Board games / puzzles
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Hungarian


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
265Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
87Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
410Reviews8Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 188
  • 118
  • 67
  • 20
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eliana M wrote a review Jun 2020
Zagreb, Croatia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Me and my boyfriend were given used beds (just before coronavirus exploit!!). When asking for a refund the receptionist didn't care at all. Moreover the communication is not good, looks like they don't speak to each other.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Nina L wrote a review Feb 2020
Podgorica Municipality, Montenegro4 contributions7 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
Really nice hostel,totally worthy of money, staff is more than nice, rooms are clean, food is okay, and have really nice experience here.. you can meet new people if you are travelling alone, and definitely next time I'll stay there as well..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Response from AvenueHostel, Owner at Avenue Hostel
Responded Mar 21, 2020
We can't wait to see you again, Nina! :-)
Read more
Juliana Cabrera Escobar wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Two friends were staying at this hostel and 2 days ago they got drugged by a guest and stole from them 400 Euros on of the lockers and 600 Euros from the pillow of my other friend. We went to the police and the police even awere us to not go to this hostel because there are lot of same reported cases.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from AvenueHostel, Owner at Avenue Hostel
Responded Mar 21, 2020
Dear Juliana, we are really sorry to hear what's happened to your friends. However please note that buying illegal drugs from a stranger is not a good idea, regardless you are in Budapest, in New York, in Berlin or in any other city. Using the illegal drug you bought from a stranger is even worse idea. Keeping 600 EUR under the pillow in a dormitory room is also not the best idea, I'm afraid, especially when you are affected by drugs. Also if you don't close your locker then it won't provide a really good protection for your valuables. Avenue Hostel is well equipped with security features: we have security cameras in all the corridors and all the puclic areas as well as at the entrance of the hostel, all of our doors are locked and can be only opened with key card, moreover our staff is trained to spot suspicious people and suspicious activities. We also provide 2 lockers for each guest and we provide padlocks if you don't have your own. Probably that's why 99.999% of our guests never experienced any security issue in Avenue Hostel, and this fact will remain a fact regardless that you and your friends write 3 posts here, all about the same issue. Obviously there are no security cameras inside of the room so in case of unattended valuables are disappearing from the room the only thing our staff can do is the recording of corridor security cameras to the police along with all the information they have about the issue. I believe a similar issue should be handled similar by the staff anywhere in the world. We trully hope that you and your friends will only have positive experiences during your future trips. Some reasonable caution will help a lot in that, regardless where in the world you travel. Kind regards, Your Avenue Team
Read more
beatris Jimenez wrote a review Mar 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates5 contributions6 helpful votes
I arrived very late and there was no problem with the check in, the place is clean and the rooms are great. Easy to find! Very quite, luckily in my room there was no noisy guest and the breakfast is very good.. in the heart of the city perfect if you like to walk around and the staff was friendly and nice. I actually wish I would have stayed more. I really recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Response from AvenueHostel, Owner at Avenue Hostel
Responded Mar 21, 2020
We hope to see you again, Beatriz! :-)
Read more
Tigeriffic69 wrote a review Mar 2020
Leyland, United Kingdom1146 contributions323 helpful votes
I got to the entrance of this hostel quite late at night, and had to press a buzzer to be let in. The entrance is quite dark, and scary. I was not sure where to go, the lift was very small, and I was not sure which floor to go to, so I took the stairs. I was checked in quickly, and was asked to pay 5 euros as a deposit for my key card. My room was up a few sets of stairs with no lift. There was a fully functioning kitchen, and a seating area, as well as 2 computers, right outside my dorm. There was not enough shower rooms, or toilets between the amount of dorms on the level I was on. The doors to the dorms did not close properly. The hostel provides drinking tours etc. I was woken each night, due to the noise of others coming back drunk late at night using the kitchen area, directly outside the dorms, to continue drinking, eating and chatting. The breakfast was nice. I asked reception a couple of questions, which they didn't seem to know the answer to, and was quite rude about. On check out there was no where I could leave my luggage, and was told to leave my luggage in the reception area, at my own risk. I never used the metro once, as everything I wanted to see was within walking distance. There was lots of food places to eat nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
$15 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestTerézváros
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Avenue Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Avenue Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Budapest Shooting (0.3 miles), ILOCKEDYOU Escape Room (0.2 miles), and MysteryGames (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Avenue Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Avenue Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Avenue Hostel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avenue Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caviar&Bull Budapest, Uncensored Restaurant, and Rabbit Hole Bar & Cafe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Avenue Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Avenue Hostel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Halászbástya (1.4 miles), Shoes on the Danube Bank (0.9 miles), and Heroes' Square (1.0 miles).
Does Avenue Hostel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.