We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 613: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed two nights and also made use of the spa. It is very easy to reach the hotel from downtown (suburban line H5), the stop is almost across the street. The view to the river is ok, but not too special as the city center is not visible (or at least was not from our room, though we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christoph P
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was placed in this hotel by Viking River Cruise company due to the boat I was sailing on being unable to dock in the city. I was advised by Viking this is a 5 star hotel. This is nowhere near a 5 star hotel. This hotel flatters to deceive. It looks ok from the outside. Upon entering the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank claireleslie1973
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We deeply regret to read that you were not satisfied with our hotel and service during your stay. Please be assured that we are continously improving on our service and focusing on the guests' satisfaction. Please accept our deepest apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you. We hope that we have another chance to better serve... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

it was a beautiful hotel good service i will go there again it next to the rever and very close to the amazing places there there is a nice garden to take a walk i was there 6 days was sunny and only 1 day was rain but its was amazing best regards

Helpful?
Thank Viola a
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us and share a positive comments about your stay. We are happy to read that you spent an enjoyable stay with us in our hotel and we are also happy to read that you enjoyed your time in Budapest. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Gábor Nemes General Manager More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just finished a 4-night stay at Aquincum for a large business conference. It was my first time in Budapest, so I was not sure what to expect. One the positive side: it is a large facility, so we were able to get 100+ rooms for our attendees. The dining room was able to serve all the attendees fairly quickly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and share your experiences. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our service, meeting facilities, meals and rooms. We regret to read that you did not like the location. We hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager More 

Deva, Hunedoara, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family is having autumn trips to Budapest. it is a beautiful city in the autumn days. Staying at Aquinicum is a blessing for us. We have each Day long walking trip in the downtown Budapest and in the afternoon we enjoy the thermal spa witch is great. The location is also very nice, because in the night we can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Corina Violeta O
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your positive experiences. We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our location, breakfast, spa and fitness area. We look forward to seeing you again. Gábor Nemes General Manager More 

Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is large with a spacious entrance.The decor however is tired and needs renovating.It is dark and rather oppressive. The bedroom was OK but again it looked tired and in need of modernizing.When we arrived we were shown a room which had a strong smell of cigarette smoke and we were given another one when we complained. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us. We regret to read that the decor of the hotel did not met your expectations. We regret to read that our breakfast did not exceed your expectation. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience, service, and the lot of guests. Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location is on Buda side 3-4 KMS from city center You need a taxi to go to city Rooms are in a good size You have everything you need A little old fashion decor Staff very friendly The hotel has a big fitness and a thermal spa which is really nice. Breakfast us ok , nothing more. Missing the touch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronygr
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences. We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms, staff, breakfast, spa and fitness area. We were happy to read that you liked our fast food. In the hope that... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wish I could rate this hotel 3,5. The location was suitable for our business and we avoided the terrible traffic downtown. The lobby looks pretty nice; unfortunately the rooms are not quite living up to what the lobby promises. The rooms are a little worn, the bathroom is ok, but could need a shine. The bed was far too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Otic
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us. We were happy to read that you were satisfied with the breakfast buffet and our lobby. We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff. We were happy to read that the location of the... More 

Roma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Once arrived at the hotel, during the check-in I asked to the lady to pay everything in advance and she answered me in the following way: "-I can charge only one night because I don't know the reservation system very well". As I am in the hotel business as well and I know how their reservation system works, I gave... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Domenico1975
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thnak you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with our service during your stay. Please accept our deepest apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you and you had suffered during your stay. Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please... More 

Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had 2 days at the Aquincum. It was rated 5 stars, but it is definitely not a 5 star hotel! The hotel is descent enough, and we got a good price (€180 for 2 nights incl. spa+breakfast), so it was OK compared to price. Rooms are definitely dated, but large. Spa and pools are Spacious and good, but not amazing.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank W493DDmichaelm
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experiences. Thank you for mentioning your positive experiences about the room, pool and spa. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Gábor Nemes General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

564 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (306)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Deluxe River View King (29)
Viewed
Executive King (29)
Viewed
Executive River Suite King (39)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior King (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#49 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#67 of 337 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $65 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#79 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay