We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
Brisbane
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We travelled form Vienna to Budapest Keleti rail station and took a cab to the Ambra Hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful during our six night stay. Location is good..situated in a side street( and a supermarket across the street).Easy access to restaurants and within walking distance to the centre of Pest. Internet access provided in a guests"common...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eurotripper1
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are glad, you enjoyed yourself in our hotel, and in Budapest. We would be grateful if you join to Hotel Ambra's facebook profile. Orsolya, GM

Edinburgh
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This Hotel is in a fantastic, central location near to the Jewish quarter and within easy walking distance to the very centre of Budapest. The rooms were comfortable enough. There was very little storage space which made it a little awkward for a week's stay - I guess it would be fine if you were only there for a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Axisofelvis
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We hope, that apart of the above mentioned problems, you could still have a good time in Budapest. On your notice of our towels, our hotel has since obtained bigger, fuzzier towels, As of the other problems, our technicians are constantly working to produce a steady and strong Wi-Fi signal, and the buzzing has since...

London
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a week during June 2010. The location of this hotel is very good; all site seeing places are within the walking distance. The longest walk was to Heroes Square (30 minutes). The hotel has a FOUR STAR. I don’t know who gave all these stars; may be they print all the stars by themselves....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sidwhite
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. The aformentioned chambermaid problems have already taken care of, and after your notice on the air conditioning, we made a through investigation on the technicalities. We hope that the staffs helpfulness, and the attractions around Budapest made your stay bearable. Orsolya, GM

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 6, 2010

As near main square for transport, easy to get around if you wish to use public transport. Staff seemed fine and helpful. Buffet breakfast was great. We only stayed 4 nights but never spotted the bar? Must be us! Disappointed that towels only changed on 1st night. Overall spacious and clean (apart from towels!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fpocrnic
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are glad, that you found our staffs helpfulness satisfactory, Also we already made arrangements to work on our chambermaid problem. We are sorry to inform you after your departure from our hotel, but we only have a open bar due to the refurbishings. We would be grateful if you join to Hotel Ambra's facebook...

Morges, Switzerland
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Verra well placed in Pest. close to everything, beautiful rooms, silent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Freebrain
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review

Thank you for the noting. We would be grateful if you join to Hotel Ambra's facebook profile. Orsolya, GM

Oxford
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This is an ideally situated hotel in Pest really close to Andrassy Ut and many of the sights in Pest. Only a 5 minute walk from the metro station for things further afield. Good clean rooms and a varied breakfast each day. Where the hotel came into its own was when the Iceland volcano erupted and we were stuck for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank corrie_clan
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We would like to ensure you that Hotel Ambra is looking forward to welcome you again.

Berkshire
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The hotel is very welcoming with friendly, helpful staff. Spotlessly clean, our room was small but had an excellent shower room.Excellent value, it may not have the facilities of a large hotel but this is made up by its location. I recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a few days sighseeing in Budapest.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kleinrider
hotelambra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We would like to ensure you that Hotel Ambra is looking forward to welcome you again.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed August 25, 2009

The small and friendly hotel is in a quiet side street in central Budapest, fabulously located to reach everything on foot. The tiny elevator just about fit two people with a little luggage, but thankfully our room was far more spacious! And the shower room was pristeen and large too. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ME13
stockholm
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The hotel has a very good location in the city. But the room was not cleaned when we came and not a single time during our stay. The beds were just quickly made but the the floor was not vacuum cleaned, the wet towels not exchanged and the glasses we had to clean ourselves. To give the hotel 4 stars...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank storotung
budapest
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I have spent 4 days with my friends at Ambra, which is situated in a very intimate surroundings in the centre. Nearby there are good restaurants, coffes and bars.The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, new-refurnished and well-equipped. As far as I concern I warmly advise,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinaC0
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

332 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (172)
Viewed
Double Room (30)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (33)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Triple Room (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#44 of 340 in Budapest
849 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
#181 of 340 in Budapest
328 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 340 in Budapest
1,940 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#12 of 340 in Budapest
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighborhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea, refreshing water and snacks in our open bar all day long. Internet corner is available with PC, the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site.Special discounts are provided for the hotel guests in the shops of Király street, Budapest's main street specialised for interior decoration, design, fashion and jewerly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra

Address: Kis Diofa utca 13, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Price Range: $65 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#87 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Monterotondo, Italy
3 months ago
Spalding, United Kingdom
11 days ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid a room looking south when airco is not functional and a lower floor as the elevator was not working.”
 of 5 bubbles koenv804, 6 days ago | Read review
“The bakery about 50 yards away. I ordered grilled chicken with full dressings, and a large fresh bap 1,650 Florins or about £4:70.”
 of 5 bubbles 550DavidM, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“601 triple room, huge bathroom, great room.”
 of 5 bubbles sandy022016, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“We had a deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles bigboofer, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back have no street noise but no view as such so take your pick”
 of 5 bubbles richardmilner, Apr 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay