We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kárpát Utca 62-64, Budapest 1133 Hungary
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$74
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
$76
View deal
Expedia.com
$74
View deal
Priceline$74
Hotels.com$74
Travelocity$74
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (577)
Room & Suite (415)
Videos (1)

About

#104 of 405 hotels in Budapest
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
Work or pleasure? We cater for both! What makes the Helia so special? That’s a matter of perspective. This is a wellness hotel with a wide range of fitness and spa services for guests in need of some pampering. However, it’s also a fully equipped conference hotel with all the facilities to host top quality professional events. The wellness and conference hotel is located in Budapest’s dynamic XIIIth district, on the bank of the Danube. The city centre is just 15 minutes away, while the nearby Margaret Island offers a host of recreational activities – from cycling, tennis and swimming to relaxing walks in beautiful parkland. Whether you’d like to unwind after work – or get away from work altogether – our wellness centre is the perfect spot. It has an adventure pool, swimming pool, sauna and a two-storey fitness club with stunning panoramic views. The hotel’s thermal bath is fed by natural thermal water from Margaret Island’s springs. Guests arriving by car can keep their vehicles safe in the hotel’s own car park, and travel into the centre by trolleybus or bus.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Kids stay free
Paid public parking on-site
Street parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Aerobics
Bowling offsite
Squash offsite
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, German, Hungarian and 1 more

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
102Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
26Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
3471Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,290
  • 1,523
  • 485
  • 99
  • 74
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Petya C wrote a review Dec 2
Windsor, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
This is not a 4-star hotel by anyone’s standards. We booked 3 nights stay in November for my birthday with the hope that we will have a nice relaxing time with this being a spa hotel. What we ended up with was far from it. The hotel lobby looks very nice and that’s probably the only good thing I can say about the hotel. The room was very outdated, small, and smelly with no minibar. The bathroom was tiny, you can barely turn around in there. We didn’t have the bed made on day one. On day two and day three members of staff just walked into our rooms without even a knock while we were getting changed. We were on the sixth floor and the noise from the elevator was unbearable. I didn’t have a single good night sleep. Breakfast was a let down too, not much choice at all, the queues for the coffee and juice machines were incredibly long, it took forever. The staff were constantly running around the tables collecting plates and cups while we were still literally chewing our food. It felt so rushed and unwelcoming. As for the spa, what can I say… There are pools, which to be fair were good, steam rooms and saunas. The steam rooms and the saunas are separated by gender, which means that unless you are in the same sex couple/group you will need to spend your time separated. Water! I’ve never been to a pool/spa where there is no water freely available. Now I have. There was a water machine by the pools but had no cups. The options are, you either enter with your own cup (I mean who does that!) or you buy one of their bottles. The situation with the slippers is similar, they are not handed to you in the spa with the robe, again two options – one you buy slippers from the spa, which is the only option they offer to you unless you ask specifically. Option two means you need to walk out of the spa to the reception desks and collect your slippers from there. The massages – we booked two full body massages. We could not have them at the same time as there was only one therapist. Fine. I got taken to the room, bright light, no curtains, no candles, no music. It was like a hospital room. The bed was extremely basic with just one white sheet on it, no towels, no cushions, no heath, nothing. I was asked to take my clothes off and lie on the bed facing down, no hello, no how are you, no questions about allergies, injuries, nothing! The therapist did what she did for 50 min, announced she’s finished and walked out. Again, I was not spoken to, so I just put my robe back on and left. Handed our keys back on the check out day and again no one talked to us. Maybe I have been spoiled by previous experiences, I don’t know, but they could at least thank us for choosing them or ask how our stay was. But if they do not care, why would they?! I am planning to go back to Budapest in the spring with my friends because I absolutely love the city but will never be returning to this hotel and will most certainly be recommending it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GK85 wrote a review Apr 2022
ireland9 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We reserved a business suite- which has spectacular views of the river Danube, Budapest city and Margaret Island. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful and it was a great location to access tourist hotspots via walking/ public transport or bike! Lovely breakfast buffet and great pools!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Dear Guest, We cannot be thankful enough for your feedback about your recent stay in our Danubius Hotel Hélia. Furthermore, we are grateful for complimenting on the wonderful view offered from the hotel’s windows. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly staff as well. We hope you had wonderful memories while staying with us. Kind regards, Erzsébet Mányi-Szabó Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R. S. S. S wrote a review Nov 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
The room was small. Bed not comfortable. Restaurant menus are not complete. Does not show all ingredients. Example Club Sandwich with chicken - but this contains egg and bacon, god knows what else. People becareful when you order because you may be getting something that you are allergic to or do not eat because of religious reasons. This has put me off this hotel. 2stars.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Look out what you order at restaurant. Allergens not mentioned on menu. Incomplete compared to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, First of all, let me say thank you for being our guest. I am terribly sorry to see that you were not quite content with our service, according to your rating. Also, we would like you to know that your observations mean a lot to us. However, our aim is to get better in every possible way so I truly hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards, Mányi-Szabó Erzsébet Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nastja P wrote a review Nov 2022
Gamlitz, Austria326 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
On the outside very average hotel. Definitely when you step to the lobby is very nice and very modern. The rooms are a bit old and normal. Great spa, we loved the hot water pool. The breakfast have a lot of options, nice tasty food. Good for the price
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for being our guest and choosing our amazing Danubius Hotel Helia. I am glad to see that overall you liked your stay at us. Special thanks for giving us highlights about our great spa, ample breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again here, we truly hope you will choose us again. Best regards, Mányi-Szabó Erzsébet Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter S wrote a review Oct 2022
Broxbourne, United Kingdom52 contributions25 helpful votes
Stayed four 4 nights on bed and breakfast deal. Breakfast was very good lots of choice, the restaurant and bar were very good value for a hotel. The bedroom was good and well equipped. But the complimentary tea and coffee were not replaced had to go looking for them on 2 days. The hotel is in a quiet location and not to far to walk for all the places to visit in Budapest . There is a good restaurant a couple of roads away and plenty in city center to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded Oct 27, 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to say thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Thank you so much for highlighting that you were completely satisfied with us. Thank you for sharing how great is the location of the hotel near to many attractions. Also, we are thankful that you mentioned how well-equipped our rooms are. It was our pleasure to have you here. Once again thank you for the kind review, we hope to see you soon! Until then we wish you all the best! Best regards, Mányi-Szabó Erzsébet Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mickey wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Both the lobby and reception areas were modern/lovely, the room was a little outdated. By our second night, we had found mould in the bathroom shower, stains on the bedsheets and ants in the corners of the room. When the issues were raised, staff were unapologetic and dismissive. After being told they were fully booked and couldn’t be moved, we were then moved rooms. Overall disappointed in how the staff handled it, wouldn’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for rating Danubius Hotel Helia and giving us feedback about your stay! We really appreciate that you chose our hotel for your stay in Budapest. Thank you for sharing that our place is modern and lovely. It is regretful that we couldn’t meet all your expectations! We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced! We are always thankful for our guests’ feedbacks, because we always want to learn and to improve! This behavior is not accepted by us, and we will look into it to make sure it never happens again. Our guest’s satisfaction is top priority for us! So please accept our apology. We still hope that besides that you collected many great memories, and we hope that we can be your host again next time you are in town, so you could see how much we can improve! Until then we wish you all the best! Best wishes, Mányi-Szabó Erzsébet Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frances V wrote a review Jul 2022
London, Canada87 contributions40 helpful votes
This hotel is an excellent choice for travellers looking for a hotel that has a spa, thermal baths, and swimming pool , massage , physio therapy , pedicure, restaurant and bar . Beautifully placed along the Danube, room with a view of the river and Budapest is spectacular . the food was very good . They have a dietician on board to work with the chef on the menu . Excellent choice for meat lovers and vegetarian variety . The Staff is exceptionally friendly . We have been coming to Budapest for 30 years and this hotel stands out from the crowd for service above all . The bus 115 - 200 metres from the door, takes you right downtown to the Vaci utca and back .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Booked this rooms with a view of the Danube
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear Guest, I would like to express our thankfulness to you for the high score rating of our Danubius Hotel Helia. I am thrilled for mentioning our excellent spa and swimming pool area as well as our friendly and helpful staff members. Furthermore, I am beyond happy that our delicious food was also to your liking! We look forward to seeing you in the nearest future. Best wishes, Erzsébet Mányi-Szabó Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard B wrote a review May 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3935 contributions530 helpful votes
+1
A solid performance from a good 'all round' experience. The hotel hasa great location overlooking the Danube. Well placed for nice walks, boat trips and restaurants alike. The hotel serves a thoroughly decent buffet breakfast in pleasant surroundings. The lobby and bar areas are very slick, contemporary styled and show a high degree of imagination. There is a physio /medical facility too. Seems to be very popular - offering a range of treatments. The spa pools are decent and the gym well equipped and a nice atmosphere. Great hotel, excellent stay and would welcome the opportunity to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded May 8, 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your review. Thank you for highlighting the excellent location of our hotel, our tasty breakfast, and the pleasant spa area, among others. We hope you had an enjoyable stay. We are delighted to know that you would return to us again. We are looking forward to your next visit! Best regards, Erzsébet Mányi-Szabó, Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
balkanghost wrote a review Apr 2022
Budapest, Hungary78 contributions70 helpful votes
Stayed early April for two nights a Wednesday - Friday in a double room with Danube view; not too busy and more a couples, solo or business hotel, not family so much; customer service was fine. Booked directly for 10% discount via Danubius Hotels website, check in was easy and the tv will be on when entering the room showing the on screen guest system Otrum. Otrum includes television channels local and international news or sport, but also includes screen sharing, plus hidden under Guest Services -> Entertainment is YouTube; wifi in room up and down but fine. Cleaning personnel were friendly and polite, they asked if cleaning etc. needed; you can always call to request. Room service can be used during the day and into the evening via the Yellow Cafe, but no menu in the room nor on Otrum (maybe useful vs. Googling?). Cafe was fine, both heavier classics including local too, plus a lighter menu, and the cafe area spread out in natural light (nice in winter), plus soon their outdoor terrace will open. For nearby restaurants best to go Pozsonyi Street (parallel with Danube nearer the main boulevard towards Margit Bridge). Breakfast buffet was all good too with variety, while eggs or omelettes can be cooked in any style. Spa fine, including gymnasium and three pools one for laps etc. and two hotter pools; they provide towels but bring your own flip flops. All good and recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Danube View
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Dear Guest, May we start with thanking you for taking your time and sharing your experiences with us about Danubius Hotel Hélia. Thank you for highlgihting the fast check-in. Furthermore, we are grateful for complimenting on the wonderful view offered from its windows and on the professional service provided by the staff. We are so delighted to learn from you that you were very satisfied with the spa facilities, we hope you spent a lot of time there to enjoy the perfect relaxation. Thank you for the recommendation. You are waited with the warmest welcome all the time. Kind regards, Erzsébet Mányi-Szabó Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Watit Davide P wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
We loved the spa& wellness facilities - sauna, steam room and heated thermal pools were simply amazingly. The room we had was a good size room with plenty of storage spaces. Staff were okay. The fridge ticked off that extra brownie point. There's a mini supermarket right in front of the hotel which was handy. 👍🏼 However, the decors in the room and hallway were very dated and dark, though the lobby/reception was modern and bright.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring a reusable bottle in with you to the thermal pools area. There is a water station but no...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Helia
Responded Mar 5, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking your precious time to share these nice thoughts with us after your most recent stay at Danubius Hotel Hélia. It filled us with so much happiness that you found the spa amazing, we hope that you had a truly relaxing time there, and that you could refill yourself with energy there. Thank you for your constructive feedback, we noted it and will do our best to further improve. We will wait you with the warmest welcome. Kind regards, Erzsébet Mányi-Szabó Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
danubius health spa resort helia hotel budapest, danubius health hotel helia, danubius health budapest
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
262
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DANUBIUS HOTEL HELIA $72 ($̶8̶0̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Budapest, Hungary

Frequently Asked Questions about Danubius Hotel Helia
Which popular attractions are close to Danubius Hotel Helia?
Nearby attractions include Budapest Pinball Museum (0.7 miles), Margaret Island (0.5 miles), and Music Fountain (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Danubius Hotel Helia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Danubius Hotel Helia?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Danubius Hotel Helia?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Danubius Hotel Helia?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Danubius Hotel Helia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oriental Soup House Balzac, Firkasz, and Trofea Grill Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Danubius Hotel Helia?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Danubius Hotel Helia have airport transportation?
Yes, Danubius Hotel Helia offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Danubius Hotel Helia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Danubius Hotel Helia?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Danubius Hotel Helia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.