We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036 Hungary
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Family rooms
Booking.com
$87
View deal
Expedia.com
$93
View deal
Official Site
$84
View deal
Hotels.com$93
Priceline$93
travelup.com$100
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (658)
360
Panoramas (8)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Updated 07/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#160 of 407 hotels in Budapest
Location
3.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest is located in a cozy area alongside the River Danube, on the Buda side of this magnificent city and across the river from the serene Margaret Island, with its famous thermal waters. The hotel is surrounded by medieval streets, wine bars, restaurants and its own green park. With panoramic views of the Buda hills, 310 guestrooms, a lively restaurant and bar, 14 versatile meeting rooms and a 1,660m² spa, the hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere for leisure visitors and a comfortable business environment for corporate guests. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and come with free wired and wireless internet access. Aronia Wellness Centre & Spa offers relaxation in thermal pools, and a menu of unique treatments. The spa provides facilities such as an indoor pool, two thermal pools, saunas and a steam bath. Guests can also get active in the fitness room. For those wishing to dine in the hotel, the Ambrosia restaurant offers Hungarian and international cuisine.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Solarium
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian
Hotel links
Special Rate:Family rooms
1866Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 585
  • 639
  • 375
  • 141
  • 126
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pedro P wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Huge disappointment sadly. The state of the hotel has a nice atmosphere but as soon as you take the elevator to the spa it's like a time travel back to 30 years. The pools actually good in good shape but locker room is disgusting, the mosaic tiles dirty and broken,no soap,the ladies sauna not working, steam bath not working and they forgot to mention this when I paid the full price...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Dear D1394GTpedrop, Thank you for taking time to reviewing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We regret to learn that our hotel did not meet with your expectations therefore your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you expected. We do apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced about the cleanliness of the Aronia Spa and Wellness Center. Please rest assured that it does not reflect our standard and corrective actions will be taken. We are sorry that the sudden shutdown of our women's Finnish sauna affected you during your stay. While our women's Finnish sauna is under repair, you can temporarily use our men's Finnish sauna in a coeducated manner, and all of our valued guests are informed about this and there are signs on the doors as well. Thank you for drawing our attention to the renovation of the hotel. We were regretted to read your comment, however, we do understand your concerns. We sincerely hope that these will not keep you from returning and we will have the chance to welcoming you back at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest to make up your recent experience. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caroline wrote a review May 2022
San Antonio, Texas10 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Clean hotel with comfortable bed and generous breakfast selection. We relaxed in the soaking pools every night after walking all day. For a traditional meal with great atmosphere & live music, walk outside, go left & walk 2-3 blocks behind the hotel. Extensive menu & spirits selection at very affordable prices. Resturant: Kehli Vendeglo.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded May 2, 2022
Dear CarolineWT, Thank you for taking time to reviewing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We are delighted that you found our hotel clean and our beds comfortable. It is great to read that our breakfast was up to your liking as well and you enjoyed your time at the Aronia Spa and Wellness Center. We are pleased that you had a great meal at our River bar and the location and the surrounding possibilities was convenient to you. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TonyHonan wrote a review Apr 2022
Harlow, United Kingdom124 contributions41 helpful votes
It’s an average hotel in a major need for redevelopment. The rooms are a good size, yet a little dated. The facilities are okay, and the spa is pretty good although it can get extremely busy at times and people then forget to follow the rules. Breakfast can get extremely busy as well, with it becoming difficult to find somewhere to sit - so plan for this as best you can.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Dear arlowtone, Thank you for taking your time to reviewing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We are glad to read that you were satisfied with our facilities and that you found our rooms good. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time at the Aronia Spa and Wellness Center. We are sorry that it caused inconvenience due to the increased number of guests during the long weekend due to Easter in Hungary. We regret to learn that overall you found our hotel outdated, however, we do understand your point. Despite of it, we all look forward to your next visit at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Myra W wrote a review Mar 2022
Illinois City, Illinois15 contributions10 helpful votes
