We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Budapest City Center

Booking.com$84*
View Deal
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$107*
$84*
$107*
$84*
$107*
$84*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Budapest City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Budapest City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,204: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in december. Very helpful staff. The place is perfect. Near to many attractions so you may reach them by foot even in a snowy day. The breakfast was very good and I enjoy the vegetables ( not in every hotel you may have a salat in breakfast ). The only minus with the hotel was that for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank benyap
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear benyap, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts here. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit and you have found our staff helpful. I will let them know about your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With best regards,

Southlake, Texas, United States
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, the center of Budapest. I was able to walk to most of the sights. It was clean and the staff were very helpful. The room was a little hot at night but I'm sure that i could have asked assistance on adjusting the temperature,I would have received help. I did not have time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Janet S, Many thanks for writing a review on your stay at Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very delighted to read your positive comments about the location and breakfast and especially about the staff. We are happy that you recommned us. We really do hope to welcome you back soon. With best regards,

Windsor, UK
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in December. Standard Mercure Hotel, clean and comfortable. Location is superb. WiFi is free and works in rooms. Breakfast over-priced, but not an issue as there are plenty of good choices nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lazynights
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Lazynights, Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Budapest City Center and I hope to see you on your next trip. With best regards,

Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

It's located very central, you can walk on Vacy utca whenever you want and you can reach very quick all the Budapest attractions. The hotel is in a business style and very modern. The rooms were clean but quite small. The breakfast was very good and with much food. I didn't like that if have privilege room, the staff in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IonutSeba
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear IonutSeba, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location and hotel overall. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. With best regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Right in the centre; breakfast was varied and it was so convenient right opposite the National Museum. Great Value. Using the hopon and hop off buses allowed one to tour both Buda and Pest. The swimming pool was good, and the bar offered a range of drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Paul L, Thank you for your remarks, but as far as we know your comments went to Mercure Budapest Korona according to the National Museum and swimming pool. Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about Mercure Korona. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with us. Our team would love to...

Tonsberg, Norway
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice hotel in the center of budapest. Good service. Nice and clean. Take breakfast in one of the many servers rings that are close to the hotel. It's cold in Budapest in December so bring warm clothes.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grebubbnubb
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Grebubbnubb, Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Budapest City Center and look forward to welcoming you back again. With best regards,

Reviewed December 8, 2012

But for the location, it would be rated very ordinary. Location is its greatest asset and one can overlook its flaws just for this advantage. Lifts don't work properly, breakfast is the same everyday and not much to talk about. Scope to improve

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suresh S
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Suresh S, Thank you very much for your comment. It is our pleasure that beside the uncomfortable feature you enjoyed your stay wih us. We do hope you will return in the near future. With best regards,

Israel
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights for a business trip. Located on the main tourist pedestrian mall of Vaci Uca. When being there the city center was decorated for X-mas and a food and crafts fair was established on the mall (: Modern decore, comfy rooms and great breakfast. Bad coffee but this is the least of a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaIsrael
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear FionaIsrael, On behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for your comments following your stay in Mercure KBudapest City Center. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and we hope to welcome you again. With best regards,

uk
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here last week, we booked a Privelege Room, on arrival, check-in staff were very warm, friendly and welcoming. Our room, was just as we asked for, on the 7th floor overlooking Vaci Street. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, being a Privelege room, we have tea/coffee making facilities, and a complimentary bottle of mineral water. A nice large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BricklayerUk
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear BricklayerUk, We were so pleased to read your feedback. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the center of Budapest. It's a special pleasure for us that you found our hotel to be good value for money. We are happy that you also enjoyed the services provided in the Privilege...

leeds, uk
Reviewed November 30, 2012

just came back last night (29th nov 2012) after a 2 night stay i booked a special offer non refundable standard double room at £45 a night i booked two night as soon as i booked these rooms on expedia i emailed mercure to request one room a twin ... very very efficient they said it wasn't a problem, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babyangel2007
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear cute-baby-angel, Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We are happy that you were satisfied with the location and the surroundings of the hotel. We really regret that you were not satisfied with the room. We can advise you to choose our upgraded rooms with Privilege services and lounge. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

759 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (485)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (196)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Privilege Comfort Double Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 342 in Budapest
1,383 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#79 of 342 in Budapest
809 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 342 in Budapest
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District V / Inner City

Neighborhood Profile
District V / Inner City
Discover the Inner City along the banks of the Danube, with its fashionable shops and iconic buildings. The Inner-City Parish Church and St. Stephen’s Basilica stand out as two of the finest examples of architecture in the area. If you are still hunting for more historical treats, then the ruins of the medieval city walls on Kecskeméti Utca are a must-visit while the Soviet War Memorial is also worthy of attention and relevant to Hungary’s more recent history. If shopping is on your itinerary, then be prepared: the market squares in this area are an absolute delight, particularly during the Christmas period, but even throughout the year you’ll find the latest trends in the shops on Vaci Utca.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure New, freshly designed rooms are available. Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of the freshly designed rooms. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, museums, stylish restaurants and famous baths are within an easy reach. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and an Internet corner at the bar. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. Váci street, Vörösmarty square, UNESCO world heritage sights like the banks of the River Danube and Andrássy Avenue are at your feet. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide you with any information you might need during your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Price Range: $97 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Budapest City Center staff and other travelers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Budapest City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for the superior room the standard room is too small”
Shai74, 1 week ago | Read review
“The junior suites are very well-appointed and very good value”
FrederickWentworth, 1 week ago | Read review
“6 th floor its quiet and been refurbished , dont pick a room near the lift though you get disturbed.”
kh1354, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Top 4 floors where renovations have completed. My corner room facing onto the inner courtyard was quiet at night. Not a great view though.”
AmericanItalian, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Go for a newly refirbed room if you can get one - it's worth it”
702SteveG, Mar 23, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$84* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$84
TripAdvisor$84
HotelQuickly$107
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates