We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014 Hungary
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$171
View deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$146
View deal
Travelocity$148
Orbitz.com$148
eDreams$171
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (281)
Room & Suite (285)
Dining (113)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Read more
Updated 03/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
Updated 03/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 407 hotels in Budapest
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
68Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
45Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
705Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 581
  • 97
  • 22
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
O6394FAlaura wrote a review Sep 2022
Leipzig, Germany1 contribution
We stayed for 6 days and 5 nights. Location was supreme because we were right on top of the castle mountain. The view at night was especially beautiful. The Staff was very polite and helpful. Would recommend again any time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sand_Kasel wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Overall the hotel was perfect. It's situated directly at the castle area, so you can see a lot of sights just by leaving the hotel. The service and rooms were perfect as well, but if I had to point something out I would say the lights were rather dim, so when sitting on the couch reading was rather difficult.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jetwmvs wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
My brother and I stayed for a week in Budapest and I felt that Baltazar was a great place to stay for our trip. The location in Buda is great, it is not too crowded, but still near beautiful, historic sites. It is easy to reach Pest through public transport. The rooms are clean and are cleaned every day. They are nicely decorated and they facilitate all of your needs. The staff was very kind. Thank you, Baltazar Hotel, for making our trip so great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Purplelove007 wrote a review Sep 2022
Kent, United Kingdom96 contributions46 helpful votes
Whilst the welcome was warm, and the room was unique and comfortable, it wasn't hotel, was not well staffed, as closed in evening. Showering was odd with poorly fitting shower glass, which left the floor swimming in water. No bar available in evening, only a kiosk opposite with soft drinks and snacks. Breakfast was a huge disappointment- so bored of croissants - why a French breakfast when a menu states cold meats and cheese for the sane price? Area deserted in the evening. The Baltazar is advertised as a Michelin restaurant - closed. At least dead quiet in the hotel I guess ! Disappointingly the Chain Bridge is under renovation so getting to Pest side of Danube harder, which was essential to get some night life. Thank goodness for Bolt taxis - highly recommend these, easy using the app.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Presume this is a bed and basic breakfast and you won't very disappointed. Not an ideal base to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John Z wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
What a great place to stay. They treated me like family!! Great location, professional and very helpful staff…..I will be going back the next time I’m in town!!!! Well done!!! Can’t say enough about this hotel. Great accommodations!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matthew T wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Good hotel in a lovely area at the very top of Castle Hill in Buda. The location is quiet and the setting amongst the beautiful old buildings in the Castle area provides for a very relaxed atmosphere. The location is excellent for exploring Castle Hill but less so for the other sights in Budapest which are more clustered on the other side of the Danube in Pest. We found ourselves having to walk up and down the hill to the metro station some 10 minutes walk away at a decent pace and quite an incline, and spent most of our time during our few days in Budapest on the Pest side of the river. Our room at the hotel was large and quiet and had a balcony which overlooked the Mary Magdalene Church which was lovely. The reception though was only intermittently staffed. We were told at check-in that staff would be there until 19:00 but on one afternoon when we returned to get changed before going out for dinner there was no-one there at around 16:30 with the bar and everywhere downstairs locked up. Unfortunately when we got to our room the toilet flush had stopped working. We phoned the emergency number that had been provided but no-one answered, so we emailed the hotel instead (the details for which had also been provided). On the positive side the manager responded to the email, fixed the flush and left us a bottle of wine to apologise for the inconvenience, which was a nice touch. Breakfast was a simple affair of croissants, juice and coffee which was very nice. Disappointingly the restaurant, which is named in the Michelin Guide, was not open. We had intended to try it for dinner one night and had been looking forward to sitting out in the courtyard with a glass of wine in the evenings. We were surprised then to find the restaurant closed and disappointed that we hadn't been told this at the time of booking, in any emails that we'd been sent more recently (including one the day before we checked in) or even when we actually checked-in. It seems it is mentioned on the website but it is not clearly stated upfront in the main details about the hotel and it was not until we asked if it was possible to make a reservation that we were told it was not open until November with the COVID pandemic given as the reason. It would have been good to know this earlier so we could have decided if this was definitely the right hotel for us. Another point to note if you are travelling in the near future is that the Chain Bridge is completely closed for maintenance. This means that walking from Buda to Pest takes much longer than it would otherwise. If you want to spend lots of time in the Castle area and enjoy quiet, leisurely evenings with good food and wine (though not actually at the hotel itself until November) and a relaxing atmosphere then this area and hotel could be for you - albeit it's worth noting that a few of the other restaurants in the area that are owned by the same family are also closed at the moment. If we were travelling to Budapest again then we would probably opt for a hotel on the Pest side of the river and if we did go for something in Buda then whilst we'd consider Baltazar, I think we'd more carefully check the details with the hotel as you aren't necessarily told things that you don't specifically ask about.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ljaron2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Our 3rd stay here with the family - good value for a unique stay in the Castle district. We have also bought our dog with us, she was welcomed with a dog bed and bowls already in the room. Rooms are well appointed, air conditioned and each have their unique styles. The best room is the family suite with separate bedrooms, but this last stay we had it was booked - we got 2 connected rooms - which works just as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Noemi000p wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The room was nice, liked the walk in shower, toilet is a funny wardrobe-like experience, good to deepen a fresh relationship😂 The bed is comfy and they had a baby bed as well as we requested! Breakfast is great and tasty, would recommend the hotel to my friends too. Only downside is the parking, it’s unfortunately not free, but hey you are staying in the castle, so no biggie. The staff is very nice too! Thanks for the nice stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rob L wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York30 contributions17 helpful votes
The hotel was extremely comfortable and quiet . It had all the amenities you would need in a hotel room. however not having any staff in the evenings and no real restaurant or bar in the area that the hotels in was a bit of a disappointment .everything else was actually quite great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BorisTheBlade63 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Exelent hotel, would use it again. The lack of 24 hours reception didn’t bothered me at all:) The stuff was very helpful with tips about what and how to do around town. The rest of the restaurants run by the family met all our expectations. The room was enormous.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestDistrict I / Buda / Várkerület
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Koller Gallery (0.2 miles), Matthias Church (0.3 miles), and Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arany Kaviár Restaurant, Walzer Café, and Riso Ristorante & Terrace.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Halászbástya (0.3 miles), Shoes on the Danube Bank (0.7 miles), and Heroes' Square (2.4 miles).