We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Start your review of Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Positives: great location. 24h reception. Nice and helpful staff. Option of online checkin before arrival so checkin becomes faster and easier. Option of airport shuttle from airport to hostel, 6000huf, worth it, especially when you arrive late at night like I did. I booked a private 2-room and it was just fine. Bed more comfy than it looks. Negatives: breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herpderpherpderp
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed in many hostels in the past that have all been great, shame about this one. We came to Budapest in March and were both constantly cold in our room with no controls for the heater. The shower was hand held and Luke warm at best. Hair and other disgusting oddities in the beds. The only iron in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harry B
Poland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was good. Great for budget travelers as localization and staff is perfect, everything needed is also there. Loved the fact that 12-person dorm was divided into smaller sectors which helped to keep privacy but still in pair with good price. I do reccomend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mihail C
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We staid for two nights in a 12 bunk-bed dormitory, because WizzTours messed-up our reservation, and it was OK. The staff is very nice and they all speak English. The room was clean and quiet with good beds. The common room in the basement is cool and the breakfast is OK for a hostel. Overall, would check-in again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANDREI B
Shanghai, China
Reviewed February 13, 2017

That's so great service in hostel, I have to thanks again for the hostel staff and recepation, they're so kindness and help a lot for travellers. The dorm is also clean and private. Good location, it is near the merto line 2.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank weifengzhu
Reviewed February 10, 2017

I stayed in a four-bedded room for 3 nights and as a solo traveller i found it perfect. The room was clean and cozy. The staff is very helpful and nice and the position is just perfect, close to the city centre and to the ruin pubs. The only downside is that the heating was too high and i had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federica P
Mellow M, Vezető at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Dear Federica P, It is so kind of you to take your valuable time to share this lovely feedback with us and with the TripAdvisor community! I am glad to read that you had such a great time at Marco Polo Top Hostel overall. It pleases me greatly to know that you found our team helpful and you also liked...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed February 2, 2017

We had a really good time during our trip to budapest in this Hostel. The rooms are okay, and even though they are shared with other 12 people they are really private. We had two bunks for my friend and me and we can´t say anything bad about it. The price is perfect for what you get.

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
 Report
Helpful?
Thank movalga
Braga, Portugal
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Cozy place, staff was really nice, rooms were very confortable and the location is perfect (close to the main pub streets and the sightseeing places) Stayed for a week and had zero troubles. Would recommend!!

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cesar_sr09
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed January 31, 2017

The dormitories are nice because there is some privacy with curtains between the beds. It is also very warm, which is good when it is so cold outside... Breakfast is ok for the price we payed (2,80€).

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah_delau
Mellow M, Vezető at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah_delau, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hostel during your recent visit to Budapest, and for taking the time to share your honest review with us on TripAdvisor. It pleases me greatly to know that you found our dormitory room nice and warm. We are really proud that most of our guest says that it...

Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

Credit where credits due, the Marco Polo was warm and dry and appeared secure (you're made to leave your key at reception every time you leave, presumably so if you are mugged the building isn't at risk). But our overall experience was disappointing. The front desk staff, who the Marco Polo claim are able to book a variety of activities,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Mellow M, Vezető at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Dear Chris G, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hostel on your recent visit to Budapest, and for expressing your opinion on a public forum. Your feedback is very important for us. I was very sad that you were disappointed with your stay with us and that you did not feel...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#46 of 651 in Budapest
263 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#31 of 651 in Budapest
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 651 in Budapest
800 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#30 of 651 in Budapest
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighborhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel in downtown Budapest, is open all year round. Located in the heart of the city, offering the services of a 2 star hotel with its en-suite double TWIN rooms and providing organised and tidy 12-bedded dormitory rooms.Marco Polo’s excellent city centre location provides great access to public transport. Famous Budapest sights and great nightspots are also nearby. Our twin and quad rooms are bright and comfortable and have telephone and TV, plus en-suite bathrooms.As for our dormitories, we’ve yet to find another anywhere that even comes close. Each 12-bedded room is divided into 2-bunk areas with their own lockers. Each dorm is next to HAS a dedicated bathroom with two sinks, showers and WC's. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Address: Nyar utca 6, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Price Range: $13 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Check with the hostel by mail or phone to be sure you have the right room”
 of 5 bubbles 924andreib, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't get the dorms”
 of 5 bubbles Rachelbabe, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“Not beside people being chased by gangs”
 of 5 bubbles fergusonsasha, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have more heat...”
 of 5 bubbles Jonathan_sss, Jul 27, 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are best in summer, top ones are too hot!”
 of 5 bubbles Pixbon, Jul 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question