We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hungaria City Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Hungaria City Center
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hungaria City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 747: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed September 23, 2015

Big hotel, good rooms, breakfast was very very good and I had a good time there. The location is near a big train station but not so close to city center so you need to take the metro or a bus to get to the center .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meshy B
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Meshy B! Thank you so much for spending time and sharing all these lovely words! It was a complete privilege to hear that you enjoyed your spent time here with us. We sincerely hope that you could discover all the attractions and leave with sweet memories because we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future....

Swieqi, Malta
Reviewed September 22, 2015

A Hotel lost back in time. Definitely needs upgrading of Guest rooms. Cleaning, especially dusting needs to be seen to. Water pressure very low and Hair dryer does not work. Tea & Coffee not available, although you have a Kettle and Cups. WIFI and Breakfast Good. Hotel Staff is quite helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buggles333
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Buggles333, Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria and for taking the time to share your candid review with us. According to your description it seems to us that you have mixed feelings about your recent stay. Since we take every guest feedback seriously, we appreciate that you wrote about your positive and less pleasant experiences as well....

Torino
Reviewed September 19, 2015

I went there with my boyfriend, with a Smartbox but they talked to us as really important guests! The hotel is beautiful, clean and our room was really really big and comfortable. I give 5 stars because there isn't a sixth one

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deleonardisb
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear deleonardisb, Thank you for sharing this charming review! Your kind words are the proof we are on the right way. We are so glad that we could meet your expectations and that we could provide you such a memorable stay. Many thanks that you highlighted the cleanness of our rooms and that you rated on us. Our dear staff...

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed September 18, 2015

Apparently this is the biggest hotel in Hungary, hopefully it is not the best. We used this hotel on a trip which included: The Sonata in Prague - average to good The Franz Joseph in Vienna - good The Embassy on our return to Prague - very good bordering on excellent. These other hotels are reviewed elsewhere. The Hungaria was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inchconnachan
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Inchconnachan, First of all we would like to thank you shared all your thoughts and experiences here with us. I regret to hear that we could not totally meet your expectations. First we would like to offer our sincere apologies because of the inconvenience you suffered at us. We are really sorry that the noise from outside influenced your...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2015

This is a 4 star hotel. The room was dirty, never cleaned properly. I've thrown better towels in the rubbish, so thin you can see through them. Had to request a kettle and tea / coffee for the room - then not replenished. The kettle emitted a burning smell. Minibar was empty. Overall the hotel was unkempt. Food was awful....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tonylG7022AW
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear tonylG7022AW, It is hard to find the words to express how downcast we feel to see your complete dissatisfaction with you recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria. We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us at all. The fact that you were not satisfied with the services makes us very disappointed. We are...

Vicenza, Italy
Reviewed September 15, 2015

The Best Western Hotel in Budapest is within walking distance of the train station, and a taxi ride (26 Euros) away from the airport. The hotel itself has a restaurant, spa, and shops. It is a very busy hotel with competent desk staff that are very professional, friendly, and accommodating. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimambar
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear kimambar, Thank you so much for choosing BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria as your preferred choice of accommodation during your visit to Budapest, and for providing us with your comprehensive and detailed review here on TripAdvisor. It seems to us that your recent stay at our hotel was all in all enjoyable. It is very heartwarming to learn that you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Relatively basic but pleasant, clean and tidy. All in all great value. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. Decor a little dated but for the price we paid that wasn't something to worry about. Comparable to a Premier Inn in the UK. The restaurant was very pricey though. Location is good for the train station and the metro.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Amy C, We really appreciate the time you took to leave your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Thank you also for letting other readers know about BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria. First of all, allow us to express our heartfelt gratitude for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Budapest. We are glad to read that your experience with...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2015

We enjoyed our stay in Budapest. A lovely city to visit. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. It was very easy to get to the main Keleti train station, and into the city centre by bus. My only complaint is the breakfast. On the first day, we had the continental breakfast in the bar area - included in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathandrichard12
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear cathandrichard12, How kind of you to take your valuable time to share your thoughts and experience with us and with other readers on TripAdvisor! First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria as your accommodation during your recent visit to Budapest. It pleases us greatly to know that you and your family...

Castelnaudary
Reviewed September 13, 2015

Although my room didn't have a view (sloping rooftop window) it was very bright, clean, well-equipped and comfortable (the hotel could do nothing about the police and ambulance sirens which sounded frequently day and night - possibly related to the refugee crisis). All the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, and the restaurant was excellent. I was very happy with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnsons797
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear johnsons797! Thank you for sharing this charming review. Our first aim is to satisfy our guests so we are really glad to hear that we could meet your expectations. It is so good to know that the noises from outside did not influence your stay negatively. I will certainly share your kind words with our dear staff and they...

malta
Reviewed September 13, 2015

I and my wife have been to this hotel for a whole week, room sufficient big, but cleaning none, very late room makeup, the hotel was supposed to be soundproof, yet we could not sleep before well past midnight because of all the sounds of police cars and ambulances passing on the main road.Breakfast and dinner were good. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vallettaMalta
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear vallettaMalta! Thank you for your review. We sincerely hope that you and your wife enjoyed your spent time here with us and left with sweet memories. However I regret to hear that you were not satisfied with us in some aspects. We are really sorry because of the noise from outside and would like to offer our most sincere...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

772 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (333)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (438)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (59)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (64)
Viewed
Suite (83)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#130 of 342 in Budapest
909 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Park Hotel
#239 of 342 in Budapest
1,250 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#62 of 342 in Budapest
263 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#114 of 342 in Budapest
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighborhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Hungaria City Center – with an illustrious history stretching beyond 100 years – is renowned for the high standard of its services and its excellent location. The hotel is an ideal base both for tourists and business visitors, with Budapest’s main attractions within easy reach on the M2 and M4 metro lines or by bus from just outside the hotel, and Keleti train station just a few minutes’ walk away. With large and flexible meeting rooms, it is a popular conference venue, and regularly hosts events for up to several hundred guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hungaria City Center

Address: Rakoczi ut 90, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Price Range: $59 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hungaria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hungaria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hungaria City Center staff and other travelers.
37 questions
Ask a question
Scotland
over a year ago
Kildwick, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hungaria City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“City View Rooms”
KunalP833, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Spacious front facing room”
320jaynek, Mar 14, 2017 | Read review
“No magic, reserve at the right moment, you might have very good deals.”
8340, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
“Don't ever accept room at floor no. 5 because there is no lift for that floor, you have to go to floor 4 then the steps to 5 :D”
, Jan 4, 2017 | Read review
“Seriously consider staying here”
davej480, Dec 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question