We under stood why they could not check us in at 2. The room was not ready and we were an hour early. At 3 Gabor checked us in with aplomb. He had both of us fill out an identical form which might have been a delaying tactic. Not sure. We got into the only working elevator (out of 3) and went to the 3rd floor. The room was hot and the windows only open a crack. It cooled it down a bit but also let in all of the road noise. The bathroom was clean but the room was less so. Crumbs in the creases of the furniture spoke of a hasty cleaning. The furniture was all old and joined the carpet in being stained (see pics) and way past due for replacing. None of the few TV channels were interesting and the few electrical outlets were poorly placed and already in use. The wifi was anemic at best. Folks, it’s 2022. Now for some positives. The staff is friendly. The bed is softer than standard Hungarian. The view of the Danube was delightful and the water pressure was great. Breakfast was good and similar to the many we have had all over Hungary. There were no surprises which is not necessarily a bad thing in the morning. The only difference between the two mornings was that the beans were swapped out for small vegetarian egg rolls. I think my expectations were just too high. If I return, it will be with adjusted anticipation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Dear Myra W, Thank you for taking time to reviewing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your view to the Danube that our breakfast was up to your liking as well. Many thanks for highlighting our friendly colleagues. However, we do apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered during your visit. Please, be kindly informed, that requiring a registration card upon check in is a world-wide used process in hotels. Window restrictors are commonly fitted to upper floor windows in hotels, which allow the opening of a window to be restricted, which is useful from both a security viewpoint and the safety of our guests within a property, particularly children. We are regretted to read your concerns about the cleanliness. Please, rest assured that it does not reflect our standards and corrective actions have been already taken. We are sorry to read your comments on the necessary reconstruction, however, we do understand your point. Thank you for your comments on the internet. We continue collecting feedbacks from our guests so we can review and improve. Despite of these we sincerely hope to have the chance to welcoming you back at the Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the future to make up your recent experience. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Medy wrote a review Feb 2022
Szeged, Hungary95 contributions61 helpful votes
That was my second time to visit then and unfortunately a terrible visit. We had a dirty and small room with the most small double bed ever seen not even in a 1 star hotel. There problem solving skills is way down below Zero. The manager show up when. We asked from him twice and more than that they couldn't fix there system as they had alot of room issues and more complaints from other guests. For me specially the didn't offer an help or any solutions. And they even didn't care that we had a baby . The offered room was a terrible room by all meaning. I don't advance you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: If need a good hotel and a money value THIS IS NOT A GOOD HOTEL. It's a dirty place with a very...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Mar 1, 2022
Dear 459medy, Thank you for taking time to reviewing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We regret to learn that our hotel did not meet with your expectations therefore your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you expected. We do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. Please rest assured, that it does not reflect to our standards and corrective actions will be taken. Further to our telephone conversation yesterday, I would like to thank you to take the time for our call and listen to our comments. And we would therefore appreciate you giving a new opportunity to show you how our hotel can make benefit from your comments. We do hope to hear from you in the near future and look forward to meeting you again! Feel free to reach to me directly for your next booking. Thanks and regards, Zsuzsanna Fara-Molnar Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leon Charme wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Spent a week with my hubby on Xmas, exellent service: always clean rooms yet a bit worn out and might say they require some renowationbut nothing that may spoil vacay (we took a regular standard room eith a separate bath, with breakfasts and dinners included), tasty food (though portions were too big for us lol), fine spa services, cool thermal pools, diligent, nice, knowledgable personal (both daily and nighty shifts as well). Might look for better drinks menu (not that much of a choice) but overall great. A pretty distant location (30 minutes to center by train and metro), but the nearest station is 3 minutes walk and u buy tikcets on spot so no issues for us. Did not test parking (they have both open and in-door).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Jan 6, 2022
Dear leoncharme, Thank you for taking your time to completing this lovely review following your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We are thrilled to learn that you spent a nice week with us. It is amazing to read that our location was convenient for you and that you found our service excellent. Many thanks for highlighting the clean rooms and the tasty food. We are happy to learn that you relaxed well at the Aronia Spa and Wellness Center. Thank you again for your kind feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the near future. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lilly Crickitt wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed here for a few days during December and did not want to leave! There is a lovely spa with a gym, warm thermal pools, jacuzzi, steam room and separate male & female saunas which are all open from 6am to 10pm- perfect for early mornings before a day out or after a long day of adventuring. The lobby was decorated beautifully for Christmas, the staff were very helpful and accommodating. There was a good selection of breakfast items including fruit, pastry’s, toast, cereal, yogurt, hot breakfast, cheeses & meats with juice, coffee & hot chocolate. There is great public transport less than 2 mins walk away for easy access into the centre of the city and an information station to buy travel tickets. We loved it here and would stay again if we come back to Budapest.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Dec 14, 2021
Dear LillyCrickitt, Thank you for taking your time to completing this amazing review following your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time at the Aronia Spa and Wellness Center and that our breakfast offer was up to your liking too. Many thanks for highlighting our convenient location as well. It was our great pleasure to welcoming you and we all look forward to your next visit at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nessa wrote a review Dec 2021
Oxford2 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a lovely stay here, and would certainly go back! All the staff were very kind and helpful, and the location is great. The Wifi speed was important to me as I had some Zoom calls to take, and there were no problems at all there. Certainly enjoyed the breakfasts too!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Dec 4, 2021
Dear 57nessa, Thank you for taking your time to completing this amazing review following your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is amazing to read that our Hotel met with your expectations and you spent such a lovely time with us. Many thanks for highlighting our kind and helpful colleagues. We proudly share your kind words with all of them. It is great to learn that our breakfast offer was up to your liking too. Dear 57nessa, we all look forward to welcoming you back at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Our World Tour wrote a review Nov 2021
Holbaek, Denmark11 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife booked this place since the description of the hotel along with their pictures looked excellent. The thing is that the Chinese inspired hotel, does not in any means live up to what we expected. *The cleaning of the room was a disaster. - Coffee & gals was not clean or cleaned during room service - Beds wasn’t made - Towels was not replaced, so one towel for two persons - Bin was not emptied *The place. - The hotels is laying in front of Danube, or rather next to a boat dock where you can see the water thru the railing on the roads as well train in front of the hotel, which was as noise that you couldn’t sleep in the night. - The heating was on it was not possible to turn down the heat, the room was approximately 25-27C. - The interior was outworn with dirty spots on wall, moister on the wall in the bathing room. - Droppings beneath the wall hanging toilet brush *The bathing area - Pools are okay, but doors to steam rooms could not be closed the were defect. - There was gypsies inside the pool are which blew their snot into the water, while the pool guard was watching and didn’t say anything Alle together a really bad experience, I will not recommend any to stay at Aquincum Hotel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Nov 14, 2021
Dear Vacationer101160, Thank you for taking your time to completing this review following your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We regret to read that your stay was not what you expected and that we were not able to live up to your expectations. We are very sorry to learn about the inconveniences you encountered with the daily cleaning of the room. . We would like to kindly inform you, that due to the current COVID-19 situation and to reduce our impact on environment, the rooms are fully serviced in every fourth day. The amenities are refreshed, the bins are emptied and the beds are made daily. We are delighted to provide daily housekeeping service upon request, our guests are kindly asked to contact the reception in case they would require. All of our valued guests are informed about the process with the information card placed into the room. However, this should not be an excuse for not meeting our guests expectations. We are sorry that our location was not convenient for you such as the temperature in the room. It would have been nice to hear about this discomfort during your visit to give us the chance to make immediate corrective actions. Thank you again for your detailed feedback. Despite of it we honestly hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest to make up your recent experience. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dawn H wrote a review Oct 2021
Roswell, Georgia13 contributions4 helpful votes
Very good service. The staff was very helpful. Nice clean rooms. The breakfast was delicious. Close to public transportation to get to City center. Nice spa to go to after a full day walking around the city. They had numerous pools, sauna, and steam room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquincum Csapat, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Responded Oct 20, 2021
Dear Dawn H, Thank you for taking your time to reviewing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Many thanks for complimenting on our service and helpful colleagues. It is amazing to read that you found our breakfast offer delicious and that the Aronia Spa and Wellness Center was up to your liking too. We thank you again for your visit and hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Philippe Mahuas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$89 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada plaza budapest hotel budapest, ramada budapest, budapest ramada
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestÓbuda-Békásmegyer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
310
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Which popular attractions are close to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
Nearby attractions include Palatinus Strand (0.7 miles), Victor Vasarely Museum (0.2 miles), and Imre Varga Collection (Gyujtemeny) (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kehli, Harapó Mókus Étterem, and Trofea Grill Etterem Obuda.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Aquincum Hotel Budapest have airport transportation?
Yes, The Aquincum Hotel Budapest offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Aquincum Hotel Budapest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Halászbástya (2.5 miles), Shoes on the Danube Bank (2.3 miles), and Heroes' Square (2.2 miles).