We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051 Hungary
11 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Sofitel
$197
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/28/19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$198
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/28/19
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$213
$192
View Deal
SAVE $21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$198
Orbitz.com$198
Cancelon$213
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3228)
Room & Suite (1138)
Dining (263)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
Languages Spoken
Hungarian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
204Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
58Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
District V / Inner City
Discover the Inner City along the banks of the Danube, with its fashionable shops and iconic buildings. The Inner-City Parish Church and St. Stephen’s Basilica stand out as two of the finest examples of architecture in the area. If you are still hunting for more historical treats, then the ruins of the medieval city walls on Kecskeméti Utca are a must-visit while the Soviet War Memorial is also worthy of attention and relevant to Hungary’s more recent history. If shopping is on your itinerary, then be prepared: the market squares in this area are an absolute delight, particularly during the Christmas period, but even throughout the year you’ll find the latest trends in the shops on Vaci Utca.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
6,527Reviews95Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,343
  • 1,620
  • 369
  • 120
  • 75
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The Sofitel was a big contributor to a very enjoyable return to Budapest. The views from the room and the club house are exceptional, especially at night. The team at the front of house were friendly, engaging and very efficient when we asked for help. We would strongly recommend the club dining for the extra fee. Breakfast can get very crowded in the main restaurant and feels a little pressured. Rooms are little tired and could do with some modernisation. No place to put the soap or shampoo is a little basic. As was the absence of one coat hook! Having said that the sound insulation was excellent. Overall though would certainly come back here for our new visit. When hopefully there might have also been a bit of a refit!
Read more
Response from Erika_Kollar_Sofitel, Guest Experience Specialist at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and for taking the time to share your experiences with us regarding your stay, We are glad to read that we could contribute to make your stay enjoyable in Budapest and that you were pleased with the friendly and helpful service provided by our Ambassadors, especially from the Front Office. It is glad to hear as well that you enjoyed the facilities of our Club Sofitel. We do agree, the view from the rooms and from the Club Sofitel is just gorgeous, especially at night! However, we are very sorry to read that the overall condition and the facilities of the room were not fully according to your expectations, that we would like to sincerely apologize for. Thank you so much for recommending us and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again very soon! Sincerely yours, Erika Kollarova Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
We stayed here for 4 nights and on the first night when we went to bed, we noticed our bed was a bit uneven, high in the middle, and with no way to sleep comfortably. We called to the front desk and complained. We asked to be moved to another room and within 30 minutes we were accommodated and we enjoyed the much more comfortable bed. The breakfast was plentiful with much variety and very fresh. Service was efficient, and the place overall was very clean.
Read more
As a traveler to any country one needs to get the hotel selection right in first place Few parameters which weighs in are 1. location : should ideally be in heart of city from where night life as well shopping is easy accessible 2. decent rooms and overall service to be on par with the star rating of the hotel Sofitel ticks the first part in abundance and no denying the fact as there is casino right next door and huge marketing shopping behind the mall with the likes of H&M , Zara etc at reasonable prices as I ended up doing shopping for almost a year long list We had visited with our office colleagues in August last and truly rare this as the best hotel for any tourist in Budapest
Read more
Our party of 5 couples stayed at Sofitel Hotel for 3 days before boarding a Viking Cruise on The Danube. It was wonderful and you worked with our AAA Travel agent MaryAnn from Boardman, Ohio prior to our arrival and set up a Mini-van tour for us with Fabre Tours. Our tour guide Vince Búr was wonderful and extremely knowledgeable and a great quide. We learned a lot from Vince and he made our tour so enjoyable. We highly recommend this type of tour. The Hotel was wonderful and we loved the beautiful breakfast buffet. Thank you from the 10 Ohio travelers. Budapest was our favorite.
Read more
My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Hotel. Biggest pro to this hotel is the location on the bank of the Danube and at the foot of the Chain Bridge on the Pest side. Easy to walk to great restaurants and points of interest. Buffet breakfast was extra and cost about 23 Euros per person which we felt was a little steep but we never eat enough to get our monies worth and yet as we saw, some people ate more than enough and even put food in their backpacks for lunch. The hotel itself is quite nice inside and very clean. No complaints there. I would have to say our room could use an update. The carpet is old and the biggest problem was the lack of electric outlets. We had to move furniture to find them to charge our iPhone and iPad. Minor issues, I realize but annoying. No USB ports anywhere and we understood why but inconvenient. The bathroom was a good size but again as we have experienced before in Europe only half a piece of glass along the shower tub which meant that water inevitably ended up all over the bathroom floor if you so much as moved from beneath the shower head. And finally, the hairdryer is mounted to the wall and was absolute crap. Thank God I brought my own but again, it wouldn’t work in the bathroom outlet (razors only!) so I had to use an outlet behind a chair which meant no mirror. A little frustrating. Unlike North America, European hotels never seem to have electrical outlets in the bathroom. If it is for safety, well I think most people are pretty smart and won’t plunge their hairdryer into water. Doesn’t seem to be an issue in North America. Overall, this hotel is great for the location and despite the price of the breakfast buffet, it was excellent.
Read more
Response from Erika_Kollar_Sofitel, Guest Experience Specialist at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and sharing your feedback in such great details. It is glad to hear that overall you were sanctifies with your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the advantages of the amazing location of our Hotel and were satisfied with the cleanliness experienced. However, I was very sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with the condition of your room, that we would like to sincerely apologize for. We would like to apologize as well for the inconvenience due to the number and location of the electric outlets in the room and the water leakage in the bathroom. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and it is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely yours, Erika Kollarova Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$183 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel budapest chain bridge hotel budapest, accor budapest chain bridge, hyatt budapest, budapest sofitel
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestDistrict V / Inner City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
357
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing