We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 654: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was in Budapest on business and someone else booked this hotel for me. It is in Obuda on the south side of the Danube, far from the usual tourist attractions of Pest. That said it is very near to the excellent transport links. 2 minutes walk to the No.1 tram and the overland train along the Danube. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fraser G
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fine hotel with very good amenities. I do think I qualifies as a five star. The rooms were excellent and the service was outstanding. My criticism is that it wasn't as central as we thought. Spent more money on taxis to get to City centre. Wife liked the spa.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deric H
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Big and right up to the job. Good in all respects. Szentlelek ter Metroline station across the road giving east access to the city. Hotel provides nearby Margaret Island jogging map. Food short of wow but very good none the less. Free to use business centre for internet access with printing; otherwise Wi-Fi in rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Awayagain2014
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only good thing about this hotel is that you have good facilities in the room: ironing, coffee, cosmetics, safe. On the other hand, the bathroom really needs an update. Both the room and the bathroom were very dirty. A lot of dust not just on the furniture, but the curtains were grey instead of white. The plate for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulliaDia
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was a decent size, bathroom fine and on the bright side, the bed was super comfortable, so a great night's sleep is guaranteed. The spa is modest and they should certainly add a jacuzzi, or ask guests not to hog the space endlessly. Saunas and steam rooms adequate and functional; clean at least. Breakfasts are quite fine with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngusmacTV
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located close enough to the city center, far enough to be nice and quite, but close enough to get to the center with public transportation in around 20 min. The spa and the massage therapists are amazing however that cannot be said about the kitchen. Both the breakfast is a disappointment and the fact that you have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hanan A
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest We'd like to thank you for choosing Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our spa facilities and the various relaxational massages. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food, and we apologise for the long wait time you experienced. Customer feedback is always important for us, so that we...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 3nights over Christmas. Location was a little bit removed from the town center but was expected. (There is a train/tram station across the street next to the hotel which is a convenient 5min ride to the city center) NOTE: The hotel charges 15EURO/day to park your vehicle on their front parking lot. The hotel charges 12EURO/person for Breakfast. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shrewdlog
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We regret to read that you experienced multiple problems during your stay, we apologize for any inconvinience. Thank you for your kind words for our staff, they do their best to give each and every guest a home-like experience, we will...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First off this hotel was OK. Definitely not a 5 star standard. Big reception hall and friendly staff we liked. Unfortunately spa as well as hall ways and cutins are outdated and look old. The room was spacious and we enjoyed the free water and coffee in the room as well as the ironing board. The furniture was quite old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukas9292
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We regret to read that you experienced multiple problems during your stay, we apologize for any inconvinience. Thank you for your kind words for our staff, we are happy that they could be of help to you. Please accept our apology...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here for 3 nights (luckily not longer) in November 2016. I stayed in the executive floor - so had access to the executive lounge. It was nice to have access to the buffett and drinks , but then again food was cold and fruits dried out... Didn't look and taste good. When it comes to the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoroKS
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We regret to read that you experienced multiple problems during your stay, we apologize for any inconvinience we caused for you. There are many updates planned for the new year, in hopes that we can vastly improve our guest's experince. We...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is a train ride from the centre,we're talking 5mins,down to the metro,tram and trains..and the train stop is a stones throw away. Staff seem ok..breakfast is a varied selection (hot,cold,sweet n savoury) Don't know if I'd say it was 5*,I think the ratings are just made up in some places. Rooms are ok,all the usual amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wigga70
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We are glad that you had an overall enjoyable experience in our Hotel, and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

584 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (145)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Deluxe River View King (29)
Viewed
Executive King (29)
Viewed
Executive River Suite King (39)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior King (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Danubius Hotel Helia
#76 of 341 in Budapest
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#51 of 341 in Budapest
630 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#74 of 341 in Budapest
638 reviews
Hilton Budapest City
#50 of 341 in Budapest
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $58 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#82 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms to the North overlook the river”
 of 5 bubbles fraserg2017, 4 days ago | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a view of the Danube River across the street”
 of 5 bubbles Shrewdlog, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“There are rooms with a view to the inner courtyard, if you want a view, ask to be a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles HoppieMaky, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own flip flops! - We thought they will be provided with the robs but they were not”
 of 5 bubbles B4014NTannas, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerThornhill66, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay